middle grade fiction
“The Power of Story to Change Hearts and Minds”: An Interview with Zenobia July Author Lisa Bunker

interviews

“The Power of Story to Change Hearts and Minds”: An Interview with Zenobia July Author Lisa Bunker

Lisa Bunker is the author of the critically acclaimed Felix Yz, about a boy with a hyperintelligent fourth dimensional being fused inside of him. Her...
Older Middle Grade Readers Who Enjoy Realism in Their Reading Will Love Author Jo Knowles

authors we love

Older Middle Grade Readers Who Enjoy Realism in Their Reading Will Love Author Jo Knowles

Many kids at the upper end of middle grade enjoy fantastic adventures and brave kids saving the day, but there are also plenty of 11-12 year olds who want...
5 Spooky New Middle Grade Books for Campfire Chills!

summer reading

5 Spooky New Middle Grade Books for Campfire Chills!

If you or your young reader are looking for some chilling stories to take the heat off summer, here are some great recent books with just the right level...
5 Fantastical Stories for Minecraft Fans!

screen to page

5 Fantastical Stories for Minecraft Fans!

Kids can spend hours playing Minecraft. The inventive video game hones their engineering skills even as it encourages creative thinking. But what do you do...
Theodore Boone: The Accomplice and 4 More Edge-of-Your-Seat Thrillers for Young Crimesolvers

the thrills

Theodore Boone: The Accomplice and 4 More Edge-of-Your-Seat Thrillers for Young Crimesolvers

Some children prefer cozy mysteries: gradually piecing together who stole a trombone at camp, or which student cheated for the class election, or where a...
Why Mac B. Kid Spy Should Be My New Best Friend

spies like us

Why Mac B. Kid Spy Should Be My New Best Friend

(CODE RED: This blog post is for your eyes only.) If Mac B. Kid Spy’s secret missions are as real as he says they are, then he’s not just a spy, he’s...
10 New Middle Grade Coming-of-Age Novels for Spring

heartfelt stories

10 New Middle Grade Coming-of-Age Novels for Spring

Get ready to feel all the feels with these 10 new middle grade coming-of-age novels! Each one takes you on a unique and heartfelt emotional journey. From...
5 Survivalist Stories For Young Fans of Hatchet

survival stories

5 Survivalist Stories For Young Fans of Hatchet

When kids fall in love with Hatchet, it’s easy to tell them what to read next: My Side Of The Mountain. And the list of enduring classics goes on. But...
Celebrate Summer Reading with Barnes & Noble!

summer reading

Celebrate Summer Reading with Barnes & Noble!

Barnes & Noble’s Summer Reading Program is back to give young readers the opportunity to earn a free book by following these three easy steps:...
6 Perfect Readalikes for Lumberjanes Fans

readalikes

6 Perfect Readalikes for Lumberjanes Fans

I adore the Lumberjanes comics. Not only are they incredibly fun and full of empowering storylines, but the storytelling manages to hybrid the fantastical...
“Your Stories Are Infinite”: An Interview with The Girl Who Drank The Moon Author Kelly Barnhill

interviews

“Your Stories Are Infinite”: An Interview with The Girl Who Drank The Moon Author Kelly Barnhill

The Girl Who Drank the Moon, by Kelly Barnhill, was the winner of the 2017 Newbery Award. All of us who fell in love with the story of a baby girl made...
5 Terrific Books for Fans of Stuart Gibbs’ Hilarious Spy School Series

readalikes

5 Terrific Books for Fans of Stuart Gibbs’ Hilarious Spy School Series

If you know a voracious middle grade reader, odds are they love Stuart Gibbs’ Spy School series. They’ve likely already forced you to the store to buy...

Follow B&N Kids Blog