Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of Agatha Christie
Agatha Christie
Agatha Christie is the world's best-known mystery writer. Her books have sold over a billion copies in the English language, and another billion in 44 foreign languages. She is the most widely published author of all time in any language, outsold only by the Bible and Shakespeare. Her writing career spanned more than half a century, during which she wrote 79 novels and a short story collection, as well as 14 plays, one of which, The Mousetrap, is the longest running play in history. Two of the characters she created, the brilliant Belgian detective Hercule Poirot and the irrepressible and relentless Miss Marple, went on to become world famous detectives. Both have been widely dramatized in feature films and made-for-TV movies. Agatha Christie died in 1976.

Author biography courtesy of Random House, Inc.

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*Agatha Christie Home
* Biography
In Our Other Stores
*Agatha Christie Movies
*The Mysterious Affair at Styles, 1920
*The Secret Adversary, 1922
*The Murder on the Links, 1923
*The Man in the Brown Suit, 1924
*Poirot Investigates, 1924
*The Secret of Chimneys, 1925
*The Murder of Roger Ackroyd, 1926
*Big Four, 1927
*Mystery of the Blue Train, 1928
*Partners in Crime, 1929
*The Seven Dials Mystery, 1929
*The Mysterious Mr. Quin, 1930
*Murder at the Vicarage, 1930
*Giant's Bread (romance), 1930
*The Sittaford Mystery, 1931
*Peril at End House, 1932
*Thirteen Clues for Miss Marple, 1932
*Lord Edgware Dies, 1933
*Murder on the Orient Express, 1934
*Unfinished Portrait (romance), 1934
*Parker Pyne Investigates, 1934
*Why Didn't They Ask Evans?, 1934
*Three-Act Tragedy, 1934
*Death in the Clouds, 1935
*The A.B.C. Murders, 1936
*Murder in Mesopotamia, 1936
*Cards on the Table, 1936
*Dumb Witness, 1937
*Murder in the Mews: Four Cases of Hercule Poirot (a.k.a. Dead Man's Mirror), 1937
*Appointment with Death, 1938
*Hercule Poirot's Christmas, 1938
*And Then There Were None, 1939
*Murder Is Easy, 1939
*The Regatta Mystery and Other Stories, 1939
*Sad Cypress, 1940
*One, Two, Buckle My Shoe, 1940
*Evil Under the Sun, 1941
*N or M?, 1941
*Body in the Library, 1942
*Death on the Nile, 1942
*The Moving Finger, 1942
*Five Little Pigs, 1943
*Towards Zero, 1943
*Death Comes as the End, 1944
*Absent in the Spring (romance, audio version), 1944
*Sparkling Cyanide, 1945
*The Hollow, 1946
*Come Tell Me How You Live, 1946
*Labours of Hercules, 1947
*The Rose and the Yew Tree (romance), 1948
*Taken at the Flood, 1948
*The Witness for the Prosecution: And Other Stories, 1948
*The Crooked House, 1949
*A Murder Is Announced, 1950
*Three Blind Mice: And Other Stories, 1950
*They Came to Baghdad, 1951
*The Under Dog and Other Stories (audio version), 1951
*A Daughter's a Daughter (romance), 1952
*Mrs. McGinty's Dead, 1952
*They Do It with Mirrors, 1952
*After the Funeral, 1953
*A Pocket Full of Rye, 1953
*Destination Unknown, 1954
*Hickory Dickory Dock, 1955
*Dead Man's Folly, 1956
*The Burden (romance), 1956
*4:50 from Paddington, 1957
*Ordeal by Innocence, 1958
*Cat Among the Pigeons, 1959
*The Adventures of the Christmas Pudding and the Mystery of the Spanish Chest (audio version), 1960
*The Pale Horse, 1961
*Double Sin and Other Stories, 1961
*Mirror Crack'd, 1962
*The Clocks, 1963
*A Caribbean Mystery, 1964
*At Bertram's Hotel, 1965
*Third Girl, 1966
*Endless Night, 1967
*By the Pricking of My Thumbs, 1968
*Hallowe'en Party, 1969
*Passenger to Frankfurt, 1970
*Nemesis, 1971
*The Golden Ball and Other Stories, 1971
*Elephants Can Remember, 1972
*Postern of Fate, 1973
*Hercule Poirot's Early Cases, 1973
*Curtain, 1975
*Sleeping Murder, 1976
*Autobiography, 1976
*The Harlequin Tea Set: And Other Stories, 1997