Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of James Fenimore Cooper
James Fenimore Cooper
James Cooper (he added the Fenimore when he was in his 30s) was born September 15, 1789, in Burlington, New Jersey, to William Cooper and Elizabeth Fenimore Cooper. In 1790 the family moved to the frontier country of upstate New York, where William established a village he called Cooperstown. Although cushioned by wealth and William's status as landlord and judge, the Coopers found pioneering to be rugged, and only 7 of the 13 Cooper children survived their early years. All the hardship notwithstanding, according to family reports, the young James loved the wilderness. Years later, he wrote The Pioneers (1823) about Cooperstown in the 1790s, but many of his other books draw deeply on his childhood experiences of the frontier as well.

Cooper was sent to Yale in 1801 but he was expelled in 1805 for setting off an explosion in another student's room. Afterward, as a midshipman in the fledgling U.S. Navy, he made Atlantic passages and served at an isolated post on Lake Ontario. Cooper resigned his commission in 1811 to marry Susan Augusta De Lancey, the daughter of a wealthy New York State family. During the next decade, however, a series of bad investments and legal entanglements reduced his inheritance to the verge of bankruptcy.

Cooper was already 30 years old when, on a dare from his wife, he became a writer. One evening he threw down, in disgust, a novel he was reading aloud to her, saying he could write a better book himself. Susan, who knew that he disliked writing even letters, expressed her doubts. To prove her wrong he wrote Precaution, which was published anonymously in 1820. Encouraged by favorable reviews, Cooper wrote other books in quick succession, and by the time The Last of the Mohicans, his sixth novel, was published in 1827, he was internationally famous as America's first professionally successful novelist. Eventually he published 32 novels, as well as travel books and histories. Cooper invented the genre of nautical fiction, and in the figure of Nathaniel or "Natty" Bumppo (Hawkeye in The Last of the Mohicans) -- the central character in the five Leatherstocking Tales Cooper published between 1823 and 1841 -- he gave American fiction its first great hero.

Shortly after publishing The Last of the Mohicans, Cooper moved his family to Europe, but in 1833 he returned to America, moving back into his father's restored Mansion House in Cooperstown. He died there on September 14, 1851.

Author biography courtesy of Barnes & Noble Books.

*Back to Top
Good to Know
Cooper was expelled from Yale due to his passion for pranks, which included training a donkey to sit in a professor's chair and setting a fellow student's room on fire.

Between 1822 and 1826 Cooper lived in New York City, and was a major player on its intellectual scene. He founded the Bread and Cheese Club, which had many high-profile members, including notable painters of the Hudson River School and writers like William Cullen Bryant.

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*James Fenimore Cooper Home
* Biography
* Good to Know
*The Spy, 1821
*The Pioneers, 1823
*Tales for Fifteen, 1823
*The Pilot, 1823
*Lionel Lincoln, 1825
*The Last of the Mohicans, 1826
*The Prairie, 1827
*Red Rover, 1827
*Notions of the Americans, 1828
*The Water Witch, 1830
*The Bravo, 1831
*The Headsman, 1833
*The Monikins, 1835
*Gleanings in Europe: France, 1836
*Gleanings in Europe: Italy, 1837
*Gleanings in Europe: The Rhine, 1838
*Gleanings in Europe: Switzerland, 1838
*The American Democrat and Other Political Writings, 1838
*Home as Found, 1838
*History of the Navy of the United States of America, 1839
*The Deerslayer, 1840
*Mercedes of Castile, 1840
*The Pathfinder, 1841
*The Wing-and-Wing, 1842
*Two Admirals, 1842
*Wyandotte, 1843
*The Autobiography of a Pocket-Handkerchief, 1843
*Afloat and Ashore, 1844
*Miles Wallingford, 1844
*The Chainbearer, 1845
*The Lives of Distinguished Naval Officers, 1846
*Crater: Vulcan's Peak, 1847
*Oak Openings, 1848
*Jack Tier or the Florida Reef, 1848
*The Sea Lions, 1848
*Ways of the Hour, 1850
Photo courtesy of Matthew Brady Studio/National Archives and Records Administration