A Dangerous Collaboration (Veronica Speedwell Series #4)

A Dangerous Collaboration (Veronica Speedwell Series #4)

by Deanna Raybourn

Hardcover

$22.10 $26.00 Save 15% Current price is $22.1, Original price is $26. You Save 15%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, June 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Dangerous Collaboration 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Anonymous 23 days ago
Great reading!
nhr3bookcrazyNR 3 months ago
Love this series! Veronica and Stoker are great together. I have one ... no, two complaints. I read it too quickly. I couldn't put it down (just like the others). And, secondly, now I need to wait for the next book in the series. Great stories.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Entertaining series combining Sherlockian elements w/naughty romance. Fun & entertaining.
emmalita 4 months ago
I love the Veronica Speedwell Mystery series. I was first attracted by their excellent covers, but it only took me about 1/3 into the way of the first book to be hooked. I did receive this from Netgalley in exchange for a review. Veronica and Stoker start the book in a chilly place. Their relationship had become emotionally intimate to a point where Veronica needed some space to think about what she wanted. Naturally, Stoker is unhappy and refuses to fall into their old patterns. Despite the coolness between them, they end up on an island off Cornwall with Stoker’s brother, an appropriately odd castle, a poison garden, a mysterious disappearance, and an assortment of people with motives. Stoker’s aristocratic brother is a worthy wedge between the pair. He has his own agenda and rests comfortably somewhere between villain and future ally. He talks Veronica into pretending to be his fiancé. No one is fooled, but it gives a lot of opportunities for Veronica to not care what other people think of her. It was delightful. Veronica is entirely wonderful on her own. She is smart, capable and self reliant. So much so that she is wary of going beyond friendship with Stoker. The mystery brings Veronica and Stoker back into partnership, but Stoker isn’t entirely willing to ease the strain between them. “I’ve read it,” he said simply. “I trade books with the parlormaid at Bishop’s Folly, and she has a penchant for French romances. You wouldn’t like them,” he added with a malicious smile. “And why not?” “Because they always feature couples who trust one another.” I’ve read a lot of series where the will they or won’t they is drawn out over books. I think Raybourn carries it off better than most. Stoker knows why Veronica is reluctant and knows exactly how to frustrate her. Their verbal combat is a joy to read. A Dangerous Collaboration is a delight. I highly recommend. This book is out on March 12, so you have time to catch up on the series so far.
DanieleK 5 months ago
4.75 stars A DANGEROUS COLLABORATION, though not my favorite book in the Veronica Speedwell series, is still very good. With its trademark banter and well paced mystery, I am sure it will be one of my best books of the year. There is less action and more introspection within these pages as Veronica and Stoker consider how they should move forward with their relationship, if they allow it to change at all. To me, this is the focus of the tale, and the mystery is secondary. Uncharacteristic of Raybourn's books, I was able to pinpoint the bad guy very early on, but it is still gratifying to follow along as Veronica and Stoker unearth the truth. There are some genuinely marvelous bits in the book, including a declaration worth swooning over. I really enjoyed getting to know Stoker's older brother Tiberius. I impatiently await the next installment in the series. Highly recommended. I received an ARC of this title from the publisher and voluntarily shared my thoughts here.
Anonymous 5 months ago
A+great+read.++Can%27t+wait+for+the+next+to+see+what+happens.+
Meemo_B 5 months ago
Oh how I love this series! Excellent mysteries with wonderful characters that grow and are fleshed out more with every book. I love the evolving relationship between Veronica and Stoker, and learning more about their backgrounds. In this one we learn more about Stoker and his relationship with his brother Tiberius. Veronica is most decidedly not your stereotypical Victorian heroine, which at times sets her at odds with Stoker, but it certainly makes for fun reading. This one had a good mystery, an interesting and moody setting, well-drawn characters, and as usual, several words that had me checking my Kindle's dictionary - Raybourn educates me while she entertains me. Much as I loved her Lady Julia Grey series, I think I love this one even more - Veronica is just such a fascinating character. And now I know there's such a thing as a glass-winged butterfly - hopefully I can see one somewhere someday. Meanwhile I anxiously await the further adventures (both professional and personal) of Veronica and Stoker. Excelsior!
