Post Tagged with:book reviews
Searching for Magic with Hafsah Faizal’s Spellbinding We Hunt the Flame

debut novels

Searching for Magic with Hafsah Faizal’s Spellbinding We Hunt the Flame

Arawiya is a kingdom without magic. Or, at least it is now. This is the land of Arawiya at the start of Hafsah Faizal’s debut novel, We Hunt the Flame....
Helena Fox’s How it Feels to Float Is a Stunning Debut that Refuses to be Pinned Down

book reviews

Helena Fox’s How it Feels to Float Is a Stunning Debut that Refuses to be Pinned Down

Just like its protagonist, Elizabeth “Biz” Grey, How It Feels to Float refuses to be categorized, which makes for a beautiful and truthful...
In With the Fire on High Elizabeth Acevedo Serves Up A Delicious Sophomore Novel

second coming

In With the Fire on High Elizabeth Acevedo Serves Up A Delicious Sophomore Novel

Anticipation for the sophomore effort from Elizabeth Acevedo—whose 2018 debut novel-in-verse, The Poet X, earned her the National Book Award—has been...
Navigating the Unthinkable in How to Make Friends with the Dark

the big suck

Navigating the Unthinkable in How to Make Friends with the Dark

Kathleen Glasgow’s books read to me like classic YA, richly detailed character studies that don’t shy away from dark topics, similar to beloved...
In Laini Taylor’s Muse of Nightmares, Grief, Godspawn, and Learning to Forgive

stunners

In Laini Taylor’s Muse of Nightmares, Grief, Godspawn, and Learning to Forgive

Are you ready to return to a world where guilt and grief are tied together in a never-ending circle, and every character’s dreams of love and...
A Dangerous World Grows Darker in A Reaper at the Gates

we are in the waiting (for book four) place

A Dangerous World Grows Darker in A Reaper at the Gates

The situation was grim from the start in the brutal Martial Empire Sabaa Tahir created in debut novel An Ember in the Ashes. This was a dark, bloody...
With Legendary, the Magic of Caraval Breaks Free

further up and further in

With Legendary, the Magic of Caraval Breaks Free

The second book in a fantasy series can be a tricky, elusive thing. It’s the second novel that’s charged with continuing and expanding upon the...
Marisha Pessl’s Neverworld Wake Is a Shape-Shifting Binge Read

genre pinata

Marisha Pessl’s Neverworld Wake Is a Shape-Shifting Binge Read

Some stories are all in the setup: what you need to know about their plot is in the teaser copy, and the pleasure is in watching the tale unfold. And some...
Mark Oshiro’s Debut Anger Is A Gift Delivers A Powerful Punch

in bloom

Mark Oshiro’s Debut Anger Is A Gift Delivers A Powerful Punch

Mark Oshiro’s much-hyped Anger Is A Gift is an intricately built but deceptively straightforward addition to the canon of novels addressing police...
Difficult Women Shine in Claire Legrand’s Furyborn

there will be blood queen

Difficult Women Shine in Claire Legrand’s Furyborn

Fans of Daughter of Smoke & Bone and The Mortal Instruments rejoice: there are new angels on the block. But the angels in Claire Legrand’s Furyborn,...
In Final Draft and All of This Is True, Writing Is Dangerous

poison pens

In Final Draft and All of This Is True, Writing Is Dangerous

Riley Redgate’s Final Draft is not your typical contemporary novel about an aspiring writer. Laila Piedra is a half-white, half-Ecuadorian girl from New...
Justina Ireland’s Dread Nation Packs a Punch

after the plague

Justina Ireland’s Dread Nation Packs a Punch

In Justina Ireland’s Dread Nation, the dead have risen from the Civil War battlefields to walk again—but they’re not the greatest threat to the...

Follow B&N Teen Blog