The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Powerful Lessons in Personal Change

The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People: Powerful Lessons in Personal Change

by Stephen R. Covey

Paperback(Updated)

$15.95 View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The 7 Habits Of Highly Effective People 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 161 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For a personal change book, I found it rather a hard read. The book to me is, well, complicated. The seven habits make sense and all, but the whole process seems to involve making layers of change, with each layer being a whole book in itself. Not a very quick read, and I'm not saying its not worthwhile and all, it's more a book that you have to be willing to work with. Readers who like less sophisticated personal change books might enjoy The Sixty-Second Motivator.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good info to know and learn from.
headhurts More than 1 year ago
Very good info. Wish I had purchased this book when it was first published.
Brett-Vanderwater More than 1 year ago
This book is a great read to keep on track and effectively work through professional and personal challenges. Brett Vanderwater, MBA, CIA, CMA, CTP
RI_Pete More than 1 year ago
This book offers a way of thinking and acting without taking a political or religious stance. It is well researched and the author gives excellent examples from his own life. A great gift for graduates but read it yourself first.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Not that I'm an expert on the subject, but I'm guessing that this isn't your typical success book. In many ways it's a general purpose psychology book, dealing with such things as motivation, organizational skills, and how to deal with stress. It's chock full of seemingly unique information, and interesting quotes and tidbits. For example, it states 'Management is efficiency in climbing the ladder of success. Leadership determines whether the ladder is leaning against the right wall.' The book isn't boring or repetitive, and is written in a pleasing, conversational manner. Everyone should give this a read, not just those interested in business success.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have had trouble trying to agree with many authors that seem to believe that their views will solve all the world's problems. They try to fit everyone into categories and say what should be done within each group. Covey, on the other hand, gave some real virtues that will help anyone to better themselves and their relationships with others. I loved the reading as well.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Excellent
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Title says it all
temsmail on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is the main text of a secular religion. Stephen Covey is/was a practicing Mormon; this, however, is his personal religion and faith. Reading his preface, Covey says that the more he practices his own principles, the more he realizes that he has not actually put his own principles into practice. This is a religion of salvation by works, though Covey does not say that in so many words. On page 11, Covey wrote that the ultimate source of his principles is God.I say this is a secular religion because there are scant references to God or Scripture, but each principle is referred to as an ultimate principle. A Jew, Muslim, Hindu, Mormon, Catholic, Unitarian, or Baptist could all equally practice Covey's principles without equivocation. So, the principles are useful insofar as they are also utilitarian; Covey's ideas are dangerous insofar as they place human effort above God's Sovereignty and Grace. There is no mercy here, only work and self effort.Be careful reading and implementing the principles of this books to not lose sight of Whose we are, and Who is really in control.
jahn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
There¿s some advice here for Christian businessmen on how to become more Christian and robotic, but mostly it is just self-praise by the author. Trashy, very ¿ but with a quite fancy title. Book starts with 6 pages of accolades, invariably from other self-help authors. I¿m used to that, having bought a few ¿how to write¿ books and through this come to realize that self-help authors are a close-knit community (who do not differ in what little advice they offer, only in type of encouragement), but it still looks odd in a book that has sold 15 mil.
Clueless on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
SO during our skiing holiday I was locked in a room with only one book. It was Stephen Covey's The 7 habits of Highly Effective People. Once again I am probably the last person on the planet to have read this popular book."natural laws cannot be broken. It is impossible for us to break the law. We can only break ourselves against the law.'"How many times have I seen this with fitness and nutrition? People trying to coerce their body into doing something it is incapable of. So much better to work with you body's natural laws to coax it into doing what you want it to, to the best of it's ability. I also got two more of his books. After reading 'First things first', I keep asking myself, 'am I trading doing something good for doing something better?'I find it depressing that these books expounding boyscout virtues had to be written at all. Don't people already know this stuff?Favorite quotes:Suppose you¿ve been having trouble with your eyes and you decide to go to an optometrist for help. After briefly listening to your complaint, he takes off his glasses and hands them to you.¿Put these on,¿ he says. ¿I¿ve worn this pair of glasses for ten years now and they¿ve really helped me. I have an extra pair at home; you can wear these.¿So you put then on, but it only makes the problem worse.¿This is terrible!¿ you exclaim. ¿I can¿t see a thing!¿¿Well what¿s wrong?¿ he asks. ¿They work great for me. Try harder.¿¿I am trying,¿ you insist. ¿Everything is a blur.¿¿Well, what¿s the matter with you? Think positively.¿¿Okay. I positively can¿t see a thing.¿¿Boy, are you ungrateful! he chides.¿ ¿And after all I¿ve done to help you!¿What are the chances you¿d go back to that optometrist the next time you needed help? Not very good, I would imagine. You don¿t have much confidence in someone who doesn¿t diagnose before he or she prescribes.But how often do we diagnose before we prescribe in communication?
