Science Fiction & Fantasy

The Best Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books 2021

Fantasy and Sci-Fi readers have had a banner year of exciting releases, and we’ve found ourselves curled up on more than one evening, gleefully diving into new fantastical worlds filled with mayhem and mesmerizing characters. From heartwarming love stories that transcend death to the blockbuster conclusions of multiple interstellar epics, these ten books delivered the perfect escape.

Under the Whispering Door (B&N Exclusive Edition) (B&N Speculative Fiction Book of the Year)

Under the Whispering Door (B&N Exclusive Edition) (B&N Speculative Fiction Book of the Year)

Hardcover $21.99 $26.99

Under the Whispering Door (B&N Exclusive Edition) (B&N Speculative Fiction Book of the Year)

TJ Klune

In Stock Online

Hardcover $21.99 $26.99

Under the Whispering Door (B&N Exclusive Edition)
TJ Klune
 We adore TJ Klune and his charming, big-hearted books. We have been waiting (a little impatiently, what can we say) for TJ’s latest release, another kind, compassionate and fun story. A delightfully quirky book about life, where Death itself is a character and a there lives a stubborn ghost who refuses to cross over to whatever is next. A little comfort and a lot of hope go a long way to warming our souls (our B&N Exclusive Edition includes the bonus feature, “A Reaper’s Guide”).

Under the Whispering Door (B&N Exclusive Edition)
TJ Klune
 We adore TJ Klune and his charming, big-hearted books. We have been waiting (a little impatiently, what can we say) for TJ’s latest release, another kind, compassionate and fun story. A delightfully quirky book about life, where Death itself is a character and a there lives a stubborn ghost who refuses to cross over to whatever is next. A little comfort and a lot of hope go a long way to warming our souls (our B&N Exclusive Edition includes the bonus feature, “A Reaper’s Guide”).

ExtraOrdinary (B&N Exclusive Edition)

ExtraOrdinary (B&N Exclusive Edition)

Hardcover $19.99 $24.99

ExtraOrdinary (B&N Exclusive Edition)

V. E. Schwab

In Stock Online

Hardcover $19.99 $24.99

ExtraOrdinary (B&N Exclusive Edition)
V. E. Schwab
Set in the intervening time between Vicious and Vengeful, this graphic novel is perfect for fans of Schwab’s Villain’s duology, but also for readers new to her beloved body of work.  A stunningly illustrated thriller that transcends genre, this villain’s story is a must-own (our B&N Exclusive Edition features an exclusive cover, exclusive interview with V.E. Schwab, bonus endpapers, and behind the scenes material with commentary … all copies are signed).

ExtraOrdinary (B&N Exclusive Edition)
V. E. Schwab
Set in the intervening time between Vicious and Vengeful, this graphic novel is perfect for fans of Schwab’s Villain’s duology, but also for readers new to her beloved body of work.  A stunningly illustrated thriller that transcends genre, this villain’s story is a must-own (our B&N Exclusive Edition features an exclusive cover, exclusive interview with V.E. Schwab, bonus endpapers, and behind the scenes material with commentary … all copies are signed).

Child of Light

Child of Light

Hardcover $22.99 $28.00

Child of Light

Terry Brooks

In Stock Online

Hardcover $22.99 $28.00

Child of Light 
Terry Brooks
The first in a post-Shannara series from one of the bestselling fantasy authors of all time, Child of Light is a brand-new entry from the prolific Terry Brooks. Filled to the brim with humans, goblins, and fae, this novel will bring joy to both Brooks’ fans and new readers.

Child of Light 
Terry Brooks
The first in a post-Shannara series from one of the bestselling fantasy authors of all time, Child of Light is a brand-new entry from the prolific Terry Brooks. Filled to the brim with humans, goblins, and fae, this novel will bring joy to both Brooks’ fans and new readers.

Empire of the Vampire (B&N Exclusive Edition)

Empire of the Vampire (B&N Exclusive Edition)

Hardcover $29.99

Empire of the Vampire (B&N Exclusive Edition)

Jay Kristoff

In Stock Online

Hardcover $29.99

Empire of the Vampire (B&N Exclusive Edition)
Jay Kristoff
Jay Kristoff completely delivers an epic new world: one where humans, who haven’t yet seen sunlight in nearly three decades, are besieged by vampires. This series starter will have readers invested from the first chapter, following Gabriel, the one complicated man who just might be able to save the world (our beautiful B&N Exclusive Edition includes an alternate cover and 4-color endpapers featuring exquisite art of four scenes from the book, and is signed).

Empire of the Vampire (B&N Exclusive Edition)
Jay Kristoff
Jay Kristoff completely delivers an epic new world: one where humans, who haven’t yet seen sunlight in nearly three decades, are besieged by vampires. This series starter will have readers invested from the first chapter, following Gabriel, the one complicated man who just might be able to save the world (our beautiful B&N Exclusive Edition includes an alternate cover and 4-color endpapers featuring exquisite art of four scenes from the book, and is signed).

Lore Olympus: Volume One (B&N Exclusive Edition)

Lore Olympus: Volume One (B&N Exclusive Edition)

Hardcover $21.49 $26.99

Lore Olympus: Volume One (B&N Exclusive Edition)

Rachel Smythe

In Stock Online

Hardcover $21.49 $26.99

Lore Olympus: Volume One (B&N Exclusive Edition)
Rachel Smythe
The webtoon sensation is finally in physical print, and it is a stunning celebration of one of the first love stories ever told. With her trademark wit and exquisite art, Rachel Smythe tackles the complicated relationship and origin story between Hades, god of the Underworld, and his beloved Persephone. We already cannot wait for book two (our B&N Exclusive Edition features original artwork depicting Hades and Persephone on the jacket).

