Songcatcher

Songcatcher

4.1 9

CD

$14.94 $17.99 Save 17% Current price is $14.94, Original price is $17.99. You Save 17%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Use Express Shipping for guaranteed delivery by December 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Songcatcher 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Maybe I misheard. But this was not the movie's soundtrack. The treatment was modernized and was tolerable. But the changes took some of the guts and heart out of many of the songs. A few, however, still shine through.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I don't think that what you are showing available is the ORIGINAL soundtrack from the movie that I have watched , with pure delight,numerous times on TV. Was there an original soundtrack made available and if so where might I purchase it. Thank You
Guest More than 1 year ago
Having just seen the movie, I quickly started to look for the music of my own youth. The truth from the folks who were born to it with melodies washing over them constantly from cradle to grave. Tears of truth and roots of real love and wonderment of their hearts live forever in their songs.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Most of the singers sounded authentic, not trained voices,but telling the stories with feeling. If Emmy Rossum does not have a CD out with "Barbara Allen" and others, she should. The character, Earl, was a surprise when he awoke from being knocked out and sang the first verse of "A Conversation With Death". Some of the accents were authentic, but the young man who worked for the school, and who ultimately burned the school, used a non-mountain accent, especially noticed when he said, "Where'd you get that fancy thing?" To earn her Oscar in "CoalMiner's Daughter", Sissy Spacek spent a lot of time with Loretta Lynn and learned the accent. She only made one blunder, which surprised me that it was allowed to pass, when she said, "They just die. They all die." These characters would have sounded more realistic if they learned the southern mountain way of pronouncing vowels.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a piece of history. Music gets your hands clappin' and feet moving. The movie and sound track are fantastic. Not being a ''blue grass'' listener, the music moves you into a different time; a relaxed, not rushed time; a simpler time. Pure enjoyment.
Guest More than 1 year ago
City slickers and hillbillies alike will love these songs sung in the Appalachian style ;-) Many of them are old English folk songs that came to America with the settlers and the narratives differ so much from lyrics penned today it's just plain fun to hear them, plus the female vocals will blow you away. So real, so powerful, so good - these women don't need a studio filled with sound engineers to make up for starved anorexic voices.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This CD sends the listener back to the days of pure, simple, expressive music. It's a joy to listen to and a great relaxation tool.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The emergence of ''O Brother Where Art Thou'' made me fall in love with that which I always considered ''country music for hayseeds and hillbillies''. I completed fell in love with bluegrass. The soundtrack to ''Songcatcher'' has the same appeal as ''O Brother'', with mainly female artists. It hasn't left my CD player since I purchased it. Although the version of ''O Death'' doesn't hold a candle to the version on the OBWAT soundtrack, I highly recommend ''Songcatcher''. I especially adore track # 6, ''Wayfarin' Stranger'' by Maria McKee. What a voice!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago