A Baxter Family Christmas

A Baxter Family Christmas

by Karen Kingsbury

Hardcover

$19.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, May 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Baxter Family Christmas: A Novel 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
GratefulGrandma 11 months ago
Believe it or not, even though this is the 24th book in the Baxter Family series, I read this without reading any others. There is enough background information given that I had no problem following the story. In a previous book, Erin Baxter, her husband and 2 of her 3 children were killed in a horrendous car accident. She was a donor, so her heart was transplanted into Kendra Bryant. A non-Christian woman, who is experiencing marital problems, she is trying to decide if she wants to meet the Baxters once she is invited by John Baxter. While Kendra is dealing with this, Erin's sister is also trying to determine if she wants to meet Kendra. She has adopted Erin's surviving child and has determined that it would be too hard for her. In another storyline, Maddie West has met a boy she likes and is struggling with her feelings. She feels guilty about an accident her sister had when she was young and was left brain damaged. Maddie thinks it is unfair for her to have a relationship when her sister never will. Karen Kingsbury has written a good story. She knows how to write to get people invested in her story. This is a Christian story and both the Baxter and Flannigan families are true believers. They pray for guidance, believe that God will provide for them and lead them in the right direction.This was a story about a Christmas Miracle based on faith, love, and understanding. I wish I had read others in this series, because these characters are ones I would like to get to know better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is absolutely one of t1he best Christmas books I have ever read. Karen wrote her best Baxter novel to date and it was nice to be back with the Baxter's I am waiting for the next Baxter Novel You will be blessed by reading this book.
lolly-pops More than 1 year ago
I'm going to be honest here and tell you that this is the first book in the Baxter Family Saga series I've ever read, I have read one or two Karen Kingsbury books, decided she's a stellar writer but I don't like to cry through my books so that pretty much was when I backed away. Then I saw the cover for A BAXTER FAMILY CHRISTMAS and it looked so inviting and welcoming and I had to read it. So, I did. At first I kind of felt like an unwelcome guest. I didn't know these people. I didn't care about them, and there I was sitting at their dining room table involved in a terribly intimate conversation about a heart transplant and how they'd like to meet the reciprocate. Wonderful. But that meant someone died. Who? Why? How? I did keep reading and I grew to care about the characters in this book (I probably won't go back and read the other books, but I enjoyed the time I spent with the Baxter family in this family saga. I especially liked the fledgling romance forming between two teens and how the Christmas Eve family gathering ended. Sweet. I got a copy of this book off Netgalley. All opinions are my own.
Blessed_and_Bewildered More than 1 year ago
A Baxter Family Christmas is a sweet clean read. A beautiful book to snuggle up with in front of the fireplace, the Christmas lights twinkling in the background, while you sip on a warm mug of hot cocoa (or my favorite… Russian tea). It is like reading a Hallmark movie. FYI… I mean that in the very best sense. I love Hallmark movies! Surprisingly, for as long as I have been reading Christian fiction, I have never read one of the books about the Baxter family. The odds of my having read one seem high since there are 25 books about the Baxters. Yep, 25 books (and it keeps on growing)! Yet somehow I completely missed out. My unfamiliarity with the Baxters didn’t detract from my enjoyment of the story at all. What it did was peak my interest in them. Maybe it is time for me to begin delving further into their story. If you want to join me, I have the Baxter family story, told throughout a number of series, listed out in order at the bottom of my post. It should keep you busy for awhile ;). I must send up a snow flurry to mess with this cozy scene. Like many other stories in this genre, Karen Kingsbury’s characters are just a wee bit too perfect. Everything that the characters want to have happened, happens. This Christmas gift is packaged just a bit too perfectly. Even so, I would recommend reading A Baxter Family Christmas (as long as you don't have a tendency to hold yourself up to fictional characters and then find yourself wanting... the author perfected them before placing them on the page... your author is perfecting you day by day). “For by one sacrifice he has made perfect forever those who are being made holy.” — Hebrews 10:14 NIV “Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” — Phillippians 3:12-14 Merry Christmas! As a reviewer for NetGalley, I received a review copy of this book in exchange for my honest and unbiased review. My thanks to the author and publisher. review by Zoe @ the blessed and bewildered blog
NanceeMarchinowski More than 1 year ago
I've read a number of the Baxter Family's early books, and this particular book still brings back character memories and events from the past. I found the first half or more of this particular book a bit slow and written for a younger audience in my estimation. I was somewhat surprised at that revelation since the earlier books in this series were very entertaining and a bit faster paced. Eventually the book reached a pivotal point that was so touching and sensitive that it brought me to tears more than once. This sensitivity continued through to the end of the book, and "wowed" me! The last third of the book is what I remember of Karen Kingsbury's earlier books. Don't give up on this one. There is much to absorb toward the end of this book! Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher and my review contains only my expressed opinions.