Anonymous 6 months ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this fourth installment of the Veronica Speedwell series – so much so that I couldn’t resist getting the audio version as well! I have enjoyed Masters’ performance and binge-listening to the first three books, so I just had to have both! In fact, this NetGalley digital version is actually the first one of Raybourn’s novels that I have ever “read” – I also listened entirely to the Lady Julia Grey series. I think that I still prefer this series, actually – and this one is up there with my favorites in the series! The mystery changes locations from London to a Cornish Island castle. Tiberius, Stoker’s eldest brother, has manipulated both Stoker and Veronica to join him there. Together, they will all help uncover the mystery of Rosamund, a bride who disappeared on her wedding day from their host, Lord Malcolm. The set up is a little slower than some of the other books but this allows for more build-up of the eerie atmosphere on this superstitious island and also to better introduce the new cast of characters. It is a completely fun read/listen! I thoroughly enjoyed every page/minute of it! And I was so happy that there were some further developments in the series’ central relationship. The banter between Veronica and Stoker is as fun as ever, and I enjoyed getting to know Tiberius better as well. The hauntings, fairy tales and poison garden all added a lot of fun here. Secrets and red herrings abound! And the set up for the fifth book has me marking down the days for 2020’s addition to the series – fingers crossed that it comes even sooner!! I can’t hardly wait!!
CharlotteLynnsReviews 7 months ago
Veronica Speedwell and Stoker are at it again. Being called away with the promise of an elusive butterfly, Veronica travels with Stoker’s brother and of course, Stoker refuses to be left behind. They travel to an island with a widow who is looking for answers to what happened to his wife. Never one to walk away from solving a mystery they work to find out what happened to her and in the course of solving the mystery they uncover many others mysteries of the Romilly Estate. I love the detail to the settings that Deanna Raybourne uses while writing her books. I can picture the trains they took, the towns they passed through, and the castle that they stayed in. Add to that the amazing characters with their fun and unique quirks and you have a winning story. I enjoyed learning about the secondary characters and kept trying to picture them as the reason that Lord Malcolm's wife was missing, presumed dead. The first part of the story was slower but never did I not want to finish. The closer to the end the faster the story went, they more action the characters saw, and the more the clues came together leading the reader down the right path to solve the mysteries. I loved the undercurrents of romance coming between Stoker and Veronica. I am a fan of the Veronica Speedwell series and am always excited when a new book is being released. This is part of a series. The books can be read as stand alone but as with many series, they are fun to read in order.
Caroles_Random_Life 7 months ago
I had a fabulous time with this book! I can't even tell you which book from this series is my favorite because they have all be consistently good. I think that my favorite just ends up being whichever book I am reading at the time or just finished. After finishing the previous book in the series, I was pretty eager to get started with this installment and I was not disappointed. The book grabbed me from the beginning and held me until the final page had been turned. I really enjoyed the time that I spent with this wonderful story. This book is the fourth book in the Veronica Speedwell series. While this book does focus on its own mystery, I do recommend reading this series in order since the relationships between the characters are an important part of the story and have progressed throughout the series. This book picks up shortly after the events of the previous book and quickly finds the characters dealing with a new situation. I really liked the fact that the bulk of this book takes place on a small island. There are a limited number of characters but the characters that do play a role were all really interesting and sometimes colorful characters. Most of the story occurs in a castle on the island which really made things interesting. The castle had a lot of great features such as a poison garden. I enjoyed discovering all of the things the castle had hidden right along with Veronica and Stoker. I thought that the mystery in this book was really well done and kept me guessing which is always a big plus. The mystery was very complex and I was quite impressed by how everything ended coming together. I think that Veronica and Stoker make a wonderful team when they are working together on a crime. I also really liked the developments in their relationship in this installment. There were some really great moments between these two that has left me eager to read more as soon as I can. I would highly recommend this series to others. This is a series with fantastic characters who are smart and able to solve any puzzle thrown at them. I found this to be quite the page-turner and I cannot wait to read more of this wonderful series. I received a digital review copy of this book from Berkley Publishing Group via NetGalley.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Overall, I really enjoyed this book and it's Gothic setting but I have to admit that I really missed the usual banter between Veronica and Stoker that we have seen in the rest of this series. For most of this book there was an uncomfortable awkwardness to their interactions that I kept wishing would be resolved quickly. I hope that their banter returns in the next book. I did like the ending between Stoker and Veronica and hope that they keep making steps forward toward a relationship in the next book. Like I said before I did enjoy this book. It had me guessing til the end. If you like mysteries with a Gothic setting or have read the previous books then you'll enjoy this one too.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Another great Veronica and Stoker adventure. I have read the series and loved everyone of them. I gave them to my niece and she loves them also. These are a fun read and the interaction between Veronica and Stoker is fun and teasing. The mysteries are not the main focus for me. The characters interactions and conversations are what entertains me. the ending leaves open many more adventures. It will be hard waiting for the next book.
