Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of V. S. Naipaul
V. S. Naipaul
V. S. Naipaul was born in Trinidad in 1932. He went to England on a scholarship in 1950. After four years at University College, Oxford, he began to write, and since then has followed no other profession. He has published more than twenty books of fiction and nonfiction, including Half a Life, A House for Mr. Biswas, A Bend in the River, and a collection of letters, Between Father and Son. In 2001 he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Author biography courtesy of Random House, Inc.

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*V. S. Naipaul Home
* Biography
*The Mystic Masseur, 1957
*The Suffrage of Elvira, 1958
*Miguel Street, 1959
*A House for Mr. Biswas, 1961
*The Middle Passage: The Caribbean Revisited, 1962
*Mr Stone and the Knights Companion, 1963
*An Area of Darkness: A Discovery of India, 1964
*The Mimic Men, 1967
*Flag on the Island, 1967
*The Loss of El Dorado, 1969
*The Overcrowded Barracoon, 1972
*Guerrillas, 1975
*India: A Wounded Civilization, 1977
*A Bend in the River, 1979
*The Return of Eva Peron, with the Killings in Trinidad, 1980
*Among the Believers: An Islamic Journey, 1981
*Finding the Center: Two Narratives, 1986
*The Enigma of Arrival, 1987
*A Turn in the South, 1989
*India: A Million Mutinies Now, 1990
*A Way in the World, 1994
*In a Free State, 1997
*Beyond Belief: Islamic Excursions Among the Converted Peoples, 1998
*Between Father and Son: Family Letters, 1999
*Reading and Writing: A Personal Account, 2000
*Half a Life, 2001
*Vintage Naipaul, 2004
Photo by Jerry Bauer