Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the Writers
James A. Michener
James Albert Michener is a Pulitzer prize-winning author reknowned for his historical epics. A prolific novelist and relentless researcher, Michener wrote over books. Despite his substantial commercial success, he was known to be a humble man and a was an active philanthropist. His many beloved works include Tales of the South Pacific, which was adapted for Broadway and film as South Pacific, Hawaii and The Source.

Author biography courtesy of Random House, Inc.

*Back to Top

About the Writer
*James A. Michener Home
* Biography
In Our Other Stores
*James A. Michener Movies
*Tales of the South Pacific, 1947
*Fires of Spring, 1949
*The Voice of Asia, 1951
*Return to Paradise, 1951
*The Bridges at Toko-Ri, 1953
*The Floating World, 1954
*Sayonara, 1954
*The Bridge at Andau, 1957
*Rascals in Paradise, 1957
*Selected Writings, 1957
*Hawaii, 1959
*Japanese Prints: From the Early Masters to the Modern, 1959
*Caravans, 1963
*The Source, 1965
*Iberia: Spanish Travels & Reflections, 1968
*Alaska, 1968
*Presidential Lottery: The Reckless Gamble in Our Electoral System, 1969
*The Drifters, 1971
*Kent State: What Happened & Why, 1971
*Centennial, 1974
*Sports in America, 1976
*Chesapeake, 1978
*The Watermen, 1979
*Quality of Life, 1980
*The Covenant, 1980
*Space, 1982
*Poland, 1983
*Texas, 1985
*Legacy, 1987
*Six Days in Havana (coauthor), 1989
*Caribbean, 1989
*Journey, 1989
*The Eagle & the Raven, 1990
*Pilgrimage: A Memoir of Poland and Rome, 1990
*The Novel, 1991
*Mexico, 1992
*The World Is My Home: A Memoir, 1992
*Writer's Handbook: Explorations in Writing and Publishing, 1992
*South Pacific, 1992
*My Lost Mexico, 1992
*Literary Reflections, 1993
*Recessional, 1994
*Miracle in Seville, 1995
*This Noble Land: My Vision for America, 1996
*A Century of Sonnets, 1997