DiiFL 8 months ago
Shades of historical adventure and a heroine who is uniquely fascinating! Deanna Raybourn’s A DANGEROUS COLLABORATION not only takes readers back into another era, but makes us feel part of each scene as Veronica Speedwell defies all social norms and pigeon-holing with her witty dialogue, devastating charm and iron-willed sense of justice and curiosity. Even her fear of romantic entanglements is endearing! Deanna Raybourn delivers mystery and madness at a rapid-fire rate that never quits as Veronica discovers that a visit to a remote island hides more than the rarest of rare butterflies. I was hooked from the opening pages, knowing that these characters were going to give the performance of their lives through the twists and turns of murder, mystery and mayhem. Move over Sherlock, Veronica is on the case! Fun, fast and freakishly addicting, love this series!
Anonymous 8 months ago
A Dangerous Collaboration is the 4th book in the Veronica Speedwell Series. When I first began to read this novel, I felt it was a disadvantage for me as I had not read Raybourn’s first three novels. Initially, it was as if I were feeling my way through the dark. I had heard many great things about this series. Deanna Raybourn writes elegantly and does so in a way that if you have ever been privy to interact with the aristocratic society of Britain, you find she writes as the social class presents itself, whether it be 19th century Britain or the aristocrats and royals of today. Raybourn, like a good deal of literature written today, also writes her protagonist’s character, Veronica Speedwell, as a strong, independent woman with ambitions and wanting to be on equal footing with her male counterparts. I am not intimating that Veronica was a part of the 19th-century women’s suffragists and suffragette movement; however, her desire for equality with her male counterparts correlated with the action of the 19th-century suffragists and suffragettes call for co-equality. The same continues in the U.S. today; however, it was the #METOO movement that fostered a renewed sense of standing up and speaking up for change in regards to women’s rights and co-equality that the women’s suffragette had initiated more than one hundred years ago. It’s interesting that I have read more books in the last couple of years where the author’s protagonist is a strong and independent woman, as is the case of Veronica Speedwell. It was clear from the beginning of A Dangerous Collaboration that Veronica and Stoker were mutually attracted to one another; although, they had a peculiar way of revealing this by disguising their true feelings for one another through playful sparrings that were not obvious to either Veronica or Stoker as playful. The relationship between these two characters was amusing. It was the laughable squabbles between Veronica and Stocker that kept me chuckling and wanting more in the beginning. However, A Dangerous Collaboration is about so much more than the hidden amorous feelings between these two characters, but the book’s description provides you with what you need to know without me spoiling the story behind the novel. The more I read I realized that as any well-written series, Raybourn had met and exceeded the literary challenges of writing a book series. I cannot speak to books one through three; however, book four, A Dangerous Collaboration exceeded the prerequisites of what makes a for a successful series. Although initially, I found myself floundering, a result of my not reading the three preceding novels; the more I read, the more drawn into A Dangerous Collaboration I became. Raybourn’s characters were not static but were dynamic in characteristics, personalities, and dialogue, and moved with precision with the plot. The same can be said of Raybourn’s scenes as she weaved the themes into her story without skimping on detail. However, the characters were numerous, and I finally broke down and made a list of who was whom to keep myself from becoming confused and distracted. Again, this is not a knock on Raybourn’s creative and imaginative writing ability; this was on me for choosing the fourth book of a series to read and review. - D.B. Moone
cyndecat1 8 months ago
This is another Veronica Speedwell mystery. This is a very well written series with likable characters who are always in the thick of things. This time Miss Speedwell is invited to go to an island where a very rare species of Glasswing butterflies are and to possible bring some larvae back to her butterfly garden. She is invited under the ruse that she is Stoker's brother's fiance, which really doesn't sit well with Stoker. Turns out the whole trip is somewhat of a hidden agenda all around as the host hopes that the group will help him find out what happened to his bride who disappeared on their wedding day three years earlier. This was and enjoyable read. I will look forward to more adventures in this series.
