365 Penguins

365 Penguins

Hardcover(TRANSLATION)

$18.68 $19.95 Save 6% Current price is $18.68, Original price is $19.95. You Save 6%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

365 Penguins 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
ccctex More than 1 year ago
I first heard of this book when it was featured on T.V. a few years ago --on the CBS Sunday Morning show. I've been eagerly waiting for someone to give it to and finally my nephew is ready for it! This is a wonderful, fun story that will delight a variety of ages. Hilarity ensues when penguins are delivered one by one to someone's home. It's fun finding "Chilly" in the illustrations -- the only penguin with blue feet. The book also involves math and other problems to solve (how much food do they need, what size cages, etc.) which will additionally engage older children. In the end, the mystery of why they have so many penguins is solved, the penguins find another home and on the last page, just when things are getting back to normal, another box is delivered containing 1 polar bear. Oh,oh! Here we go again! Only available on line as far as I know...wish the stores carried it in their stock. Book is larger than average -- not thick, but in outside dimensions -- 11" x 14" size. I will definitely give this book again!
pica7pica on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I give this book 5 starts mainly for the illustrations, done by Joelle Jolivet. The story is amusing too, with lessons in math, the difficulties of penguin storage and feeding, etc. However, without the illustrations, I'm not sure that I would love this book this much.
raizel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Cute, oversized book with math concepts (factoring, cubing, calculating costs, adding) that control the chaos only until the next box with a penguin arrives. Blue, orange and black (and hence brown) make colorful, 50s-modern art. When Chilly arrives, start looking for blue feet among the penguins. Children enjoy this book.
rjmcwhorter1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not only is this book cute and well illustrated, but it contains multiple math lessons. I think it would be excellent to read and interact with students using it, encouraging them to do the math equations amongst each other.
CamilaDeVeau on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Summary: On New Year¿s Day, a penguin is dropped off at a family¿s front door with no other instructions other than to feed him. There is no return address and nothing that shows where he came from. A penguin arrives in a package at their front door every day for 365 days. As the family travels through the year, they work through math problems to figure out how much food is necessary, where to put the penguins, and how to keep them together. Throughout the story, the family gets more and more frustrated with the large amount of penguins and the lack of understanding who is sending them the penguins and why. Will they figure out what to do with all the penguins? And who is sending them?Teaching Implications: 365 Penguins has a lot of different things to offer to teachers and classrooms. First of all, the book is a larger book that would be easier to read to a classroom. There are only four colors in the book: orange, blue, black, and white. One teaching implication could be to talk about the author¿s purpose in only using those four colors and why those colors specifically. The story has quite a few math problems and could be read to the class to teach addition, multiplication, and division. It could also be used in a class discussion or creative writing project on what they would do if this happened to them, if they were sent 365 penguins. How would this disrupt their world? The class could also discuss what they would like to have 365 of, if they could wish for the same thing to be sent to them every day for a year, what would it be?
ezwicky on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great illustrations in simple blocks of color. A penguin is delivered every day, and the family wonders who is sending them and does math to figure out what to do with them. The illustrations and the story are gripping, all is explained in the end, and then there is an ominous twist...
missbrandysue on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Starting on New Years Day a penguin is delivered every day to a family. It begins as something innocent but a few months into it there are way too many penguins in the household. The family soon learns that the uncle is sending one a day to help rescue them from Antarctica as the environment is changing drastically there.A cute book. I think it could teach a range of subjects including economy (how do you afford all the supplies to take care of the penguins), math (they let you figure out the total on some pages), and other ways you have to take care of a pet. I think my second graders will really enjoy this book!
elkeursin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a great book to teach math to kids in a fun way. I really liked it, but it was way beyond my 11-month old's math skills. :)
sdittmar More than 1 year ago
My 4 year old got this for her birthday and it is her favorite book. She loves Chilly and I love that she is introduced to math concepts.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ammh More than 1 year ago
My 8 year old and 2 year old love this book. It is wonderful for practicing counting and grouping, and they love trying to find "Chilly" on each page! (he has blue feet!) We give it as a gift all the time!