Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of Barbara Delinsky
Barbara Delinsky

Born Ruth Greenberg, and raised in suburban Boston, Barbara Delinsky worked as a sociology researcher in children's services and was a newspaper photographer and reporter before turning to fiction writing full-time. In point of fact, she never intended to pursue a literary career. But, in the early 1980s, a newspaper article profiling three women who successfully balanced home, family, and romance writing caught her attention. Intrigued, she spent months researching and writing her first novel. It sold -- and Delinsky was off and running.

Praised by critics and fans alike for her character driven studies of marriage, parenthood, and friendship, Delinsky is one of a small cadre of successful women writers (including Nora Roberts and Sandra Brown) who started out writing pseudonymous paperbacks for the category romance genre and muscled their way onto the bestseller lists with hardcover escapist fiction. Yet she is candid about the hard work involved and insists there's no tried-and-true formula that converts automatically to easy money. As if to prove her own point, Delinsky works from eight in the morning to about seven at night, writing in the office above the garage in her Newton, Massachusetts home; doing research; handling interviews; or -- her least favorite part of the job -- touring the country making author appearances.

Over the decades Delinsky has written dozens of novels that have landed on The New York Times bestseller list, including Twilight Whispers (1988), For My Daughters (1994), Three Wishes (1997), Flirting with Pete (2003), and Family Tree (2007). In 2001, she published her first nonfiction title, Uplift: Secrets from the Sisterhood of Breast Cancer Survivors. A cancer survivor herself, she has earmarked all the profits from the sale of this book to benefit breast cancer research.

*Back to Top
Good to Know
When she isn't writing, one of Delinsky's favorite pastimes is kayaking.

She gets some of her best ideas in the shower. "It's a little harder to write ideas down there," she wrote to fans on her web site, "but I've been known to yell something out to my husband, who does it for me!"

The family cat, Chelsea, is named after her 1992 novel The Passions of Chelsea Kane.

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*Barbara Delinsky Home
* Biography
* Good to Know
*Sensuous Burgundy, 1981
*Sweet Ember, 1981
*Surrender by Moonlight, 1981
*Passionate Touch, 1981
*Search for a New Dawn, 1982
*Time to Love, 1982
*Fast Courting, 1983
*The Carpenter's Lady, 1983
*An Irresistible Impulse, 1983
*Flip Side of Yesterday, 1983
*Passion and Illusion, 1983
*Moment to Moment, 1984
*Bronze Mystique, 1984
*A Special Something, 1984
*Finger Prints, 1984
*Variation on A Theme, 1985
*First Things First, 1985
*Chances Are, 1985
*Secret of the Stone, 1985
*Straight from the Heart, 1986
*Real Thing, 1986
*First, Best and Only, 1986
*Within Reach, 1986
*Threats and Promises, 1986
*Twilight Whispers, 1987
*A Single Rose, 1987
*Twelve Across, 1987
*Cardinal Rules, 1987
*Fulfillment, 1988
*T.L.C., 1988
*Commitments, 1988
*Heart of the Night, 1989
*Montana Man, 1989
*Through My Eyes, 1989
*Having Faith, 1990
*Facets, 1990
*A Woman Betrayed, 1991
*The Stud, 1991
*Father of the Bride, 1991
*The Outsider, 1992
*The Passions of Chelsea Kane, 1992
*More than Friends, 1993
*Suddenly, 1994
*For My Daughters, 1994
*Together Alone, 1995
*Shades of Grace, 1996
*A Woman's Place, 1997
*Three Wishes, 1997
*Coast Road, 1998
*Rekindled, 1999
*Lake News, 1999
*Vineyard, 2000
*Uplift: Secrets from the Sisterhood of Breast Cancer Survivors, 2001
*The Woman Next Door, 2001
*An Accidental Woman, 2002
*Flirting with Pete, 2003
*The Passions of Chelsea Kane, 2004
*Looking for Peyton Place, 2005
*Family Tree, 2007
Photo by John Earle