Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of Henning Mankell
Henning Mankell
Henning Mankell was born in Stockholm in 1948. He is the author of many works of fiction, including the nine novels in the Kurt Wallander series. He has worked as an actor, theatre director, and manager in Sweden and in Mozambique -- where he is now head of the Teatro Avenida in Maputo.

Author biography courtesy of The Random House Group.

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*Henning Mankell Home
* Biography
In Our Other Stores
* Signed, First Editions by Henning Mankell
*Faceless Killers, 1991
*The Dogs of Riga, 1992
*The White Lioness, 1993
*Sidetracked, 1995
*The Fifth Woman, 1996
*One Step Behind, 1997
*Firewall, 1998
*Secrets in the Fire, 2000
*The Return of the Dancing Master, 2004
*Before the Frost: A Linda Wallander Mystery, 2005