A Thousand Letters Home: One WWII Soldier's Story of War, Love and Life

A Thousand Letters Home: One WWII Soldier's Story of War, Love and Life

by Teresa K. Irish

Paperback

$19.80 $22.00 Save 10% Current price is $19.8, Original price is $22. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Thousand Letters Home: One WWII Soldier's Story of War, Love and Life 4.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Krissy55 More than 1 year ago
This was a fantastic read. I was at my library and just happened to glance at the book and was intrigued just by the cover, as I flipped it over to read I couldn't read it fast enough. I brought it home and was hooked. The way Bud speaks to his wife, Elaine through his letters is so sweet. His faith, his honor, his dedication to not only his sweetheart and his family but his country as well along with his compassion shows through every letter. I was honored to meet Teresa in person at our local library and she is just as sweet as I thought she would be. I was moved by the faith in this book and it proves that God does have his reasons and why's though we may not know them at the time. This is a book that will stay with me and one that I will recommend. What a great legacy for their family....today will be a great day!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The World War II generation is often referred to as the "Greatest Generation". It is not hard to see why when reading the wartime letters home from Bud Irish. He epitomizes everything one can imagine about that generation. His honesty, integrity, faith, bravery and remarkable character shine through in each and every letter. This intimate look into the life of an "ordinary" U.S. solider reveals a depth of character and passion that is truly extraordinary. I find myself humbled with a newfound respect for all of the citizen soldiers who left their lives behind and risked everything for something bigger than themselves. We would all do well to use Bud Irish as a role model. I highly recommend this book.
Joseph_Nickless More than 1 year ago
An excellent read. This book tells the story that may realate to other WWII families and what they went through. This was truly the greatest generation. The book was put together so well and the stories are truly amazing. The books shows the courage and strength our men and women displayed during the war. You could easily pick up this book and not set it down until you arrive at the final page.
Michaelinfla More than 1 year ago
This book is better than any fictional story could be. The love, courage and innocence of a young boy becoming a man through his experiences in war is truly a remarkable story. I didn't think I would get as drawn in as I did but I couldn't wait to pick it up and continue reading. It's a story for all generations to read and appreciate the sacrifices made by those who serve and fight for the freedoms that we all enjoy. Thank you "Bud" and all of the men and women who help keep us free. God bless you all and God Bless America!
LMVet More than 1 year ago
As you read through the pages you can’t help but think about your own parents and grandparents. Such difficult times and yet they emerged so strong, stoic and united. Makes you want to search the attic in hopes of finding similar lost treasures. "Mature" readers will need a tissue, but for good tears brought on by an overwhelming feeling of love and gratitude, especially for the veterans who are no longer with you. As a young reader, this provides a unique and amazing insight into American and world history. You'll find yourself picking it up and randomly revisiting letters even after you've finished it! Great read. Write a handwritten letter to someone you love today!
MaryRMR More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed reading Bud Irish's letters written during his military life during WWII. His absolute faith and love for his family and future wife is wonderful to see. His daughter, Teresa, did an amazing job in bringing this book to life.
Warren0 More than 1 year ago
Teriffic story. A wonderful and intimate depiction of life and a young man growing and maturing. From leaving home for bootcamp to seeing new parts of the USA to seeing, perhaps, more of the world than he wanted in Europe. His committment to faith never waivered and maybe saved him. Happy to sad to brave to lonely in his own words. Very moving
Richard-SRS More than 1 year ago
My wife gave me this book to read - I didn't think I would be that interested, but I couldn't put it down. Rather than reading it in bits and pieces, I read the entire book on a weekend (didn't get much done around the house!). It has everything - war, love, family - quite a story. Thanks, Ms. Irish, for documenting the story of these beautiful lives. Your father would be proud of you.
Robert_Baile_in_BF More than 1 year ago
This book is a fantastic read that I found myself taking my time reading which odd for me because I usually don't do. Usually with a good book I find read it very quickly. I didn't want this book to end. The letters from Mr Irish to his fiancee, and the future Mrs Irish. The other letters to his parents and the most touching letters to and from his parents buddies who died in WWII. The most touching in the end of the book telling what happened with this wonderful couple. It made me appreciate everyone who went to war for our company and gave time in there life's so we can be free and the ones who gave there life's. When ever I see a vet or a vet in uniform I always that them thank them. Thank you to all of them whom have served. This book REALLY opened my eyes and still go through it and read letters. The people who really need to read it are the people who have had a loved one at war. Defiantly get this one for your library.
SaraRB More than 1 year ago
This book has everything, history, love, faith, and war. "Bud" Irish was mature beyond his years as he endures years seperated from his loved ones. His faith,love, and positiive attitude is unwaivering as he endures the trials of war and seperation. I bought this book for co-workers and my parents.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As the daughter of a deceased WWII veteran, I found great comfort in reading as if these letters were written by my own father. Thank you.
Maetis More than 1 year ago
A Thousand Letters Home is a terrific book that captivated me on many levels. These letters provide an intimate look into the experiences of Aarol "Bud" Irish and his closest family and friends. They track his feelings and his thoughts from his earliest days reporting for Army duty to the very eve of his coming home from the European theater. They chart hope and despair, happiness and fear, with underlying threads of optimism and hope and love present throughout the way. Readers will literally read how quickly Bud grows up in the pages of this book and how he and those closet to him form life-long bonds as they experience the war in different ways. It felt like a privilege to follow such personal journeys. These letters are also valuable as social documents for what it was like for many Americans during the early and mid 40s. From everything to rationing and censorship to social dance customs and the invaluable place of letter-writing during this time, the reader gets an excellent sense of what it was like to wake up and be alive in the United States and in its Army during this crucial moment in our nation’s history. For historians and aficionados of WWII and American society, there is a treasure trove of observations here. I highly recommend this book both as a historian and as a human being. It is touching and captivating. Like me, I’m sure you’ll have trouble putting it down once you begin. Bud’s journey is a remarkable one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very unique and special book. You might think "who wants to read someone else's letters?". But wait until you see it - it's so much more than that. When I first got the book, I read it from cover to cover and could hardly put it down. Now I keep coming back to it and reading a few pages almost every day. It's very uplifting and inspirational, and almost always brings a tear to my eye. The letters are so vibrant and alive, you really feel like you get to know Bud Irish. He's so observant and includes so many details of his experiences, observations, thoughts, and feelings. Between his letters and all the historical notes, photographs, and other documents, you get a very vivid, first-hand picture of what it was like to live through that time. I really like the fresh, pure, wholesome feeling that I get from reading it - it's a view into old-fashioned small-town American values, almost like walking into a Norman Rockwell painting! Every American should read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WHAT A BEAUTIFUL EMOTIONAL RIDE. I remember waiting for a letter from VietNam to hear the slightest little detail of each day. How wonderful to have all of this in writing as a keepsake. Everyone should read this book as a tribute to our veterans and those still fighting. From Days Gone By
ArmyGuy More than 1 year ago
As someone who was in the army and away from loved ones, I can relate to all the emotions in this book. The fact that these letters were written in some of the most difficult situations imaginable, makes it even more touching. Love all the references to "Hit Parade!"
MichGirl70 More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book about a difficult time. Made me happy and sad at the same time. I wanted more!
Carol_S60 More than 1 year ago
What a wonderful story! I became so engrossed that I forgot about the world around me. Thanks for adding the last several chapters - I wanted to know how life played out for these two sweet people and it warmed my heart.