micheaun on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Excellent book!!! A book that will change the way you work and operate in general.
bsanner on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Offering a "principles-centered" approach to leadership, Covey provides a mostly anecdotal account of the character and task of the effective leader. Covey highlights seven habits central to personal change: (1) be proactive; (2) begin with the end in mind; (3) put first things first; (4) think win/win; (5) seek first to understand, then to be understood; (6) synergize; (7) sharpen the saw. A useful and necessary, if at times clichéd, overview of character-driven leadership. B+
Cherilnc on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is simply amazing. I'm even inclined to say that I enjoyed it more than "Think and Grow Rich," which I thought was impossible to beat. I highly recommend it. Full of wisdom, insights on family values, personal leadership and so much more, this book should be required reading for all.
Todonnell525 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
There is much more to this book and the series of books than I first thought. I thought it was a bundle of cliches and ignored the work required to develop all of the ideas into actual habits, used daily and in all circumstances. I have a lot of work to do on this package.
pavelm on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book started a transformation in my life. I look at the world with a different set of eyes now thanks to that book.
MommaBroom on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful self-help book with a Christian focus. But even if you are not Christian, the basic concepts are still worthwhile. Covey requires you to really look inside yourself and discipline yourself. I could only read the book in short spurts because he makes you THINK!! And not only think, but to apply these concepts takes serious focus and determination.
thewalkinggirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I can't take any more. Yes, despite how little effort this takes to read, it's DNF.Maybe because all the good ideas have already been stolen by other books and leadership seminars I've been to?Maybe because so much of it seems like the author took a lot of techniques and discrete skills, understood that they need to be tied together and the closest tie he could identify was character? It feels looking at a puzzle after someone put it together in the dark: all I can see are the missing and misplaced pieces and it distracts me from the whole.Also, it's a lot more Jesus-y than I was expecting. Which I could deal with, if the rest of it was better, but it's not, so... I'm done. That said, if you like Jesus-y stuff, you might like this entire thing more than I did.
bbrown1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
great book, really helped me realize i could take better control of my life
apartmentcarpet on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book is always a good one to re-read. The habits are really common sense, but sometimes you need to sit down and remember them.
maine-iac on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I have had this book on my reading list for a while. This books has been a valuable catalyst in my personal development. On one hand there is very little that is shocking. As the author freely admits, he does not consider the principles that these habits embody to be his, but universal. While I think most people will find an innate understanding of each of these habits, Stephen Covey is blessed with an ability to clearly explain them in a way that will help you grow if you chose to follow them.You do not have to be unhappy with your life, job or marriage to find benefit in this book. What the book helped me with was to make clear to where I needed to improve. Although Stephen Covey is a religious man, he had written the book in such a way that can be approached and understood by anyone from the atheist, to the agnostic and the religious man.I would highly recommend this book for anyone looking for a direction or approach to give their life more mean and purpose.
bookbizmom on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great book. Learn a lot about being a better business person AND a better person in general.
david7466 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The seven habits are universal and applicable not only at work, but also at home. They deserve reading and re-reading year after year. The only problem I have with the author is that some of the stories told are simply too neat and perfect, and they leave the reader feeling just a bit as if they are being talked down to. The whole "clean and green" story just seems to have been enhanced, and is told with such extreme detail you simply want it to end.
sandrafelker on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Over the almost 10 years that I've owned this book, I've started it about 4 times. I am proud to say that earlier this week, I can finally say that I have completed it! Overall, I thought the book has invaluable concepts and advice to all people, regardless of industry and occupation. However, as I¿ve been reading Covey's book, I can¿t help but make parallels to other business books and concepts that I¿ve been exposed to over the years. I feel that Stephen Covey¿s ideas are the ¿Effectiveness 1.0¿ and that many of the other business books and theories have borrowed and expanded upon his original concepts. This is a great book for anyone to read or at least become familiar with the concepts so that they can lead better more efficient lives.