Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of Robert A. Heinlein
Robert A. Heinlein
Robert Anson Heinlein was born in Butler, Missouri in 1907. A graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy, he was retired, disabled, in 1934. He studied mathematics and physics at the graduate school of the University of California and owned a silver mine before beginning to write science fiction in 1939. In 1947 his first book of fiction, Rocket Ship Galileo, was published.

Heinlein was guest commentator for the Apollo 11 first lunar landing. In 1975 he received the Grand Master Nebula Award for lifetime achievement. Mr. Heinlein died in 1988.

Author biography courtesy of Penguin Books (USA).

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*Robert A. Heinlein Home
* Biography
In Our Other Stores
*Robert A. Heinlein Movies
* Signed, First Editions by Robert A. Heinlein
*Beyond This Horizon, 1948
*Sixth Column, 1949
*Red Planet (juvenile), 1949
*Waldo and Magic, Inc., 1950
*Farmer in the Sky (juvenile), 1950
*The Man Who Sold the Moon, 1950
*Orphans of the Sky (aka Universe), 1951
*The Puppet Masters, 1951
*Between Planets (juvenile), 1951
*The Green Hills of Earth, 1951
*The Rolling Stones (juvenile), 1952
*Revolt in 2100, 1953
*Assignment in Eternity, 1953
*Starman Jones, 1953
*The Star Beast (juvenile), 1954
*Tunnel in the Sky (juvenile), 1955
*Time for the Stars (juvenile), 1956
*Double Star, 1956
*The Door into Summer, 1956
*Citizen of the Galaxy (juvenile), 1957
*Have Space Suit, Will Travel (juvenile), 1958
*Methuselah's Children, 1958
*The Menace from Earth, 1959
*Starship Troopers (juvenile), 1959
*Stranger in a Strange Land , 1961
*Podkayne of Mars (juvenile), 1962
*The Glory Road, 1963
*Farnham's Freehold, 1964
*Moon Is a Harsh Mistress, 1966
*The Worlds of Robert A. Heinlein, 1966
*Past Through Tomorrow, 1967
*I Will Fear No Evil, 1970
*Time Enough for Love: The Lives of Lazarus Long, 1973
*Assignment in Eternity, 1980
*The Number of the Beast, 1980
*Friday, 1982
*Job: A Comedy of Justice, 1984
*The Cat Who Walks Through Walls: A Comedy of Manners, 1985
*To Sail Beyond the Sunset, 1987
*Requiem: New Collected Works by Robert A. Heinlein & Tributes to the Grand Master, 1992