6 Perfect Readalikes for Lumberjanes Fans

I adore the Lumberjanes comics. Not only are they incredibly fun and full of empowering storylines, but the storytelling manages to hybrid the fantastical with real-world problems in a delightful way. Luckily, if you’ve already devoured the entire line of Lumberjanes comics, these six series do the same.

The Backstagers series, by James Tynion IV, illustrated by Rian Sygh
The shortest way to describe The Backstagers series is “Lumberjanes, but dudes.” Jory transfers to a private all-boys school only to be adopted by the stage crew of the theatre department. Nicknamed the Backstagers, they keep the show running, despite the paranormal world that lurks in the hallways backstage. As long as they keep the monsters from devouring the actors, they should be safe—right?

Raven the Pirate Princess series, by Jeremy Whitley, illustrated by Rosy Higgins and Ted Brandt
What if you took a group of incredible diverse women, slapped them down on a pirate ship in a fantasy world, and set them off to wage war? When Raven is freed from the tower her pirate king father locked her in, she sets off to reclaim her kingdom from the brothers who stole it. She rallies a crew of scientists, thieves, knights, mapmakers and more—all women, of course—to get it back. This is one of my favorite graphic novel series. It’s nonstop fun.

The Witch Boy series, by Molly Knox Ostertag
One of the things I love most about the Lumberjanes series is how it challenges ideas of gender stereotypes while having fun with magic. The Witch Boy does the same—which isn’t surprising, considering Molly worked on the Lumberjanes books. In Aster’s family, boys are shapeshifters and girls are witches, and those who refuse to follow those rules are exiles. But when a mysterious danger threatens the boys of the family, Aster knows he can save them as a witch. Can he work with his new friend Charlie to hone his skills and save his friends?

Lumberjanes series, by Mariko Tamaki, illustrated by Brooklyn Allen
Okay, you love the Lumberjanes graphic novels, but did you know that there are novels as well? Acclaimed author Mariko Tamaki took the incredible world of Lumberjanes and wrote an illustrated middle grade series—with the help of the talented Brooklyn Allen—that spins new tales of our favorite crew at Miss Qiunzella Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s Camp for Hardcore Lady Types. The first story follows April as she drags Jo, Molly, Mal and Ripley up the tallest mountain they’ve ever seen, where they run into Cloud People and unicorns—and it only gets more magical from there.

Moonstruck series, by Grace Ellis and Shae Beagle
Perfect for older Lumberjanes readers beginning to grow out of middle grade novels, volume one of Moonstruck compiles the first five issues of this fantastical comic series. Werewolf barista Julie and her new girlfriend just want to enjoy their date at a close-up magic show, but when a magician casts a spell on their friend Chet, they need to work with their other magical friends to stop the magician before it’s too late. The second volume comes out February 26!

Ms. Marvel series by G. Willow Wilson and illustrated by Adrian Alphona
There are so many incredible superheroines in the Marvel canon: America Chavez, Squirrel Girl, and, of course, Kamala Khan. The best one to leap into for Lumberjanes fans is the Ms. Marvel series, which follows Kamala Khan as she struggles to wield her new powers in Jersey City. She never expected to be a superheroine, and certainly not to share powers with one of her favorite superheroes. What does it mean to wield these gifts? Is she worthy? And can she save her city and finish her homework?

Follow B&N Kids Blog