MelissaF More than 1 year ago
I loved meeting up with the Baxters again. I didn't read every series about them but I read at least two. It was great seeing where they were now. True to Karen's form I was crying as I read this book. She has a way of pulling on the heart-strings and bringing emotion to life. This is truly a beautiful Christmas story, that has everything one would look for in a good book. Redemption, romance, traditions. The power of God is woven throughout this book. If made me question how little I expect miracles to happen, but God is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow and He still does do supernatural things. If you are looking for a quick Christmas read I highly recommend this one. A copy of this book was given to me by Netgalley.com. All opinions are my own.
kristine-morgan More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed having this chance to visit with the Baxter family and their friends. It was fun to see what their holiday traditions are and to see that they have moved on to the point that they can remember the joy that Erin's family provided. Anyone who has followed the Baxters will welcome this visit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GrandaddyA More than 1 year ago
I was delighted to once again spend time with the Baxter family. I think what I love most about this family is following the patriarch, John Baxter, through his daily interactions with his family, seeing his wisdom and his shortcomings and the effect they have on his family. If you have read all of the books about this family and the series about Bailey Flanigan, whose family are friends of the Baxters, you have seen John leading in a quiet, gentle way throughout. Everyone in the family knows he is not perfect but they have immense confidence in and love for him. The other family members have all been impacted by his life and testimony. Like other families, they have had some wonderful times through the years but they have also faced tragedy together. Not the least of the tragedies was when Erin, the youngest daughter of John and Elizabeth Baxter, was killed in a terrible automobile accident along with her husband and three of their daughters. Only one daughter survived. Erin’s heart was donated to another young woman who was going to die without a new heart. As the Baxter family celebrates Thanksgiving together, talk turns to their annual Christmas Eve dinner and John makes a surprising announcement. I recommend you read the book to see how his announcement is received and how the different family members respond. Has John totally lost it this time? What lessons can be learned from the actions of the Baxter siblings? As you read, think about how your family would respond in a similar situation.
1parkerd More than 1 year ago
Very much enjoyed my visit with the Baxter family. I enjoy these books so much because they are real life situations. Just because you are saved, does not mean your entire life is roses everywhere and birds singing every time you open the door. Good things happen, bad things happen, life happens and the Baxter family just keeps growing. If you have never read Karen Kingsbury, you need to start.
faithsnana More than 1 year ago
I fell in love with the Baxter family years ago and was so excited to read their Christmas story. It did not disappoint. Christmas is not the same this year without the youngest daughter/sister Erin, her husband Sam, and three of their four children. Amy, at age ten, lost her parents and her three sisters in that horrible car accident. This Christmas presented a dilemma of sorts to the Baxter family. They always all got together for dinner on Christmas Eve. This year, John Baxter (patriarch of the family) wanted to meet the woman that had been given his daughter’s heart and invited her. At least two of the siblings were against that idea and insisted they wouldn’t attend. One of them was Ashley, the aunt Amy was living with. Ashley felt it would hurt Amy to have Kendra there. How does the family come to terms with this arrangement? Do they come to terms with it? Pick up a copy of this book…you’ll love the Baxters as much as I do! I was given this book by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review
bveinotte More than 1 year ago
Two years have passed since the terrible car accident that took the life of John Baxter’s daughter, Erin, her husband and three of their four daughters. Prompted by grief, and missing his daughter, John has invited a stranger for Christmas Eve dinner—Kendra Bryant, the transplant recipient who now has Erin’s heart. In light of their father’s idea, Ashley and her brother Luke don’t think it’s right. They want to protect their ten-year-old niece, Amy—the only surviving member of the accident. But John is determined and believes meeting this woman is something his deceased daughter would want. At the same time, Maddie West, the eighteen-year-old daughter of Brooke Baxter West, is praying for meaning this Christmas. Could she find it in a newfound friendship with a boy she never expected to see again? Maddie believes in miracles, especially at Christmastime, but this is a stretch even she can’t imagine. Meanwhile, Kendra Bryant has been struggling these past few years to find purpose in the tragedy that gave her a second chance. She believes the invitation to see the Baxters and witness their unwavering faith in God can instill peace and happiness back into her life. Heartwarming and touching, filled with love and redemption, A Baxter Family Christmas brings together two families in the aftermath of loss and in the midst of an unfolding love story, all with the help of one very special child. I have enjoyed reading all the previous books about the Baxter family. This was a very emotional story as well as a beautiful story of redemption, hope, forgiveness and joy. I recommend it as a heartwarming story full of love and tenderness, an excellent example of sharing faith with others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ChasRay0 More than 1 year ago
A Baxter Family Christmas is Karen Kingsbury's latest instalment in the Baxter Family saga. If you haven't read the other 23 Baxter books, don't worry! You can start right here and join the Baxter's for Christmas. I have no doubt however, after you read this one, you will be hooked and want to go back and read the others. Losing a loved one is never easy. Although the grief passes, you still feel a void even after years have past, especially around the holidays. What if, they were an organ donor and you had the opportunity to meet the recipient? To hear their heart beat one more time. Who wouldn't want that chance? John Baxter loves his family, but losing a daughter is hard. You're not supposed to outlive your childen it just isn't right. He's trying to come to grips with it, it's been a few years, but he just can't make peace. So, he reaches out to Kendra, the lady who received Erin's heart. He feels like meeting her and letting her meet the family might provide the healing they need for all of them to move on. He's kept in touch with Kendra and decides to invite her to the family's Christmas Eve celebration. He feels it's the right thing to do. Not everyone agrees with him. Some accuse him of being selfish while others respect and understand what he's trying to do. The Baxters have never spent a Christmas Eve apart, afterall Christmas is a time to celebrate the Savior's birth and for families to be together. Will this year be the exception? Maddie West is carrying a huge load of guilt over a pool accident that happened years ago. She has made a promise to herself that if Hayley can't have a "normal" life then she won't either. She never pauses to consider that God may have other plans in store for her, one of them being Connor Flanigan. She is committed to the promise she made and pushes away his attempts at friendship. I love Karen Kingsbury books and the way she makes the characters come to life and jump off the page and into your heart. This one is no different. I felt for John, how hard it must be to lose a child and simply desire to hold them one last time and say all the things you never got to say. And sweet little Amy, the only one to survive the family's wreck, desperately wanting to see her mom one last time. It's hard trying to hold onto the past while moving into the future. Sometimes the best you can do is put one foot in front of the the other, trusting God to take care of the rest. "For I know the plans I have for you," declares the Lord,"plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future." Jeremiah 29:11 * I was provided a free copy of this book. The opinions expressed above are my own.
