Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of Evelyn Waugh
Evelyn Waugh
Evelyn Waugh (1903-1966) was born in Hampstead, England, into a family of publishers and writers. He was educated at Lancing and at Hertford College, Oxford, where he majored in modern history.

Waugh's first book, A Life of Dante Gabriel Rossetti, was published in 1928. Soon afterward his first novel, Decline and Fall, appeared and his career was sensationally launched. In fifteen novels of cunning construction and lapidary eloquence, Time summarized later, Evelyn Waugh developed a wickedly hilarious yet fundamentally religious assault on a century that, in his opinion, had ripped up the nourishing taproot of tradition and let wither all the dear things of the world. Apart from his novels, Waugh also wrote several acclaimed travel books, two additional biographies, and an autobiography, A Little Learning.

Author biography courtesy of Time Warner.

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*Evelyn Waugh Home
* Biography
In Our Other Stores
*Evelyn Waugh Movies
*Decline and Fall, 1928
*Black Mischief, 1932
*A Handful of Dust, 1934
*Scoop, 1938
*Brideshead Revisited, 1945
*The Loved One, 1948
*Men at Arms, 1952
*Officers and Gentlemen, 1955
*The End of the Battle, 1962
*The Complete Stories of Evelyn Waugh, 1999
Photo by Time Warner Bookmark