Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of Isaac Asimov
Isaac Asimov
To list Isaac Asimov's honors, as to list his books, would be excessive. Let it simply be noted that Isaac Asimov was the most famous, most honored, most widely read, and most beloved science fiction author of all time. In his five decades as an author, he wrote more than four hundred books, won every award his readers and colleagues could contrive to give him, and provided pleasure and insight to millions. He died in 1992, still at work.

Author biography courtesy of HarperCollins.

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*Isaac Asimov Home
* Biography
In Our Other Stores
*Isaac Asimov Movies
*Pebble in the Sky, 1950
*I, Robot, 1950
*Foundation, 1951
*Foundation and Empire, 1952
*David Starr, Space Ranger, 1952
*Lucky Starr and the Pirates of the Asteroids, 1953
*Second Foundation, 1953
*Lucky Starr and the Oceans of Venus, 1954
*Chemicals of Life, 1954
*Caves of Steel, 1954
*Races and People, 1955
*Lucky Starr and the Big Sun of Mercury, 1956
*The Naked Sun, 1957
*Lucky Starr and the Moons of Jupiter, 1957
*Lucky Starr and the Rings of Saturn, 1958
*The World of Carbon, 1958
*Words of Science and the History Behind Them, 1959
*The Wellsprings of Life, 1960
*Double Planet?: Pluto & Charon, 1960
*Realm of Algebra, 1961
*Fact and Fancy, 1962
*The Genetic Code, 1963
*The Human Body: Its Structure and Operation, 1963
*A Short History of Biology, 1964
*Adding a Dimension: Seventeen Essays on the History of Science, 1964
*Asimov's Biographical Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, 1964
*The Human Brain: Its Capacities and Functions, 1964
*Of Time and Space and Other Things, 1965
*Easy Introduction to the Slide Rule, 1965
*A Short History of Chemistry, 1965
*Fantastic Voyage, 1966
*Neutrino: Ghost Particle of the Atom, 1966
*Understanding Physics (3 Volumes in 1), 1966
*The Universe: From Flat Earth to Black Holes--and Beyond, 1966
*From Earth to Heaven, 1966
*Is Anyone There, 1967
*Asimov's Mysteries, 1968
*Nightfall, 1969
*Twentieth Century Discovery, 1969
*The Solar System and Back, 1970
*Left Hand of the Electron, 1972
*Worlds Within Worlds: The Story of Nuclear Energy, 1972
*The Gods Themselves, 1972
*Today and Tomorrow and ..., 1973
*The Tragedy of the Moon, 1973
*Modern Astronomy, 1974
*Asimov on Chemistry, 1974
*Tales of the Black Widowers, 1974
*Of Matters Great and Small, 1975
*Eyes on the Universe: A History of the Telescope, 1975
*The Ends of the Earth: The Polar Regions of the World, 1975
*Buy Jupiter and Other Stories, 1975
*The Heavenly Host, 1975
*The Planet That Wasn't There, 1976
*Asimov on Physics, 1976
*More Tales of the Black Widowers, 1976
*Bicentennial Man and Other Stories, 1976
*Murder at the ABA (audio), 1976
*Key Word and Other Mysteries, 1977
*Collapsing Universe: The Story of Black Holes, 1977
*Asimov on Numbers, 1977
*The Beginning and the End, 1977
*Quasar, Quasar, Burning Bright, 1978
*Life and Time, 1978
*The Road to Infinity, 1979
*A Choice of Catastrophes, 1979
*Casebook of the Black Widowers, 1980
*The Sun Shines Bright, 1981
*The Martian Way and Other Stories, 1982
*Foundation's Edge, 1982
*Counting the Eons, 1983
*Winds of Change and Other Stories, 1983
*The Roving Mind, 1983
*The Measure of the Universe, 1983
*The Union Club Mysteries, 1983
*Norby, the Mixed-Up Robot, 1983
*The Robots of Dawn, 1983
*Computer Crimes and Capers, 1983
*The History of Physics, 1983
*X Stands for Unknown, 1984
*Banquets of the Black Widowers, 1984
*Norby's Other Secret, 1984
*Asimov's Guide to Halley's Comet, 1985
*The Subatomic Monster, 1985
*The Exploding Suns: The Secrets of the Supernovas, 1985
*Norby and the Lost Princess, 1985
*Robots and Empire, 1985
*Norby and the Invaders, 1985
*Disappearing Man and Other Mysteries, 1986
*The Dangers of Intelligence and Other Science Essays, 1986
*Foundation and Earth (audio), 1986
*Norby and the Queen's Necklace, 1986
*Fantastic Voyage 2: Destination Brain, 1987
*Far as Human Eye Could See, 1987
*Norby Finds a Villain, 1987
*Prelude to Foundation, 1988
*The Relativity of Wrong, 1988
*Azazel, 1988
*Nemesis, 1989
*The Ugly Little Boy, 1989
*Franchise, 1989
*All the Troubles of the World, 1989
*Sally, 1989
*Robbie, 1989
*The Tyrannosaurus Prescription: And One Hundred Other Essays, 1989
*Frontiers: New Discoveries about Man and His Planet, Outer Space and the Universe, 1990
*Out of the Everywhere, 1990
*Puzzles of Black Widowers, 1990
*Robot Visions, 1990
*Secret of the Universe, 1991
*Atom: Journey across the Subatomic Cosmos, 1991
*Norby and the Court Jester, 1991
*Forward the Foundation, 1992
*Frontiers 2: More Recent Discoveries about Life, Earth, Space, & the Universe, Vol. 2, 1993
*The Positronic Man, 1993
*I. Asimov: A Memoir, 1994
*Gold: The Final Science Fiction Collection, 1996
*It's Been a Good Life, 2002
Photograph by Jay Kay Klein