SQuilty80 More than 1 year ago
Who else is addicted to Karen Kingsbury? Who else feels like they know the Baxters personally? Even if you have never read any of Karen's other books, you'll love the Baxter family from page 1 to the very last page. I read this book in two days. I loved every last minute of it.
SSMiller More than 1 year ago
The Baxter family has been a part of my reading life for a long time. I have read the entire series and am now listening to them on c.d. It was so nice to revisit the family and see what is going on. This is a great addition to the series; however, if you have never read any of these books you can start here. There is just enough explanation as to who and what that it helps catch you up, if you need a reminder or if you are new to the characters. This story was truly thought provoking on many levels but as usual the underlying story of family, faith and love come shining through. So glad to hear there will be more books in the series.
NicoS More than 1 year ago
In the latest Baxter family installment, the family is preparing to gather together for their traditional family Christmas. But John Baxter is pushing for the family to meet Kendra Bryant, the woman who received Erin Baxter’s heart after her fatal car crash. Unfortunately, not all the family agrees with him. And now, the Baxter family is divided. Will this be the first year that the family doesn’t celebrate Christmas together? Meanwhile, Maddie still struggles with guilt over her sister’s drowning accident years before. Can she receive the Christmas miracle she’s been praying for? Although this book can most definitely be read by somebody not familiar with the Baxter Family books, fans of Ms. Kingsbury’s Baxter Family series will not be disappointed with this latest installment. I was thrilled with all of the familiar characters in the book and how the story picks right up as if catching up with old friends. And even though I felt that the pace was a bit slow in some places, overall, the story was very good. Kingsbury truly has a way with words and she writes in such a way that the reader really feel the emotion of the characters. A couple of times I had to literally wipe the tears off my face because I got so wrapped up in the book. I’ve always appreciated how Kingsbury has set up this series in that she could literally keep writing books in this series forever. And in fact, at the end of the book, Kingsbury announces that she’ll be writing a few more Baxter books! So we can all look forward to those as well! (I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. All of the above opinions are entirely my own.)
ScotsLass More than 1 year ago
A Baxter Family Christmas is Karen Kingsbury’s newest addition to the Baxter Family Series and it’s another work of a master author. It’s been two years since a horrible car accident took the lives of Erin Baxter, the youngest daughter of John Baxter, her husband and 3 of their 4 children. As the holidays approach, John Baxter wants to invite Kendra Bryant, the woman who received Erin’s heart following the accident, to Christmas dinner with the Baxter family. The announcement is received by the family with mixed feelings especially Ashley and her brother Luke. They want to protect Erin’s surviving daughter Amy. They also know that Kendra and her husband are atheists and have an unhappy marriage. However, John pushes ahead thinking this is what Erin would want. Kendra is troubled. Her marriage to Moe seems to be on the rocks and she doesn’t know how to save it. But after being in contact with John Baxter, she begins to question her beliefs and why she was given a second chance at life. There is also Maddie West, daughter of Brooke Baxter, who prays for a special Christmas miracle for her sister. Karen Kingsbury tells a beautiful, heart-warming Christmas story of two families coming together after a tragedy to celebrate their strong belief in God, family, and reconciliation. What makes the story so special is Karen Kingsbury’s writing. The Baxter family comes alive and could be anyone’s family complete with hurt feelings and misunderstandings. However, throughout all is the theme of God’s constant love and unwavering faith. It’s a feel good story and a perfect way to celebrate the Birth of Christ without a heavy does of commercialism. I received an advanced copy of this book from NetGalley and Howard Books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wished there was more than 153 pgs