Nicole Nixon 8 months ago
There’s just something about these books that make me go back for more and more, and I don’t regret it for one bit. They keep you guessing, and when you think you know who did it turns out you really don’t! I absolutely love the way Raybourn has these plots within an overarching plot, and they’re each more intricate than the next. And the way she does it reveals more and more of each character, shining a light on them that make you question whether you would befriend them the way Veronica does. But if you’ve eagerly been awaiting progress between two particular characters, it’s here in this book and boy, is it a good one! “I loved following Veronica, Tiberius, and Stoker onto St. Maddern’s. I loved being introduced to the superstitious Cornish folk and learning about their secluded life on the island. The Romillys were certainly an interesting bunch as well, each with a story of their own to add to the mystery of the family, the island, and what exactly happened to Rosamund. I like how there are equally strong women around Veronica, and though there are things she may not necessarily agree with, Veronica appreciates them. The same goes for the men, too. I’m not sure I could be as understanding of Tiberius as she is. Sometimes I wanted to strangle him! As for Stoker, how can you not love him? He’s stubborn and an absolute softie underneath especially about those he cares. Raybourn has done a fantastic, painstaking job of creating this utterly slow burn between Stoker and Veronica. Sometimes you question whether or not the two actually should be together due to events from their past and their present ideals. But this book was an gem to read, and Raybourn teases you mercilessly throughout–just enough to satisfy you and when you want more… She leaves you hanging! What is there to say about the writing? Absolutely perfect and such a joy to read! Raybourn takes you right into the heart of Victorian London, and each word is delectable to read. She creates such an easy atmosphere to fall into, bringing you right into the story. I never want to go, to be honest! Others might be bogged down by the precise language, but there were times I had to look up a few phrases and words because I didn’t know what they meant. That didn’t take away from the story though, but made it all the more real. I can’t believe the fifth and final book will be here next year! What am I going to do without Veronica and Stoker?
dibbylodd 8 months ago
A Deanna Raybourn Gothic! With her usual touch of humor and tongue in cheek. Stoker's brother convinces Veronica to go with him to a friend's island "castle". She is certain that he has ulterior motives, but the promise of a rare butterfly is enough to get her to go. Stoker decides to meet them there, without being invited, and the tensions build. Brother to brother. Friend to friend. Potential heir to present heir. Plus village people with The Site. Servants who may have vested interests. All, supposedly, to figure out what happened to a missing bride. Death, attempted murder, borderline madness, it has it all. Plus the tension between Veronica and Stoker comes to a major climax. Rip-snorting good
CindyFW 8 months ago
More than 5 stars! I love this series! After Julia and Brisbane in the Julia Grey series, I didn't think we'd have another couple like that, but Veronica and Stoker—wow! The mystery is this book is quite twisted and there's so many people involved. To me, it has heavy hints of Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier, with the setting and the Gothic elements, even though it's quite different. Of course, as interesting as the mystery was, it was a way to get Veronica and Stoker closer, to learn more about Tiberius, his past and his relationship with his brother. After the way book 3 ended, I've been anxiously wait for progress. I was not disappointed, but at the same time, I want more!
