Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of D. H. Lawrence
D. H. Lawrence
Born in Nottinghamshire, England, D. H. Lawrence (1885-1930) was the author of a remarkable array of novels, stories, poetry, literary criticism, and travel writing, including the novels Sons and Lovers, The Rainbow, and Lady Chatterley's Lover.

Author biography courtesy of Penguin Group (USA).

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*D. H. Lawrence Home
* Biography
In Our Other Stores
*D. H. Lawrence Movies
*The White Peacock, 1911
*Trespasser, 1912
*Sons and Lovers, 1913
*The Prussian Officer and Other Stories, 1914
*Rainbow, 1915
*Twilight in Italy, 1916
*Women in Love, 1920
*The Lost Girl, 1920
*Sea and Sardinia, 1921
*Psychoanalysis and the Unconscious, 1921
*The Movements in European History, 1921
*Fantasia and Psychoanalysis, 1922
*Aaron's Rod, 1922
*England, My England and Other Stories, 1922
*Kangaroo, 1923
*The Fox: The Captain's Doll: The Ladybird, 1923
*Studies in Classic American Literature, 1923
*The Boy in the Bush, 1924
*Reflections on the Death of a Porcupine and Other Essays, 1925
*Saint Mawr, 1925
*Plumed Serpent, 1926
*Mornings in Mexico, 1927
*Lady Chatterley's Lover, 1928
*The Woman Who Rode Away and Other Stories, 1928
*Pornography and so On, 1929
*The Man Who Died, 1929
*The Virgin and the Gypsy, 1930
*Assorted Articles, 1930
*Love Among the Haystacks and Other Stories, 1930
*Apocalypse and the Writings on Revelation, 1931
*Etruscan Places, 1932
*The Lovely Lady, 1932
*We Need One Another, 1933
*A Modern Lover, 1934
*The Complete Poems: D. H. Lawrence, 1964
*The Plays, 1999
Photo by BBC