Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of Alice Walker
Alice Walker
Alice Walker won the Pulitzer Prize and the American Book Award for her novel The Color Purple, which was preceded by The Third Life of Grange Copeland and Meridian. Her other bestselling novels include By the Light of My Father's Smile, Possessing the Secret of Joy and The Temple of My Familiar. She is also the author of two collections of short stories, three collections of essays, five volumes of poetry and several children's books. Her books have been translated into more than two dozen languages. Born in Eatonton, Georgia, Walker now lives in Northern California.

Author biography courtesy of Random House, Inc.

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*Alice Walker Home
* Biography
In Our Other Stores
*Alice Walker Movies
* Signed, First Editions by Alice Walker
*Once: Poems, 1968
*The Third Life of Grange Copeland, 1970
*Langston Hughes, American Poet, 1973
*Revolutionary Petunias and Other Poems, 1973
*In Love and Trouble: Stories of Black Women, 1973
*Meridian, 1976
*Good Night, Willie Lee, I'll See You in the Morning: Poems, 1979
*You Can't Keep a Good Woman Down: Stories, 1981
*The Color Purple, 1982
*In Search of Our Mothers' Gardens, 1983
*Horses Make a Landscape Look More Beautiful: Poems, 1984
*To Hell with Dying, 1988
*Living by the Word: Selected Writings 1973-1987, 1988
*The Temple of My Familiar, 1989
*Her Blue Body Everything We Know: Earthling Poems, 1965-1990 Complete, 1991
*Finding the Green Stone, 1991
*Possessing the Secret of Joy, 1992
*Warrior Marks: Female Genital Mutilation and the Sexual Blinding of Women, 1993
*Everyday Use, 1994
*The Same River Twice: Honoring the Difficult: A Meditation on Life, Spirit, Art and the Making of the Film..., 1995
*Banned, 1996
*Anything We Love Can Be Saved: A Writer's Activism, 1997
*By the Light of My Father's Smile, 1998
*The Way Forward Is with a Broken Heart, 2000
*Sent by Earth: A Message from the Grandmother Spirit after the Bombing of the World Trade Center and the Pentagon, 2001
*Absolute Trust in the Goodness of the Earth: New Poems, 2003
*Now is the Time to Open Your Heart: A Novel, 2004