Anonymous 8 months ago
Absolutely enjoyable from beginning to end!
Anonymous 8 months ago
Well worth the wait!
ElaineReads 8 months ago
Title: A Dangerous Collaboration Author: Deanna Raybourn Series: Veronica Speedwell, #4 Pages: 336 Publisher: Berkley Date: March 12, 2019 Summary: Victorian adventuress Veronica Speedwell is whisked off to a remote island off the tip of Cornwall when her natural historian colleague Stoker's brother calls in a favor. On the pretext of wanting a companion to accompany him to Lord Malcolm Romilly's house party, Tiberius persuades Veronica to pose as his fiancée--much to Stoker's chagrin. But upon arriving, it becomes clear that the party is not as innocent as it had seemed. Every invited guest has a connection to Romilly's wife, Rosamund, who disappeared on her wedding day three years ago, and a dramatic dinner proves she is very much on her husband's mind. As spectral figures, ghostly music, and mysterious threats begin to plague the partygoers, Veronica enlists Stoker's help to discover the host's true motivations. And as they investigate, it becomes clear that there are numerous mysteries surrounding the Romilly estate, and every person present has a motive to kill Rosamund... Review: The first time I read this book I didn’t particularly like it. There was too much stress between Veronica and Stoker. It wasn’t the normal disagreements and shouting matches, it was indifference. Even though I thought Stoker’s attitude was false, I wasn’t sure. And Veronica is never comfortable showing her softer feelings. With the second reading, however, I was better able to see that even though it looked like they were drifting apart, they were really struggling to make a connection. I could breathe a sigh of relief. Stoker’s eldest brother Tiberius is integral to the plot. Not only does he drag Veronica and Stoker into solving a murder, there are subplots as well. They grew up together as brothers, but Tiberius had always tormented Stoker. And Stoker being Stoker certainly returned the favor. Their relationship was explored and hopefully improved in this book. In addition, Tiberius strikes me as a man-whore and he definitely makes a play for Veronica. I am not sure how much is because he desires her or because he is getting back at Stoker. Either way, he doesn’t come across as very likable. The murder case itself is three years old. The way they talk about it, it seems more like decades old. Anyway, I can’t really say Stoker and Veronica solve the case. It is more the murderer gives themselves away because they are afraid of being discovered. It all takes place on a island off England which is inhabited by mermaids, piskies, and those with the sight. There is a garden of poisons where even breathing the air is dangerous. All in all, not a comfortable place to live . . . or die. My immediate reaction after finishing the book the first time was when is the next one due out? After the second reading, my reaction is “I want it now!” It’s definitely worth four stars and if I hadn’t spent most of the book worrying about Stoker’s and Veronica’s relationship, I would probably have given it five stars. This book was sent to me by NetGalley in return for an honest review.
marongm8 8 months ago
We have heard so many mixed messages from the Veronica Speedwell series Deanna Rayborn has constructed but we are always on the search for exciting historical fiction since it is very popular in our library with our community. A Dangerous Collaboration is an exciting continuation of the adventures of Veronica Speedwell and the complications she gets herself into and this time its involving a colleague that wants her to pretend to be his fiancee in attendance of a party thrown by the groom of the missing bride so they can actually find out why she disappeared. Every page there was a new twist and each time I read it just got more exciting. Our patrons will sure to love this series. We will definitely consider adding this book to our historical fiction section of the library. That is why we give this book 5 stars.
