These Are the Winners of the 2019 Hugo Awards

The winners of the 2019 Hugo Awards were announced today at the 77th World Science Fiction Convention in Dublin, Ireland. Mary Robinette Kowal took home Best Novel honors for The Calculating Stars, capping off an evening that balanced the expected and the surprising—including a groundbreaking win in the oddball category “Best Related Work.”

Kowal’s novel is the first novel-length installment of her Lady Astronauts series, about an alternate space race that arises after a massive asteroid hits the Earth. It was the odds-on favorite to win—it earned Kowal the Nebula Award for Best Novel earlier this year, as well as the Locus Award for Best SF Novel (it’s also on the nominee list for the Dragon Awards in the category of Best Alternate History Novel). Hugo voters gave Kowal a Hugo for the novelette that inspired the series, The Lady Astronaut of Mars, back in 2014. Kowal’s win puts her in the rarified atmosphere of novels that have earned both a Nebula and Hugo in the same year, a list that includes authors such as Paolo Bacigalupi (The Windup Girl), Frank Herbert (Dune), Vonda McIntyre (Dreamsnake), Ann Leckie (Ancillary Justice), Ursula K. Le Guin (The Left Hand of Darkness), Larry Niven (Ringworld), Jo Walton (Among Others), and others.

Other winners from the evening included a second win in as many years for Martha Wells, who took home a rocket trophy for her second Murderbot novella, Artificial Condition, joining 2017’s All Systems Red. On the Novelette front, first-time nominee Zen Cho was the winner for “If at First You Don’t Succeed, Try, Try Again,” which we’re proud to say was first published on this very blog.

Alix E. Harrow became the youngest-ever Hugo winner in a fiction category for her short story for “A Witch’s Guide to Escape: A Practical Compendium of Portal Fantasies”; her debut novel The Ten Thousand Doors of January (A Barnes & Noble Discover New Writers selection) arrives next month. Becky Chambers’ Wayfarers series earned the Best Series Hugo, which became a permanent category  this year, while Sana Takeda and Marjorie Liu took home their third consecutive Hugo for Best Graphic Story for Monstress. And Ursula K. Le Guin was honored with her third posthumous trophy—this time for Best Art Book, a new category this year—for The Books of Earthsea: The Complete Illustrated Edition, with art by Charles Vess (who also won Best Professional Artist).

Perhaps the night’s most interesting winner, however, was in the catch-all category of Best Related Work; the fanfiction database Archive of Our Own (AO3), a project of the Organization for Transformative Works, took home the prize—a full-throated endorsement of the value of fanfiction to the wider community of SFF fandom (interestingly, the win came just days after Tor Books announced plans to publish a novel that originated on AO3).

Here’s the complete list of winners (marked in bold):

Best Novel

Best Novella

Best Novelette

Best Short Story

Best Series


Best Related Work

Best Graphic Story

  • Abbott, written by Saladin Ahmed, art by Sami Kivelä, colours by Jason Wordie, letters by Jim Campbell (BOOM! Studios)
  • Black Panther: Long Live the King, written by Nnedi Okorafor and Aaron Covington, art by André Lima Araújo, Mario Del Pennino and Tana Ford (Marvel)
  • Monstress, Vol. 3: Haven, written by Marjorie Liu, art by Sana Takeda (Image Comics)
  • On a Sunbeam, by Tillie Walden (First Second)
  • Paper Girls, Vol. 4, written by Brian K. Vaughan, art by Cliff Chiang, colors by Matt Wilson, letters by Jared K. Fletcher (Image Comics)
  • Saga, Vol. 9, written by Brian K. Vaughan, art by Fiona Staples (Image Comics)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

  • Annihilation, directed and written for the screen by Alex Garland, based on the novel by Jeff VanderMeer (Paramount)
  • Avengers: Infinity War, screenplay by Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely, directed by Anthony Russo and Joe Russo (Marvel Studios)
  • Black Panther, written by Ryan Coogler and Joe Robert Cole, directed by Ryan Coogler (Marvel Studios)
  • A Quiet Place, screenplay by Scott Beck, John Krasinski and Bryan Woods, directed by John Krasinski (Platinum Dunes/Sunday Night)
  • Sorry to Bother You, written and directed by Boots Riley (Annapurna Pictures)
  • Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, screenplay by Phil Lord and Rodney Rothman, directed by Bob Persichetti, Peter Ramsey and Rodney Rothman (Sony)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

