Most Anticipated

Our Most Anticipated New Kids’ Book Releases of August 2022

Aww man, it’s the last month of summer already! And while we may not be in full back-to-school mode yet, at least we still have a little more time for #summerreading! At long last, the follow-up to our 2021 B&N Children’s and YA Book Award winner, Amari and the Night Brothers is finally here! Plus, with some new stories from some favorite authors and quite a few graphic novels hitting the shelves this month, kids are in for some fun reads. Here are the Kids’ books we’re looking forward to this August. 

Amari and the Great Game

Amari and the Great Game

Hardcover $15.99 $18.99

Amari and the Great Game

B. B. Alston

In Stock Online

Hardcover $15.99 $18.99

Amari Peters is back at the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs in this long-awaited sequel to our 2021 Children’s & YA Book Award Winner, Amari and the Night Brothers. Chock full of even more twists, turns, and of course, magic, Amari and the Great Game is a must-read for fans of fast-paced fantasy tales.

Amari Peters is back at the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs in this long-awaited sequel to our 2021 Children’s & YA Book Award Winner, Amari and the Night Brothers. Chock full of even more twists, turns, and of course, magic, Amari and the Great Game is a must-read for fans of fast-paced fantasy tales.

Wellington's Big Day Out

Wellington's Big Day Out

Hardcover $14.99 $18.99

Wellington's Big Day Out

Steve Small

In Stock Online

Hardcover $14.99 $18.99

Steve Small’s storytelling has a unique power — it lets little kids feel grown and thoughtful while bringing out the child-like innocence and joy for adults. Wellington’s Big Day Out, just like The Duck Who Didn’t Like Water has the feel of a timeless classic — one that with each reading you’ll think of another person you want to share the story with, knowing that you’re about to brighten their day.

Steve Small’s storytelling has a unique power — it lets little kids feel grown and thoughtful while bringing out the child-like innocence and joy for adults. Wellington’s Big Day Out, just like The Duck Who Didn’t Like Water has the feel of a timeless classic — one that with each reading you’ll think of another person you want to share the story with, knowing that you’re about to brighten their day.

Gravebooks

Gravebooks

Hardcover $14.99 $17.99

Gravebooks

J. A. White

In Stock Online

Hardcover $14.99 $17.99

What’s better than a story? A story about stories, of course. And a spooky story about spooky stories? Even better. This highly anticipated follow-up to Nightbooks finds Alex trapped under the spell of the evil witch Natacha yet again, and he must write even more scary stories to save himself and his best friend—before it’s too late.

What’s better than a story? A story about stories, of course. And a spooky story about spooky stories? Even better. This highly anticipated follow-up to Nightbooks finds Alex trapped under the spell of the evil witch Natacha yet again, and he must write even more scary stories to save himself and his best friend—before it’s too late.

A Taste of Magic

A Taste of Magic

Hardcover $14.99 $16.99

A Taste of Magic

J. Elle

In Stock Online

Hardcover $14.99 $16.99

J. Elle’s whimsical middle grade debut about a 12-year-old girl who enters a baking contest to save her inner-city magic school is a sweet contemporary fantasy perfect for fans of Amari and the Night Brothers. Young readers will eat this charming tale right up.

J. Elle’s whimsical middle grade debut about a 12-year-old girl who enters a baking contest to save her inner-city magic school is a sweet contemporary fantasy perfect for fans of Amari and the Night Brothers. Young readers will eat this charming tale right up.

Patchwork

Patchwork

Hardcover $14.99 $18.99

Patchwork

Matt de la Peña , Corinna Luyken

In Stock Online

Hardcover $14.99 $18.99

Matt de la Peña, Newbery Medal-winning author of classics such as Last Stop on Market StreetLove and Milo Imagines the World continues his tradition of creating deeply thoughtful, celebratory compositions for every child. A shelf full of de la Peña’s work is a shelf full of hope, love and acceptance.

Matt de la Peña, Newbery Medal-winning author of classics such as Last Stop on Market StreetLove and Milo Imagines the World continues his tradition of creating deeply thoughtful, celebratory compositions for every child. A shelf full of de la Peña’s work is a shelf full of hope, love and acceptance.

Battle of the Books

Battle of the Books

Hardcover $14.99 $17.99

Battle of the Books

Melanie Ellsworth , James Rey Sanchez

In Stock Online

Hardcover $14.99 $17.99

Battle of the Books is The Day the Crayons Quit meets My Very Favorite Book in the Whole Wide World with illustrations by James Rey Sanchez, who also created the art for This Magical, Musical Night. You WILL have fun reading this book and you WILL have fun dreaming up your own “Battle of the Books”.

Battle of the Books is The Day the Crayons Quit meets My Very Favorite Book in the Whole Wide World with illustrations by James Rey Sanchez, who also created the art for This Magical, Musical Night. You WILL have fun reading this book and you WILL have fun dreaming up your own “Battle of the Books”.

Ride On

Ride On

Paperback $12.99 $14.99

Ride On

Faith Erin Hicks

In Stock Online

Paperback $12.99 $14.99

Horse lovers unite! This sweet middle graphic novel is perfect for the equine fan in your life. Coupled with gorgeous illustrations, Ride On is a charming story of friendship, self-discovery, and of course, plenty of horses.

