Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of Iris Johansen
Iris Johansen
After her two children left home for college, Iris Johansen decided to devote her newfound free time to writing. Since she loved reading romance novels, she penned a love story, and found to her surprise that "I was just as voracious a writer as I was a reader." During the 1980s, her name was emblazoned on dozens of slender volumes featuring spirited adventuresses, passionate mystery men and smoldering love scenes. These days, Johansen is one of a posse of former romance writers dominating the New York Times bestseller lists: Nora Roberts, Linda Howard, Tami Hoag, Sandra Brown and Tess Gerritsen all came up through the category-romance ranks.

Early on in her career, Johansen developed the habit of following characters from book to book, sometimes introducing minor characters in one novel who then become major figures in another. She developed families, relationships and even fictional countries in her romance novels, which "stretched the boundaries of the standard formulas," according to Barbara E. Kemp in Twentieth-Century Romance and Historical Writers. In 1991, Johansen broke out of category romance (a term for short books written to conform to the length, style and subject matter guidelines for a publisher's series) with The Wind Dancer, a romantic-suspense novel set in 16th-century Italy. She followed it with two sequels, Storm Winds and Reap the Wind, to form a trilogy, then wrote several more stand-alone romance novels before The Ugly Duckling was published in 1996.

The Ugly Duckling was her first book to be released in hardcover, and the first to significantly broaden her readership beyond her romance fan base. Since then, Johansen's plots have gotten tighter and more suspense-driven; critics have praised her "flesh-and-blood characters, crackling dialogue and lean, suspenseful plotting" (Publishers Weekly). Some of her most popular books feature forensic sculptor Eve Duncan, who first appeared in The Face of Deception in 1998. But Johansen seems equally comfortable with male protagonists, and her books have crossed the gender division that often characterizes popular fiction. Indeed, Publishers Weekly called The Search "that rarity: a woman's novel for men."

  (Gloria Mitchell)

*Back to Top
Good to Know
Johansen rewrote the ending of Reap the Wind for its reissue in 2002. "I couldn't resist tightening and changing the climax to correspond with my changed ideas on plot structure but the story is basically the same," she explained in a Q&A on her publisher's web site.

Many of her early novels were written for the Loveswept series from Bantam Books; bestselling authors Sandra Brown and Kay Hooper also wrote for the series.

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*Iris Johansen Home
* Biography
* Good to Know
In Our Other Stores
* Signed, First Editions by Iris Johansen
*Golden Valkyrie, 1983
*No Red Roses, 1984
*Summer Smile, 1985
*York, the Renegade, 1986
*Last Bridge Home, 1987
*Strong, Hot Winds, 1987
*Magnificent Folly, 1989
*Wicked Jake Darcy, 1989
*Notorious, 1990
*The Wind Dancer, 1991
*Storm Winds, 1991
*Reap the Wind, 1991
*DeLaney Christmas Carol, 1992
*The Golden Barbarian, 1992
*The Tiger Prince, 1992
*The Magnificent Rogue, 1993
*The Beloved Scoundrel, 1994
*Midnight Warrior, 1994
*Dark Rider, 1995
*The Ugly Duckling, 1996
*Long After Midnight, 1997
*The Face of Deception, 1998
*And Then You Die..., 1998
*The Killing Game, 1999
*Search, 2000
*Final Target, 2001
*Body of Lies, 2002
*No One To Trust, 2002
*Dead Aim, 2003
*Fatal Tide, 2003
*Firestorm, 2004
*Blind Alley, 2004
*Countdown, 2005
*On the Run, 2005
*Killer Dreams, 2006
*Pandora's Daughter, 2007
Photo by Bernard Vidal