Lore Olympus: Volume One (B&N Exclusive Edition)
Rachel Smythe
The webtoon sensation is finally in physical print, and it is a stunning celebration of one of the first love stories ever told. With her trademark wit and exquisite art, Rachel Smythe tackles the complicated relationship and origin story between Hades, god of the Underworld, and his beloved Persephone. We already cannot wait for book two (our B&N Exclusive Edition features original artwork depicting Hades and Persephone on the jacket).

Leviathan Falls (Expanse Series #9)

Leviathan Falls (Expanse Series #9)

Hardcover $23.99 $30.00

Leviathan Falls (Expanse Series #9)

James S. A. Corey

In Stock Online

Hardcover $23.99 $30.00

Leviathan Falls (Expanse Series #9)
James S. A. Corey
The Expanse, the series that started one decade ago chock-full of novels and novellas, reaches its spectacular conclusion for the battle to save human life in the face of complete annihilation. In this action-packed and emotional conclusion, readers will find themselves asking: is the price of victory worth it? We’ve been waiting two years to find out and it is finally here.

Leviathan Falls (Expanse Series #9)
James S. A. Corey
The Expanse, the series that started one decade ago chock-full of novels and novellas, reaches its spectacular conclusion for the battle to save human life in the face of complete annihilation. In this action-packed and emotional conclusion, readers will find themselves asking: is the price of victory worth it? We’ve been waiting two years to find out and it is finally here.

Lesser Evil (B&N Exclusive Edition) (Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy Trilogy #3)

Lesser Evil (B&N Exclusive Edition) (Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy Trilogy #3)

Hardcover $22.99 $28.99

Lesser Evil (B&N Exclusive Edition) (Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy Trilogy #3)

Timothy Zahn

In Stock Online

Hardcover $22.99 $28.99

Lesser Evil (B&N Exclusive Edition) (Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy Trilogy #3)
Timothy Zahn
The astoundingly epic finale that throws Thrawn, one of the most cunning and ruthless warriors in the history of the Galactic Empire, into the final struggle to save the Ascendancy. Star Wars fans, and fans of amazing writing with high stakes and superb character building, rejoice (our B&N Exclusive Edition features a double-sided poster).

Lesser Evil (B&N Exclusive Edition) (Star Wars: Thrawn Ascendancy Trilogy #3)
Timothy Zahn
The astoundingly epic finale that throws Thrawn, one of the most cunning and ruthless warriors in the history of the Galactic Empire, into the final struggle to save the Ascendancy. Star Wars fans, and fans of amazing writing with high stakes and superb character building, rejoice (our B&N Exclusive Edition features a double-sided poster).

Light From Uncommon Stars

Light From Uncommon Stars

Hardcover $21.99 $25.99

Light From Uncommon Stars

Ryka Aoki

In Stock Online

Hardcover $21.99 $25.99

Light From Uncommon Stars
Ryka Aoki
A Faustian bargain takes center stage in this wholly original fantasy that features a young trans girl protagonist trading her soul for success. At its heart, this is a story of identity and found family filled with lush prose, music, romance, and donuts. Perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab and N.K. Jemisin.

Light From Uncommon Stars
Ryka Aoki
A Faustian bargain takes center stage in this wholly original fantasy that features a young trans girl protagonist trading her soul for success. At its heart, this is a story of identity and found family filled with lush prose, music, romance, and donuts. Perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab and N.K. Jemisin.

A Marvellous Light

A Marvellous Light

Hardcover $22.49 $27.99

A Marvellous Light

Freya Marske

In Stock Online

Hardcover $22.49 $27.99

A Marvellous Light
Freya Marske
 For those of us waiting on the next season of Bridgerton (who also love a good dose of spells and treachery), this is the absolute perfect Edwardian adventure to fill the void … and then some. The first in a series from newcomer Freya Marske, A Marvellous Light is an astoundingly fun and beautifully written debut full of enchanted libraries and underground magicians. A gem.

A Marvellous Light
Freya Marske
 For those of us waiting on the next season of Bridgerton (who also love a good dose of spells and treachery), this is the absolute perfect Edwardian adventure to fill the void … and then some. The first in a series from newcomer Freya Marske, A Marvellous Light is an astoundingly fun and beautifully written debut full of enchanted libraries and underground magicians. A gem.

The Last Graduate (Scholomance Series #2)

The Last Graduate (Scholomance Series #2)

Hardcover $21.99 $28.00

The Last Graduate (Scholomance Series #2)

Naomi Novik

In Stock Online

Hardcover $21.99 $28.00

The Last Graduate (Scholomance Series #2)
Naomi Novik
Fans of Dark Academia! Our favorite supremely sarcastic sorceress and supposed harbinger of death, returns in the second installment of the bestselling Scholomance series. Novik ups the stakes as she adds to her stunning world-building, intriguing characters, and will-they-or-won’t-they relationship with this first-in-class novel. You’ll want to follow Galadriel straight through this insane school and right into the third volume … we were also thrilled to catch up with author Naomi Novik on Poured Over: The B&N Podcast.

The Last Graduate (Scholomance Series #2)
Naomi Novik
Fans of Dark Academia! Our favorite supremely sarcastic sorceress and supposed harbinger of death, returns in the second installment of the bestselling Scholomance series. Novik ups the stakes as she adds to her stunning world-building, intriguing characters, and will-they-or-won’t-they relationship with this first-in-class novel. You’ll want to follow Galadriel straight through this insane school and right into the third volume … we were also thrilled to catch up with author Naomi Novik on Poured Over: The B&N Podcast.