Horse lovers unite! This sweet middle graphic novel is perfect for the equine fan in your life. Coupled with gorgeous illustrations, Ride On is a charming story of friendship, self-discovery, and of course, plenty of horses.

The Disappearing Mr. Jacques

The Disappearing Mr. Jacques

Hardcover $14.99 $17.99

The Disappearing Mr. Jacques

Gideon Sterer , Benjamin Chaud

In Stock Online

Hardcover $14.99 $17.99

If Ben Vereen jumped off the screen and into a book with a magical hook, you’d have The Disappearing Mr. Jacques. From the minds of Gideon Sterer (The Midnight FairThe Christmas Owl) and Benjamin Chaud comes a fun, interactive performance that encourages participation and will make you believe the unbelievable. If you don’t pay close attention, you’ll miss the enchantment. But the good news is you can revive the magic just by flipping to the beginning and starting again. A must-have for any aspiring magician or fan of fantasy.

If Ben Vereen jumped off the screen and into a book with a magical hook, you’d have The Disappearing Mr. Jacques. From the minds of Gideon Sterer (The Midnight FairThe Christmas Owl) and Benjamin Chaud comes a fun, interactive performance that encourages participation and will make you believe the unbelievable. If you don’t pay close attention, you’ll miss the enchantment. But the good news is you can revive the magic just by flipping to the beginning and starting again. A must-have for any aspiring magician or fan of fantasy.

Invisible: A Graphic Novel

Invisible: A Graphic Novel

Paperback $9.99 $12.99

Invisible: A Graphic Novel

Christina Diaz Gonzalez , Gabriela Epstein

In Stock Online

Paperback $9.99 $12.99

Fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jerry Craft won’t want to miss this brightly illustrated middle school graphic novel about friendship, community, and teamwork. With English and Spanish text incorporated throughout, Invisible will make a fresh addition to any young reader’s library.

Fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jerry Craft won’t want to miss this brightly illustrated middle school graphic novel about friendship, community, and teamwork. With English and Spanish text incorporated throughout, Invisible will make a fresh addition to any young reader’s library.

Ways to Make Friends

Ways to Make Friends

Hardcover $14.99 $18.95

Ways to Make Friends

Jairo Buitrago , Mariana Ruiz Johnson

In Stock Online

Hardcover $14.99 $18.95

Silly, insightful, and overflowing with heart, Ways to Make Friends by Jairo Buitrago is a book everyone needs to read. If someone says it’s not for them — that just means this book was really made specially for them. Sharing his quirky guide from Mexico City, Buitrago helps us navigate unfamiliar social situations with hilarious hijinks as we follow Toad as he displays his most ingenious ideas. Along with Mariana Ruiz Johnson’s art, Ways to Make Friends sits naturally next to MinaPete the Cat and I’m Not Scared, You’re Scared.

Silly, insightful, and overflowing with heart, Ways to Make Friends by Jairo Buitrago is a book everyone needs to read. If someone says it’s not for them — that just means this book was really made specially for them. Sharing his quirky guide from Mexico City, Buitrago helps us navigate unfamiliar social situations with hilarious hijinks as we follow Toad as he displays his most ingenious ideas. Along with Mariana Ruiz Johnson’s art, Ways to Make Friends sits naturally next to MinaPete the Cat and I’m Not Scared, You’re Scared.

Bunnicula: The Graphic Novel

Bunnicula: The Graphic Novel

Paperback $9.99 $12.99

Bunnicula: The Graphic Novel

James Howe , Andrew Donkin , Stephen Gilpin

In Stock Online

Paperback $9.99 $12.99

A snarky cat, a cupcake-loving dog, and a vampire bunny — what more can you ask for from a beloved children’s book? Full-color artwork breathes new life into this beloved tale of a paranormal pet rabbit, just in time for spooky season.

A snarky cat, a cupcake-loving dog, and a vampire bunny — what more can you ask for from a beloved children’s book? Full-color artwork breathes new life into this beloved tale of a paranormal pet rabbit, just in time for spooky season.

A Little Ferry Tale

A Little Ferry Tale

Hardcover $14.99 $18.99

A Little Ferry Tale

Chad Otis

In Stock Online

Hardcover $14.99 $18.99

Here it is — the cutest book with the cutest title ever. Author-illustrator Chad Otis’s retro yet modern story follows Little Ferry as she navigates the turbulent waters of life. She isn’t strong and she isn’t fast. She isn’t graceful like the sailboats but she’s dependable, sturdy, and special in her own way. When disaster strikes, though unexpected to the tugboats and speedboats, Little Ferry is there to save the day. A Little Ferry Tale is The Little Engine on waves. Perfect for fans of Small WaltCorduroy and Mel Fell.

Here it is — the cutest book with the cutest title ever. Author-illustrator Chad Otis’s retro yet modern story follows Little Ferry as she navigates the turbulent waters of life. She isn’t strong and she isn’t fast. She isn’t graceful like the sailboats but she’s dependable, sturdy, and special in her own way. When disaster strikes, though unexpected to the tugboats and speedboats, Little Ferry is there to save the day. A Little Ferry Tale is The Little Engine on waves. Perfect for fans of Small WaltCorduroy and Mel Fell.