B&N Reads

Our Most Anticipated New Kids’ Book Releases of July 2022

Get ready to laugh your way through the month with gut-busting graphic novels, a mouthful of food (or frogs), heartwarming stories of friendship and family, a picture book debut from an R&B superstar that celebrates what makes us unique, and zombies! Let’s get our summer reading on with the best new Kids’ books hitting shelves this July! 

Lumberjackula

Lumberjackula

Paperback $10.99 $12.99

Lumberjackula

Mat Heagerty , Sam Owen

In Stock Online

Paperback $10.99 $12.99

This laugh-out-loud graphic novel about a half-lumberjack, half-vampire with an affinity for dancing is the perfect light-hearted read for spooky season – or any season, for that matter. Themes of family, friendship, and being yourself solidify this stand-out read.

This laugh-out-loud graphic novel about a half-lumberjack, half-vampire with an affinity for dancing is the perfect light-hearted read for spooky season – or any season, for that matter. Themes of family, friendship, and being yourself solidify this stand-out read.

My Name Is a Story

My Name Is a Story

Hardcover $16.99 $18.99

My Name Is a Story

Ashanti , Monica Mikai

In Stock Online

Hardcover $16.99 $18.99

It’s not often that someone becomes so well known that going by just one name is justified. Ashanti has paved her way to accomplish that and more. Now, the Grammy award-winning performer is breaking through with her debut picture book, My Name Is a Story that celebrates the power of names and individuality. Inspired by Ashanti’s real-life experiences, this lyrical picture book brims with power, pride, wonder and elegance.

It’s not often that someone becomes so well known that going by just one name is justified. Ashanti has paved her way to accomplish that and more. Now, the Grammy award-winning performer is breaking through with her debut picture book, My Name Is a Story that celebrates the power of names and individuality. Inspired by Ashanti’s real-life experiences, this lyrical picture book brims with power, pride, wonder and elegance.

Leila, the Perfect Witch

Leila, the Perfect Witch

Hardcover $17.99

Leila, the Perfect Witch

Flavia Z. Drago

In Stock Online

Hardcover $17.99

From Flavia Z. Drago’s ever-expanding, bewitching world of Gustavo comes Leila, The Perfect Witch. With a pinch of perfection, a splash of superbness and a big heap of humility, Leila, The Perfect Witch is a masterful brew of storytelling. Leila’s quest to win the Magnificent Witchy Cake-off is an excellent compliment to Gustavo, the Shy Ghost.

From Flavia Z. Drago’s ever-expanding, bewitching world of Gustavo comes Leila, The Perfect Witch. With a pinch of perfection, a splash of superbness and a big heap of humility, Leila, The Perfect Witch is a masterful brew of storytelling. Leila’s quest to win the Magnificent Witchy Cake-off is an excellent compliment to Gustavo, the Shy Ghost.

A Spoonful of Frogs

A Spoonful of Frogs

Hardcover $17.99

A Spoonful of Frogs

Casey Lyall , Vera Brosgol

In Stock Online

Hardcover $17.99

What’s been prepared for you today is … a cauldron full of laugh-out-loud creepiness and seriously spooky storytelling. Casey Lyall and Vera Brosgol concocted a Halloween treat with a shelf life that never expires and will toad-ally satisfy the most discerning palettes. Told through the lens of a television cooking show, a witch tries to incorporate a frog in her recipe, but things don’t go as planned. A Spoonful of Frogs can be paired nicely with the Pig the Pug series, Room on the Broom and Gustavo, the Shy Ghost.

What’s been prepared for you today is … a cauldron full of laugh-out-loud creepiness and seriously spooky storytelling. Casey Lyall and Vera Brosgol concocted a Halloween treat with a shelf life that never expires and will toad-ally satisfy the most discerning palettes. Told through the lens of a television cooking show, a witch tries to incorporate a frog in her recipe, but things don’t go as planned. A Spoonful of Frogs can be paired nicely with the Pig the Pug series, Room on the Broom and Gustavo, the Shy Ghost.

The Elephant Girl

The Elephant Girl

Hardcover $14.99 $16.99

The Elephant Girl

James Patterson , Ellen Banda-Aaku , Sophia Krevoy

In Stock Online

Hardcover $14.99 $16.99

Friendship stories between humans and animals will always have a special place in our hearts, and The Elephant Girl is no exception. This heartwarming coming-of-age story about a young girl’s tender relationship with an elephant named Mbegu also holds an important and timely message on elephant conservation.

Friendship stories between humans and animals will always have a special place in our hearts, and The Elephant Girl is no exception. This heartwarming coming-of-age story about a young girl’s tender relationship with an elephant named Mbegu also holds an important and timely message on elephant conservation.

Doña Esmeralda, Who Ate Everything

Doña Esmeralda, Who Ate Everything

Hardcover $16.99 $18.99

Doña Esmeralda, Who Ate Everything

Melissa de la Cruz , Primo Gallanosa

In Stock Online

Hardcover $16.99 $18.99

Melissa de la Cruz is a world-builder and the world she gives us in her picture book debut is a fun, imaginative, silly and wild ride. Doña Esmeralda, Who Ate Everything is rooted in the fairy tales of her childhood, and now, de la Cruz makes it accessible for all our bookshelves. Perfect for fans of Every Night is Pizza Night and Room for Everyone.

Melissa de la Cruz is a world-builder and the world she gives us in her picture book debut is a fun, imaginative, silly and wild ride. Doña Esmeralda, Who Ate Everything is rooted in the fairy tales of her childhood, and now, de la Cruz makes it accessible for all our bookshelves. Perfect for fans of Every Night is Pizza Night and Room for Everyone.

Minecraft: Zombies!

Minecraft: Zombies!

Hardcover $14.99 $17.99

Minecraft: Zombies!

Nick Eliopulos

In Stock Online

Hardcover $14.99 $17.99

What’s next in the world of Minecraft novels? Zombies, of course! This first book in a brand-new trilogy follows Bobbie and Ben as they journey across the Overworld with Bobbie’s little brother-turning-zombie in tow. Minecraft fans won’t want to miss this original tale of survival.

What’s next in the world of Minecraft novels? Zombies, of course! This first book in a brand-new trilogy follows Bobbie and Ben as they journey across the Overworld with Bobbie’s little brother-turning-zombie in tow. Minecraft fans won’t want to miss this original tale of survival.

Booked: The Graphic Novel

Booked: The Graphic Novel

Paperback $12.99

Booked: The Graphic Novel

Kwame Alexander , Dawud Anyabwile

In Stock Online

Paperback $12.99

Kwame Alexander’s bestselling The Crossover series gets the graphic novel treatment in this unique adaptation of Booked. Themes of family, friendship and, of course, soccer are tackled in this illustrated story perfect for reluctant readers.

Kwame Alexander’s bestselling The Crossover series gets the graphic novel treatment in this unique adaptation of Booked. Themes of family, friendship and, of course, soccer are tackled in this illustrated story perfect for reluctant readers.