10 Books You Must Read If You Love Sriracha

sriracha1v2Sriracha-lovers are a special breed. They are often wild, adventurous risk-takers and extremists. They’re a fun people. They’re foodies, but they’re not pretentious. They’re silly but take some things (eating) seriously. (They invented the word hangry.) We’re generalizing here, obviously. But you know it’s kind of all true. Because Srirachians generally have so much in common, we felt it was imperative to create a book list for them. If you shoot Sriracha onto everything from your eggs to your chocolate cake, we think you’ll like these books.

American Psycho, by Bret Easton Ellis
American Psycho invites you into the mind of psychopath Patrick Bateman, and his world of obsession, delusion, and lack of empathy for the murders, rapes, and torture he commits regularly. Despite the fact that this book is intensely graphic and horrific to read, it’s also hilarious, something that panders to the average Srirachian’s intense, darkly humorous, sarcastic spirit. Grandmas don’t like Sriracha, and grandmas won’t like American Psycho. So you do the math—if you like Sriracha, American Psycho was written for you.

Fight Club, by Chuck Palahniuk
Fight Club is so intense, it works on so many levels! I love Fight Club more than ANYONE I KNOW. You probably wouldn’t get it.”

“Sriracha is intense, it works on so many levels! I love Sriracha more than ANYONE I KNOW. You probably wouldn’t get it.”

Fresh Off the Boat, by Eddie Huang
Srirachians are obsessed with food, but not in the way of your traditional foodie. They’re not crowding around a lobster roll with their Sony Cyber-shot RX1 cameras or correcting people for mispronouncing “vichyssoise”—they’re too busy shoveling food into their mouths. And it’s not because they don’t care about the quality, it’s because they’re extremists who reject authority—food tastes better to them when it’s being eaten at 100 MPH. These people are not delicate readers, and they’re not delicate eaters. They are Sriracha SLATHERERS. And FOTB is peppered with voicey (might I say, spicy?), borderline-inappropriate humor, kind of how Sriracha would sound if it could talk.

The Catcher In the Rye, by J.D. Salinger
Sriracha spends zero advertising dollars a year, because Sriracha doesn’t need to be promoted—it is organically successful. A true Sriracha fan doesn’t like to be told what to do or eat, anyway. This is also the story of J.D. Salinger’s The Catcher In The Rye. Despite the fact that (and maybe because) Salinger was a recluse who protected his books and privacy with an iron gate, the people flocked to it, anyway. It was just that good. And people who like reading about “goddam princes” don’t like to be told what to read, anyway. Sriracha and Catcher are both cult classics, in spite of themselves.

Into Thin Air, by Jon Krakauer
Have you ever listened to two people engaged in a who-eats-Sriracha-on-the-weirdest-food battle? “I put it on apples.” “I put it in my coffee.” “I PUT IT ON EVERY INDIVIDUAL GRAIN OF RICE WHEN I AM EATING RICE.” “I PUT IT ON MY TOOTHBRUSH.” It’s that spirit of adventure and competition that makes a Sriracha fan love Into Thin Air. They might not be able to climb a thing but they can eat Sriracha on their flourless chocolate cake and live to tell the tale.

Infinite Jest, by David Foster Wallace
Anyone who picks up Infinite Jest knows they are getting into a challenging novel. But if they’re tenacious enough to persevere to page 1,104, they will have earned some serious cred among their peers. Not necessarily cred from literary scholars, though. Cred from the kind of people who love The Big Lebowski.  And cred from people who love Sriracha. There is a line that divides those of us who have and have not read Infinite Jest, and a similar one that divides those of us who fill the white spaces on our plates with Sriracha and those who do not.

Salt, by Mark Kurlansky
Sriracha has eight ingredients, and if there were books written on chiles, vinegar, sugar, garlic, potassium sorbate, sodium bisulfite, and xanthan gum, the Srirachian would read those, too.

Skippy Jon Jones Lost In Spice, by Judy Schachner
This picture book’s a trip, and perhaps not even for children at all. In it, Skippy Jon Jones travels to outer space to prove that Mars is red because it’s covered in spicy red pepper. I know, right? You just had that same argument yesterday with your coworker, over lunchtime chimichangas. But you didn’t take the time to go to Mars to prove your case. Skippy Jon Jones did that for you.

The Flamethrowersby Rachel Kushner
The Flamethrowers will feed the Srirachian’s experimental, edgy, imaginative soul, and inspire them to (after pouring Sriracha—into their breakfast smoothie) steal motorcycles, travel abroad, join rebel groups, etc. Reno, the protagonist, lives fast and hard, and you know damn well she’s a Sriracha girl.

Absence of Mind, by Marilynne Robinson
Sriracha lovers ponder. They’ll stay up all night thinking about nihilism or wind energy or whatever. And that’s why we’d give them Robinson’s Absence of Mind, a book exploring two of the biggest things that keep a Srirachian up at night—science and religion. It’s a huge book, asking fundamental questions we’ll die without knowing the answers to. And that’s just how the Sriracha lover likes it.

Bonus book: The Sriracha Cookbook: 50 “Rooster Sauce” Recipes that Pack a Punchby Randy Clemens because obviously.

What book do you think a Sriracha lover would enjoy?

Comments are closed.

Follow BNReads