Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of Clive Barker
Clive Barker
Nothing ever begins....Nothing is fixed. In and out the shuttle goes, fact and fiction, mind and matter woven into patterns that may have only this in common: that hidden among them is a filigree that will with time become a world.

It must be arbitrary, then, the place at which we choose to embark.

Somewhere between a past half forgotten and a future as yet only glimpsed."

And here is as good a place as any to begin with Clive Barker, the author of strange and scary stories such as the novel that begins above, Weaveworld. Barker is probably best known as the creator of the Hellraiser franchise -- which began with the novella The Hellbound Heart; later became the 1987 horror classic that Barker directed; and was then a comic from 1989-1994. He accomplished the print-to-film-to-comic trifecta again with Nightbreed, the film version of which was released in 1990.

Barker drew attention with his early '80s story volumes, Books of Blood. His first novel, The Damnation Game, not only put him on a par authors such as Stephen King but earned praise from those same authors. He is widely admired for weaving into his scary stories complex themes about human nature and desires.

In addition to crafting his signature novels, a chilling amalgam of horror, sci-fi, and fantasy, Barker is an accomplished artist. (His comic Ectokids is in development as a movie project at Nickelodeon.) He has also written for children -- a fact that surprises readers familiar only with his disturbing adult oeuvre. But, in fact, his children's tales (The Thief of Always, Abarat, etc.) are among his most imaginative.

No matter what his audience or medium, Barker's stories are effective because it's clear that he takes his work, and his genre, very seriously -- and expects the same from his audience. In an interview with Barnes &, he told us "[Fantasy and horror] liberate us into a world in which our frustrations and our repressions can take an exoticized form, rendering them more safely and also, if we dare, more approachable."

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*Clive Barker Home
* Biography
In Our Other Stores
*Clive Barker Movies
*The Damnation Game, 1985
*The Inhuman Condition, 1986
*In the Flesh, 1987
*Weaveworld, 1987
*The Hellbound Heart, 1987
*Cabal, 1988
*Great and Secret Show, 1989
*Clive Barker's Tapping the Vein, 1989
*Imajica, 1991
*The Thief of Always, 1992
*Everville, 1994
*Imajica II: The Reconciliation, 1995
*Incarnations: Three Plays, 1996
*Sacrament, 1996
*Books of Blood: Volumes One to Three, 1998
*Galilee, 1998
*Clive Barker's A-Z of Horror, 1998
*The Essential Clive Barker, 1999
*Coldheart Canyon, 2001
*Clive Barker's Hellraiser, 2002
*Abarat, 2002
*Abarat: Days of Magic, Nights of War, 2004
*Mister B. Gone, 2007
Photo by David Armstrong