6 Incredible Memoirs by Defectors from Closed Societies

closed doors

6 Incredible Memoirs by Defectors from Closed Societies

What lurks behind the doors and beyond the borders of the world’s most shuttered societies? It’s a question that fascinates us, and the answers...
6 Stephen King Adaptations to Watch Now (or Get Stoked For)

page to screen

6 Stephen King Adaptations to Watch Now (or Get Stoked For)

Stephen King is one of the world’s most prolific authors — but even he can’t write fast enough to satisfy the appetites of his biggest fans....
Celebrate Barack Obama’s Birthday with 6 of His Favorite Books

happy birthday mr. president

Celebrate Barack Obama’s Birthday with 6 of His Favorite Books

Happy birthday, Mister President, happy birthday to you! It might be an historic election year, but on this date, our commander in chief is celebrating his...
Megan Abbott’s You Will Know Me Is an Unsettling Teen Girl Noir

new releases

Megan Abbott’s You Will Know Me Is an Unsettling Teen Girl Noir

On the eve of the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio, few events will inspire as much slack-jawed amazement—or furious debate—as the women’s gymnastics...
The Bell Jar Gets a Movie, and 5 More Biopics About Women Writers

art imitating life

The Bell Jar Gets a Movie, and 5 More Biopics About Women Writers

Sylvia Plath is one of modern literature’s most celebrated, complicated women, which is why it’s astonishing that it has taken this long for...
Read-Alikes for Every Major Summer Blockbuster

summertime fun

Read-Alikes for Every Major Summer Blockbuster

Summer is the season of big movies, from blow-up-the-White-House blockbusters, to family-friendly animation, to gross-out, screwball comedies that are...
8 Books That’ll Make You Scared to Go Back in the Water

we're gonna need a bigger boat

8 Books That’ll Make You Scared to Go Back in the Water

If you’re looking for a book that will keep you glued to your beach chair for as long as it takes to finish, there’s no shortage of excellent...
Ranking Every Roald Dahl Movie

page to screen

Ranking Every Roald Dahl Movie

This month, a very big kidlit-to-film adaptation came galloping into theaters: Steven Spielberg’s long-awaited take on Roald Dahl’s classic,...
5 Things to Look Forward to When Outlander‘s Season 3 Tackles Voyager

outlander recaps

5 Things to Look Forward to When Outlander‘s Season 3 Tackles Voyager

Mind yerselves, Sassenachs: Spoilers for both the Outlander season 2 finale and the third book in the series, Voyager, lie beyond this point. The second...
Curtis Sittenfeld’s Prep Will Be the HBO Prestige Comedy We Need and Deserve

page to screen

Curtis Sittenfeld’s Prep Will Be the HBO Prestige Comedy We Need and Deserve

Between True Blood, Game of Thrones, and The Leftovers, HBO has officially established itself as the network where good books go to become great...
The 10 Worst Betrayals in Fiction

public enemies

The 10 Worst Betrayals in Fiction

Whether for love, for money, or just for the fun of it, hideous betrayal never fails to make for a compelling story. From classic literature to...
3 Austen Hotties Who Put Mr. Darcy to Shame

regency baes

3 Austen Hotties Who Put Mr. Darcy to Shame

When it comes to the Jane Austen literary canon, there’s one gentleman in breeches who seems to be everyone’s favorite boyfriend: The one, the...

Follow BNReads