Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of Mark Twain
Mark Twain
Mark Twain was born Samuel Langhorne Clemens on November 30, 1835, in Florida, Missouri; his family moved to the port town of Hannibal four years later. His father, an unsuccessful farmer, died when Twain was eleven. Soon afterward the boy began working as an apprentice printer, and by age sixteen he was writing newspaper sketches. He left Hannibal at eighteen to work as an itinerant printer in New York, Philadelphia, St. Louis, and Cincinnati. From 1857 to 1861 he worked on Mississippi steamboats, advancing from cub pilot to licensed pilot.

After river shipping was interrupted by the Civil War, Twain headed west with his brother Orion, who had been appointed secretary to the Nevada Territory. Settling in Carson City, he tried his luck at prospecting and wrote humorous pieces for a range of newspapers. Around this time he first began using the pseudonym Mark Twain, derived from a riverboat term. Relocating to San Francisco, he became a regular newspaper correspondent and a contributor to the literary magazine the Golden Era. He made a five-month journey to Hawaii in 1866 and the following year traveled to Europe to report on the first organized tourist cruise. The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County and Other Sketches (1867) consolidated his growing reputation as humorist and lecturer.

After his marriage to Livy Langdon, Twain settled first in Buffalo, New York, and then for two decades in Hartford, Connecticut. His European sketches were expanded into The Innocents Abroad (1869), followed by Roughing It (1872), an account of his Western adventures; both were enormously successful. Twain's literary triumphs were offset by often ill-advised business dealings (he sank thousands of dollars, for instance, in a failed attempt to develop a new kind of typesetting machine, and thousands more into his own ultimately unsuccessful publishing house) and unrestrained spending that left him in frequent financial difficulty, a pattern that was to persist throughout his life.

Following The Gilded Age (1873), written in collaboration with Charles Dudley Warner, Twain began a literary exploration of his childhood memories of the Mississippi, resulting in a trio of masterpieces --The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (1876), Life on the Mississippi (1883), and finally The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (1885), on which he had been working for nearly a decade. Another vein, of historical romance, found expression in The Prince and the Pauper (1882), the satirical A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court (1889), and Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc (1896), while he continued to draw on his travel experiences in A Tramp Abroad (1880) and Following the Equator (1897). His close associates in these years included William Dean Howells, Bret Harte, and George Washington Cable, as well as the dying Ulysses S. Grant, whom Twain encouraged to complete his memoirs, published by Twain's publishing company in 1885.

For most of the 1890s Twain lived in Europe, as his life took a darker turn with the death of his daughter Susy in 1896 and the worsening illness of his daughter Jean. The tone of Twain's writing also turned progressively more bitter. The Tragedy of Pudd'nhead Wilson (1894), a detective story hinging on the consequences of slavery, was followed by powerful anti-imperialist and anticolonial statements such as 'To the Person Sitting in Darkness' (1901), 'The War Prayer' (1905), and 'King Leopold's Soliloquy' (1905), and by the pessimistic sketches collected in the privately published What Is Man? (1906). The unfinished novel The Mysterious Stranger was perhaps the most uncompromisingly dark of all Twain's later works. In his last years, his financial troubles finally resolved, Twain settled near Redding, Connecticut, and died in his mansion, Stormfield, on April 21, 1910.

Author biography courtesy of Random House, Inc.

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*Mark Twain Home
* Biography
In Our Other Stores
*Mark Twain Movies
*The Jumping Frog, 1865
*The Innocents Abroad: Or The New Pilgrims Progress, 1869
*Roughing It, 1872
*The Gilded Age: A Tale of to-Day, 1873
*The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, 1876
*A Murder, a Mystery, and a Marriage, 1876
*A Tramp Abroad, 1880
*The Prince and the Pauper, 1881
*Stolen White Elephant and Other Detective Stories (1882, 1896, 1902), 1882
*Life on the Mississippi, 1883
*The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, 1884
*A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court , 1889
*American Claimant, Etc., 1892
*Merry Tales, 1892
*Pudd'nhead Wilson, 1894
*The Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc, 1896
*How to Tell a Story, 1897
*Following the Equator: A Journey Around the World, 1897
*The Man That Corrupted Hadleyburg and Other Short Works, 1900
*The Diaries of Adam and Eve, 1904
*King Leopold's Soliloquy, 1905
*The $30,000 Bequest and Other Stories: The Authorized Uniform Edition, 1906
*Christian Science, 1907
*Is Shakespeare Dead?, 1909
*Extract from Captain Stormfield's Visit to Heaven, 1909
*The Mysterious Stranger, 1916
*What Is Man?, 1917
*The Curious Republic of Gondour, 1919
*The Autobiography of Mark Twain, 1924
*Contributions to the Galaxy: 1868-1871, 1961
*Letters from the Earth: Uncensored Writings, 1962
*The Complete Short Stories of Mark Twain, 1981