Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of Jonathan Raban
Jonathan Raban
Jonathan Raban is the bestselling author of ten previous books, including Passage to Juneau and Bad Land. He is the recipient of the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Heinemann Award of the Royal Society of Literature, the PEN/West Creative Nonfiction Award, and the Governor's Award of the State of Washington.

He was born in England and has lived in Seattle, Washington, since 1990.

Author biography courtesy of Random House, Inc.

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*Jonathan Raban Home
* Biography
In Our Other Stores
* Signed, First Editions by Jonathan Raban
*Arabia, 1979
*Old Glory: A Voyage Down the Mississippi, 1981
*Coasting: A Private Voyage, 1987
*Foreign Land, 1988
*God, Man and Mrs. Thatcher, 1989
*For Love and Money: A Writing Life, 1969-1989, 1990
*Soft City, 1991
*Hunting Mister Heartbreak: A Discovery of America, 1991
*The Oxford Book of the Sea, 1992
*Bad Land: An American Romance, 1996
*Passage to Juneau: A Sea and Its Meanings, 1999
*Waxwings, 2003