Browse Meet the Writers
Writers A-Z

Writers by Genre
  Featured Writers  
Children's Writers & Illustrators

Classic Writers

Mystery & Thriller Writers

Romance Writers
  Special Features  
Author Recommendations

Audio Interviews

Video Interviews

The Writers of 2006
Award Winners
Discover Great New Writers

National Book Award Fiction Writers

National Book Award Nonfiction Writers
Find a Store
Enter ZIP Code
Easy Returns
to any Barnes &
Noble store.
Meet the WritersImage of Faye Kellerman
Faye Kellerman
It's tempting to compare Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus to Dashiell Hammett's classic crime-solving couple, Nick and Nora Charles. But Faye Kellerman's duo, who debuted in 1983, bear more resemblance to her own husband-wife dynamic with fellow bestselling thriller author Jonathan Kellerman. Decker is an L.A. cop; wife Rina is an Orthodox Jewish mom who gets very involved in her husband's work. The series comes with a love story built in, since in the first title, Ritual Bath, Lazarus is a witness meeting Detective Decker for the first time. Over the next dozen-odd novels, the two fall in love, get married, have children and solve crimes along the way.

Kellerman, who was inspired by her husband to begin writing, is also the author of Moon Music, a contemporary thriller set in Las Vegas, and The Quality of Mercy, a historical novel of Elizabethan England. Fans needn't worry, however, that Kellerman is going to abandon the pair she is best known for. "I never tire of them," Kellerman says in an interview on her publisher's web site of Decker and Lazarus. "I like them very much, but to keep them fresh is the main reason why I have two 'outside-the-series' or 'stand alone' books. Once in a while you have to sit back and gain some perspective on these people that you are writing about year after year."   (Christina Nunez)

*Back to Top
Faye Kellerman says that no one book has had the greatest influence on her life, but she did list some favorite titles for us. In addition to these authors, she singles out Joyce Carol Oates.

  • Double Indemnity by James M. Cain
  • When the Bough Breaks by Jonathan Kellerman
  • Split Images by Elmore Leonard
  • The Chosen by Chaim Potok
  • The Onion Field by Joseph Wambaugh
  • The Bible
  • Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
  • Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

    *Back to Top

About the Writer
*Faye Kellerman Home
* Biography
* Interview
In Our Other Stores
* Signed, First Editions by Faye Kellerman
*The Ritual Bath, 1986
*Sacred and Profane, 1987
*The Quality of Mercy, 1989
*Milk and Honey, 1990
*Day of Atonement, 1991
*False Prophet, 1992
*Grievous Sin, 1993
*Sanctuary, 1994
*Justice, 1995
*Prayers for the Dead, 1996
*Serpent's Tooth, 1997
*Moon Music, 1998
*Jupiter's Bones, 1999
*Stalker, 2000
*The Forgotten, 2001
*Stone Kiss, 2002
*Street Dreams, 2003
*Double Homicide, 2004
*Straight into Darkness, 2005
*The Garden of Eden and Other Criminal Delights, 2006
*Capital Crimes, 2006
*The Burnt House, 2007
Photo by Jonathan Exley