Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of Nathaniel Hawthorne
Nathaniel Hawthorne
Nathaniel Hathorne, Jr., was born into an established New England puritan family on Independence Day, 1804, in Salem, Massachusetts. After the sudden death of his father, he and his mother and sisters moved in with his mother's family in Salem. Nathaniel's early education was informal; he was home-schooled by tutors until he enrolled in Bowdoin College in Brunswick, Maine.

Uninterested in conventional professions such as law, medicine, or the ministry, Nathaniel chose instead to rely "for support upon my pen." After graduation, he returned to his hometown, wrote short stories and sketches, and chanced the spelling of his surname to "Hawthorne." Hawthorne's coterie consisted of transcendentalist thinkers, including Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry David Thoreau. Although he did not subscribe entirely to the group's philosophy, he lived for six months at Brook Farm, a cooperative living community the transcendentalists established in West Roxbury, Massachusetts.

On July 9, 1942, Hawthorne married a follower of Emerson, Sophia Peabody, with whom he had a daughter, Una, and a son, Julian. The couple purchased a mansion in Concord, Massachusetts, that previously had been occupied by author Louisa May Alcott. Frequently in financial difficulty, Hawthorne worked at the custom houses in Salem and Boston to support his family and his writing. His peaceful life was interrupted when his college friend, Franklin Pierce, now president of the United States, appointed him U.S. consul at Liverpool, England, where he served for four years.

The publication of The Scarlet Letter in 1850 changed the way society viewed Puritanism. Considered his masterpiece, the novel focuses on Hawthorne's recurrent themes of sin, guilt, and punishment. Some critics have attributed his sense of guilt to his ancestors' connection with the persecution of Quakers in seventeenth-century New England and their prominent role in the Salem witchcraft trials in the 1690s.

On May 19, 1864, Hawthorne died in Plymouth, New Hampshire, leaving behind several unfinished novels that were published posthumously. He is buried at Sleepy Hollow Cemetery in Concord, Massachusetts.

Author biography from the Barnes & Noble Classics edition of The Scarlet Letter.

*Back to Top
Good to Know
Hawthorne's birth name was actually Nathaniel Hathorne. It's rumored that he added a "w" to avoid being associated with his Puritan grandfather, Judge Hathorne -- who presided over the Salem Witch Trials.

Among Hawthorne's peers at Maine's Bowdoin College: author Henry Wadsworth Longfellow and Franklin Pierce, who would later become the country's 14th president.

In its first week of publication, The Scarlet Letter sold 4,000 copies.

Hawthorne died on May 19, 1864, at the Pemigewasset House in Plymouth, New Hampshire. Ironically, former president Franklin Pierce had advised him to go there for his health.

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*Nathaniel Hawthorne Home
* Biography
* Good to Know
In Our Other Stores
* Signed, First Editions by Nathaniel Hawthorne
*Fanshawe, 1828
*Young Goodman Brown, 1835
*Twice-Told Tales, 1837
*Dr. Heidegger's Experiment, 1837
*Rappaccini's Daughter, 1844
*Mosses from an Old Manse, 1846
*The Scarlet Letter, 1850
*The Snow Image, 1851
*The House of the Seven Gables, 1851
*Twenty Days with Julian and Little Bunny by Papa, 1851
*The Great Stone Face, 1851
*The Life of Franklin Pierce, 1852
*A Wonder Book for Girls and Boys, 1852
*Tanglewood Tales, 1853
*Marble Faun, 1860
*Our Old Home, 1863
*Passages from the American Notebooks, 1868
*Passages from the English Notebooks, 1870
*Elixir of Life Manuscripts, 1872
*Passages from the French and Italian Notebooks, 1872
*Dolliver Romance, 1876
*Dr. Grimshawe's Secret, 1883
*The Ancestral Footsteps, 1883
*The Complete Works of Nathaniel Hawthorne, 1884
*The Complete Novels and Selected Tales of Nathaniel Hawthorne, 1927
*The American Notebooks, 1932
*The English Notebooks, 1941
*The Complete Short Stories of Nathaniel Hawthorne, 1959
*The Celestial Railroad and Other Stories, 1962
*Letters: Centenary Edition of the Works of Nathaniel Hawthorne, 1964
*Elixir of Life Manuscripts: "Septimius Felton," "Septimius Norton," and "the Dolliver Romance", 1977
*Young Goodman Brown and Other Tales, 1992
Photo courtesy Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division [LC-USZ62-2358]