A Tyranny of Queens Is a Joyous Reinvention of the Portal Fantasy

manifold destiny

A Tyranny of Queens Is a Joyous Reinvention of the Portal Fantasy

Plenty of books follow people from our reality wandering across dimensions into another world (you’ve no doubt heard the name for this kind of book:...
Mind Meld: Our Favorite Graphic Novels

mind meld

Mind Meld: Our Favorite Graphic Novels

Graphic novels tell stories differently than novels. Images accompanying, or sometimes standing in place of, text can bolster the reader’s imagination...
The Dragon’s Legacy Is an Operatic Fantasy Experience in the Making

Deborah Wolf

The Dragon’s Legacy Is an Operatic Fantasy Experience in the Making

Deborah Wolf’s The Dragon’s Legacy is the promising start to a breathtaking epic fantasy trilogy in the vein of Ken Liu and George R.R. Martin....
Red Sister Is a Game of Chess Brought to Bloody, Brilliant Life

the other sister

Red Sister Is a Game of Chess Brought to Bloody, Brilliant Life

Across six novels set in the same brutal, ruthless post-apocalyptic fantasy world, Mark Lawrence proved himself to be a master of darkness, creating works...
Mind Meld: The “Unlikable” Characters We Love

mind meld

Mind Meld: The “Unlikable” Characters We Love

We often get articles and think pieces discussing unlikable characters as though they were a detriment to the story. Personally, I love a flawed character....
The Moon and the Other Offers a Bold Vision of the Future, and the Present

future classic

The Moon and the Other Offers a Bold Vision of the Future, and the Present

Even for science fiction writers, predicting the future is never a safe bet. But whether it works out that way or not, I’d like to make a bid for...
Orbital Cloud Sets a New Standard for Sci-Fi Spy Adventures

competence porn

Orbital Cloud Sets a New Standard for Sci-Fi Spy Adventures

Quick confession time: growing up, I wanted to be MacGyver. Every episode of the show, I thrilled at seeing how he’d escape a life-threatening puzzle...
The Malice Is A Post-Apocalyptic Fantasy Road Trip Not to Be Missed

girls who stare at goats

The Malice Is A Post-Apocalyptic Fantasy Road Trip Not to Be Missed

The Malice is the sequel to Peter Newman’s The Vagrant, picking up the story about 12 years later. It’s about a girl named Vesper, who grew up in...
Corporate Intrigue Meets Space Bikers in Hunger Makes the Wolf

stay hungry my friends

Corporate Intrigue Meets Space Bikers in Hunger Makes the Wolf

Growing up, I always read more horror and fantasy than science fiction, but my favorite movies were always sci-fi. Alex Wells’ debut novel Hunger Makes...
Mind Meld: Fresh Perspectives on Common Tropes

mind meld

Mind Meld: Fresh Perspectives on Common Tropes

Italo Calvino wrote, “Wherever humanity seems condemned to heaviness, I think I should fly like Perseus into a different space. I don’t mean escaping...
Introducing the Salam Award for Imaginative Fiction, Honoring Pakistani SFF

a new hope

Introducing the Salam Award for Imaginative Fiction, Honoring Pakistani SFF

Today’s announcement of “The Salam Award for Imaginative Fiction” marks an exciting moment for Pakistan’s speculative fiction writers, and for...
Mind Meld: Alternate Histories We Love

mind meld

Mind Meld: Alternate Histories We Love

Alternate history can be a thrilling, but daunting, subgenre of science fiction, fantasy, and horror to dive into; there are seemingly endless possible...

Follow B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy