Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of William Styron
William Styron
One of the great writers of the generation succeeding that of Hemingway and Faulkner, William Styron is renowned for the elegance of his prose and his powerful moral engagement. His books include Lie Down in Darkness, The Long March, The Confessions of Nat Turner, Sophie's Choice, This Quiet Dust, and Darkness Visible. He has been awarded the Pulitzer Prize, the American Book Award, the Howells Medal, and the Edward MacDowell Medal.

Author biography courtesy of Random House, Inc.

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*William Styron Home
* Biography
In Our Other Stores
*William Styron Movies
* Signed, First Editions by William Styron
*Lie Down in Darkness, 1951
*The Long March; and In the Clap Shack (novella, play), 1957
*Set This House on Fire, 1960
*The Confessions of Nat Turner, 1967
*Sophie's Choice, 1979
*This Quiet Dust and Other Writings (essays), 1982
*Darkness Visible: A Memoir of Madness, 1990
*Inheritance of Night: Early Drafts of Lie Down in Darkness, 1993
*A Tidewater Morning: Three Tales from Youth, 1993