7 Big 2015 Releases to Look Forward to Now That Go Set a Watchman is Here

For months, lit lovers everywhere were on pins and needles anticipating the release of Harper Lee’s Go Set a Watchman. Before the long-awaited book hit store shelves, speculation ran rampant. Readers wondered how the world of Scout Finch and Boo Radley would change with the publication of the new (or is it the old?) novel—a question sure to be debated for years to come now that the book is finally gracing nightstands everywhere. But no matter how opinions of the new Lee novel might diverge, we know one thing: now that it’s finally here, it’s time to turn our thirst for new releases toward these exciting upcoming reads.

Wind/Pinball, by Haruki Murakami (August 4)
Murakami lovers are barely able to contain their excitement at the first U.S. release of his two earliest works, just coming back into print after 30 years. Fans of A Wild Sheep Chase and Dance, Dance, Dance will recognize Hear the Wind Sing and Pinball 1973 as prequels to those well-known classics, and Murakami newcomers will have the pleasure of reading the novels in sequence. Whether considered in the context of his more familiar works or as standalone stories, these compelling short novels won’t disappoint.

Friction, by Sandra Brown (August 18)
Bestselling author Sandra Brown is at it again with her newest nail-biter. Friction is the story of Texas ranger Crawford Hunt’s struggle to regain custody of his daughter, Georgia. In the wake of a years-long bender after the death of his wife, Crawford must prove to Judge Holly Spencer he is a changed man who’s ready to be a good father. The plot thickens when a masked gunman bursts into the family courtroom and tries to end Holly’s judgeship for good. Full of Brown’s trademark plot twists and romantic tension, this book is poised to continue the author’s career-long bestselling streak.

Girl Waits with Gun, by Amy Stewart (September 1)
Critics are hailing this edge-of-your-seat romp as another bullseye for bestselling author Stewart, and the Internet is abuzz with anticipation. Gunslinging gangsters, loads of dry humor, and a passel of no-nonsense, pistol-packin’ women round out this fiery tale, which promises to deliver on its ample fanfare. We can’t wait to see what all the buzz is about.

Library of Souls: The Third Novel of Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, by Ransom Riggs (September 22)
More and more often these days, a book geared toward young adults manages to capture the imaginations of not-so-young adults everywhere. In recent years, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children swept the nation, spending a whopping 63 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list and being lauded by critics for its vibrant characters and creative use of authentic vintage photographs. The series tells the tale of Jacob Portman, who follows clues about his murky family history all the way to an deserted orphanage on an island in Wales. What unfolds is a darkly glittering mystery that pulses with an eerie sense of urgency all the way to this third installment, which finds Jacob and his partner-in-crime Emma racing against time to save beloved matriarch Miss Peregrine.

The Girl in the Spider’s Web: Millenium Series #4, by David Lagercrantz (September 1)
If you obsessively devoured all three of the preceding Millennium novels, you might notice a major change on the dustjacket of the fourth: the author’s name. The much-lauded Stieg Larsson passed away in 2004, leaving millions of fans believing they’d read the last of hacker heroine Lisbeth Salander. So it marks a momentous literary occasion that the series has been entrusted to fellow Swede and accomplished author David Lagercrantz. Devotees of the brilliant Lisbeth and her shrewd journalist counterpart, Mikael Blomkvist, can hardly wait to see the duo team up again.

Welcome to Night Vale, by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor (October 20)
Few things manage to be both funny and terrifying, but this soon-to-be-released novel based on the wildly popular podcast of the same name pulls the combination off nicely. Night Vale is, to put it mildly, a very strange place. Things have a way of happening there that no one can quite explain, and everyone seems to be all right with that. (Since, you know, it’s not like they have a choice.) So when the lives of two Night Vale residents begin to converge inexplicably, no one is surprised, exactly. What is surprising is that, for once, a mystery in Night Vale might actually be solved.

The Crossing, by Michael Connelly (November 3)
Nobody does crime novels like Michael Connelly, and the seasoned author’s newest work is on pace to continue his never-miss legacy. Half-brothers Mickey Haller and Harry Bosch try to take it easy, they really do. Yet somehow they always manage to end up right in the thick of L.A.’s hairiest criminal investigations. The ex-LAPD detective and the Lincoln Lawyer find themselves in the red zone once again when Mickey asks Harry to use his insider knowledge of LA’s finest to root out corruption. Bullets fly, tempers flare, and bonds are tested in the latest tour de force read from one of crime fiction’s greatest contemporary authors.

Shop the Bookstore >

Follow BNReads