diane92345 8 months ago
A Dangerous Collaboration between Veronica and Stoker’s brother, the Viscount, result in a much more gothic entry in the series. Veronica Speedwell is not your typical Victorian woman. She doesn’t believe in marriage but does believe in male companionship. She has a career as a lepidopterist, or butterfly researcher. She has a flirtatious relationship with her work partner, Stoker. In Victorian London, Veronica Speedwell is leaving her partner, Stoker, behind to search for exotic butterflies on Madeira, a remote island in the Atlantic Ocean. Lady Cordelia agreed to travel with Veronica as a vacation of sorts. When they return, Stoker’s brother has a task for Veronica to complete. The Viscount Tiberius asks Veronica to go with him and retrieve a rare butterfly’s larvae on St. Maddern’s Isle. On the way to the island, the Viscount states that their host on the island, Malcolm, is religious and they must pose as an engaged couple. Once they arrive, Malcolm’s true motive becomes apparent. He wants them to solve the mystery of his bride’s disappearance three years earlier. To do so, they call on Stoker for help. I adore this series. In, I missed the usual banter between Veronica and Stoker. I wasn’t feeling the Viscount’s flirtation. What happened to the bro code? I did enjoy the atmosphere on the island especially the gothic castle and its poison garden. All fans of the series must read A Dangerous Collaboration as it advances the overarching story plus it is great fun. 5 stars! Thanks to Berkley Books and NetGalley for a copy in exchange for an honest review.
nfam 8 months ago
Veronica and Stoker Pursue the Mystery of a Missing Bride Veronica and Stoker have feelings for each other that they are unsuccessfully trying to keep from showing. When Tiberius, Stoker’s older brother, asks Veronica to accompany him to a house party, much to Stoker’s chagrin, she agrees. Tiberius has a yen for Veronica. His motives for inviting her to the house party become even more suspect when he asks her to pose as his finacée. However, there is the lure of a very special butterfly, so Veronica agrees. The house party is held on an island from which there is no escape, in a suitably Gothic manor house. When Victoria arrives, she learns that all the guests are connected to the host’s missing bride, Rosamund. The bride vanished on her wedding day. It seems strange that she would run away, but they haven’t been able to find her on the island either. Not surprisingly Stoker arrives at the party. He is clearly unwilling to give Tiberius a free had with Veronica. This interplay between Veronica and Stoker make this my favorite book in the series to date. I had been hoping for them to acknowledge their feelings and this story presented the opportunity. The atmosphere is suitable eerie. There’s even a poison garden tended by the owner’s sister. In someways, I was reminded of Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca. It was altogether a satisfying book: interesting characters, hard-to-guess plot, chilling atmosphere. I received this book from Net Galley for this review.
TheGenreMinxBookReviews 8 months ago
Throughout the Veronica Speedwell series there has always been a push-pull sexual tension between the main characters, Veronica and Stoker, and although that does exist in this book as well, it is different this time around. After Stoker’s gaffe during a romantic moment in the last book, A Treacherous Curse, Veronica has been turning things over in her mind. She had come to certain realizations and those realizations had her feeling quite unnerved. At the start of A Dangerous Collaboration Veronica was desperately trying to put much distance both literally and figuratively between her and Stoker. That was a surprise because that is really not Veronica’s style. She usually likes to needle Stoker over every little thing. I actually liked that the unflappable Veronica was “flapped” in this story. It was nice to see a different side to her character and, for me, it made her much more likable. While Veronica may have been out of sorts with what she wanted, Stoker was not. Of course, he was still his dark and brooding self but he didn’t retreat like he normally would where Veronica and his feelings for her where concerned. Instead he tried a different tactic and is drove Veronica to distraction. She did not like how unpredictable the “predictable Stoker” had become and it was just hilarious to see them both out of character. The mystery in A Dangerous Collaboration was dark, dangerous, and delicious! The setting was just marvelous! Veronica and Tiberius travel to a secluded island where no visitors have been entertained for three years, ever since the disappearance of the Lord’s wife on their wedding day. Once they arrive on the island it becomes clear to Veronica that nothing is as it seems and that there were many secrets being kept. There was a true gothic mystery vibe to this story, complete with elements of gloom, fear, insanity, horror, and romance! It was so lovely and made A Dangerous Collaboration such a delightful read. This review is based on a complimentary book I received from NetGalley. It is an honest and voluntary review. The complimentary receipt of it in no way affected my review or rating.