  • The Expanse: “Abaddon’s Gate,” written by Daniel Abraham, Ty Franck and Naren Shankar, directed by Simon Cellan Jones
  • Doctor Who: “Demons of the Punjab,” written by Vinay Patel, directed by Jamie Childs
  • Dirty Computer, written by Janelle Monáe, directed by Andrew Donoho and Chuck Lightning
  • The Good Place: “Janet(s),” written by Josh Siegal & Dylan Morgan, directed by Morgan Sackett
  • The Good Place: “Jeremy Bearimy,” written by Megan Amram, directed by Trent O’Donnell
  • Doctor Who: “Rosa,” written by Malorie Blackman and Chris Chibnall, directed by Mark Tonderai

Best Professional Editor, Short Form

  • Neil Clarke
  • Gardner Dozois
  • Lee Harris
  • Julia Rios
  • Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas
  • E. Catherine Tobler 

Best Professional Editor, Long Form

  • Sheila E. Gilbert
  • Anne Lesley Groell
  • Beth Meacham
  • Diana Pho
  • Gillian Redfearn
  • Navah Wolfe

Best Professional Artist

  • Galen Dara
  • Jaime Jones
  • Victo Ngai
  • John Picacio
  • Yuko Shimizu
  • Charles Vess

Best Semiprozine

  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies, editor-in-chief and publisher Scott H. Andrews
  • Fireside Magazine, edited by Julia Rios, managing editor Elsa Sjunneson-Henry, copyeditor Chelle Parker, social coordinator Meg Frank, special features editor Tanya DePass, founding editor Brian White, publisher and art director Pablo Defendini
  • FIYAH Magazine of Black Speculative Fiction, executive editors Troy L. Wiggins and DaVaun Sanders, editors L.D. Lewis, Brandon O’Brien, Kaleb Russell, Danny Lore, and Brent Lambert
  • Shimmer, publisher Beth Wodzinski, senior editor E. Catherine Tobler
  • Strange Horizons, edited by Jane Crowley, Kate Dollarhyde, Vanessa Rose Phin, Vajra Chandrasekera, Romie Stott, Maureen Kincaid Speller, and the Strange Horizons Staff
  • Uncanny Magazine, publishers/editors-in-chief Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas, managing editor Michi Trota, podcast producers Erika Ensign and Steven Schapansky, Disabled People Destroy Science Fiction Special Issue editors-in-chief Elsa Sjunneson-Henry and Dominik Parisien

Best Fanzine

  • Galactic Journey, founder Gideon Marcus, editor Janice Marcus
  • Journey Planet, edited by Team Journey Planet
  • Lady Business, editors Ira, Jodie, KJ, Renay, & Susan
  • nerds of a feather, flock together, editors Joe Sherry, Vance Kotrla and The G
  • Quick Sip Reviews, editor Charles Payseur
  • Rocket Stack Rank, editors Greg Hullender and Eric Wong

Best Fancast

  • Be the Serpent, presented by Alexandra Rowland, Freya Marske and Jennifer Mace
  • The Coode Street Podcast, presented by Jonathan Strahan and Gary K. Wolfe
  • Fangirl Happy Hour, hosted by Ana Grilo and Renay Williams
  • Galactic Suburbia, hosted by Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, and Tansy Rayner Roberts, produced by Andrew Finch
  • Our Opinions Are Correct, hosted by Annalee Newitz and Charlie Jane Anders
  • The Skiffy and Fanty Show, produced by Jen Zink and Shaun Duke, hosted by the Skiffy and Fanty Crew 

Best Fan Writer

  • Foz Meadows
  • James Davis Nicoll
  • Charles Payseur
  • Elsa Sjunneson-Henry
  • Alasdair Stuart
  • Bogi Takács

Best Fan Artist

  • Sara Felix
  • Grace P. Fong
  • Meg Frank
  • Ariela Housman
  • Likhain (Mia Sereno)
  • Spring Schoenhuth

Best Art Book

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Book

Follow B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy