A Deeper Darkness

A Deeper Darkness

by J. T. Ellison

Paperback(Original)

$14.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Deeper Darkness 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
RonnaL More than 1 year ago
Ellison starts a new series with a take-off character from another series.  Dr. Samantha Owens is a Forensic Pathologist in Nashville, Tennessee.  She's been devoted to her job until tragedy struck her.  Her husband and two children are dead and she lives with self imposed guilt daily.  When the mother of her old lover, Donovan,calls and asks for help, Samantha reluctantly agrees.   Donavan's body has been found shot in his car.  The Washington,DC police are calling it a car jacking, but his mom believes there was more to his death.  After the autopsy, Samantha also believes this ex-Ranger's death was a more complicated murder.  Samantha investigates with a couple of interesting policeman, delving into a long held secret of friendly fire and more from the Ranger's service in Afghanistan.  Tensions are taught as Samantha must also work with Donovan's wife, who knows of Samantha's and Donovan's past affair.  This book is psychological, revealing the mind set of everyone involved.  It also becomes fast passed as Samantha finds answers and finds herself in great danger too.  Good start to a new series.  Relationships are set up to continue a few of these characters in this series, which should be exciting reading.  
lsmeadows More than 1 year ago
Dr. Samantha Owens and J. T. Ellison are a winner in my book! A number of my friends have read books by J.T. Ellison, so as an author she has been on my radar for a while. I received the second book of her new series featuring Medical Examiner Samantha Owens as an Advanced Reader book, so decided to start with this series. Samantha Owens is one of those women that we find often in books these days. Smart, sexy, accomplished...in short a strong, successful woman. At least she used to be. That was before tragedy hit her two years ago.  In A Deeper Darkness, the first book in the Samantha Owens series Samantha finds that tragedy has struck again in the form of the death of her college love, Eddie Donavan. The police have ruled his death as a simple car-jacking, but his mother disagrees. Hence her request to Samantha to perform a second autopsy and take a second look.  That is the way Ellison begins this top-notch thriller. From there the plot continues at a fast pace, with enough plot twists and interesting occurrences to keep the reader interested. It is quickly obvious that there is more here than meets the eye. What do a car-jacking, PTSD, a diary of secrets written in Latin, and a ex-Army Ranger turned recluse have in common? That is the central question that keeps the reader turning pages in this thrill ride. One thing missing in this book, though, was the heavy romance angle that is usually prevalent in this type of book. I actually appreciated that as I loved the focus on the mystery part of the story.  The characters that Ellison populates this book with is a definite positive. None of the characters are cookie cutter in any way, least of all Samantha, whose demons have driven her to OCD behavior. As a mom, I don't even want to imagine what it would be like to lose a child, and that fact had me feeling a lot of empathy for Sam. The lead detective on the case is battling his own demons, as is the widow of the deceased who never felt that she measured up to Sam, and Xander Whitfeild, the reclusive ex-Ranger who was one of Eddie's best friends. Yet Ellison is able to take all of these characters and not only makes you care about their personal demons, but she does an excellent job of tying them together into a team of characters that really work.  I did find, however, that I wished I would have read the Taylor Jackson books by Ms. Ellison first. (I plan to remedy that quickly)as I believe the story of the demons that Samantha was haunted by had already been brought to light in those books. As a first time reader of Ms. Ellison's work I was a bit put off by her continued alluding to the tragedy that took Samantha's family without ever really explaining it. She finally did explain, but it was very late in the book. I think if I had read the Taylor Jackson books and been familiar with the character this would not have been an issue.  The good news, though, is that I have another bunch of books from this author to read while I wait for the third book of this series to come out in 2014.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Reading this book is an emotional rollercoaster. Every character has some type of inner turmoil going on in their lives. Samantha, the M.E. and main character, lives a life of pure agony. She is a basket case. You feel her pain and her loss and almost wish you could some how make her life better. This isn't the typical "whodunit" some how it has a different twist to it. You end up feeling sympathy for all the characters, good and bad. The author has you beliving who the killer is and suddenly the story takes a twist and points to someone else. This happens a few times. It becomes a bit confusing. The end was not what I expected, but if it brought some happiness to poor Samantha, then it was a good ending. Try it you'll like it.
rhonda1111RL More than 1 year ago
4 STARS It was moving for me, other wise I cried in parts of the book. Was not sure who the bad guys were till the end. Dr. Samantha Owens is having hard times since the death of her husband and daughters. She is head of medical examiner for the state of Tennessee. She can't be around drowning victims and has developed washing hands as a way to cope. Edward Donovan and Samantha were lovers in collage till he left medical school to go back into the army as a ranger. Edward is now married and has two daughters. He works as a contracter advisor. He was killed by a carjacking. Susan Donovan father was a general and husband was a Major till he got out of army. When late at night their is a knock on the door when her husband was supposed to be home knows its bad news. Eddie mother has kept in touch through the years with Samantha and kept her informed about her son. Now she does not believe her son was killed in a car jacking and asks Samantha if she will come to D.C. and do another autopsie. She knows it will be hard on her but needs her help. Samantha agrees to help. Susan does not want her to help she is jealous of Sam's history with her husband, but finally agrees. Their are more deaths of Edward rangers squad. Sam gets right involved in the case. I stayed up late because I could not put the book down. Look forward to more books like this one. I was given this ebook to read in exchange for honest review from Netgalley. 04/24/2012 PUB Harlequin
Anonymous 9 months ago
Could not stop till I finished the story. Great turns and twists!! This is my first J.T. Ellison novel but will not be the last.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Anonymous 10 months ago
Anonymous 10 months ago
Anonymous 10 months ago
Anonymous 10 months ago
Anonymous 10 months ago
Anonymous 10 months ago
Anonymous 11 months ago
I loved this book. Lots oftwists and turns!
wiccked on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I didn't like this book at the start, but by the time I got to the end I loved it and was left wanting more!I didn't feel like this was the same Sam who was in the Taylor books, but maybe she isn't. Maybe losing her family changed her so much that this isn't the old Sam any more. Not having Sam as a major character in the Taylor books we didn't get to know her intimately, but now we're seeing a side of her that was maybe always there, but we just didn't see it. Despite that, I really enjoyed this book, and I would like more. I'd like to see more of quite a few of the characters too - not just Sam, Xander and Fletcher, who I believe will be back, but Susan and Eleanor too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story! Kept me interested from the first page. The only problem I had was the names - most characters also had a nickname, and it got confusing at points. The author did try to keep reminding us of who was who, but it was still a bit confusing at points. Otherwise, great job!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
otterly More than 1 year ago
Coroner Samantha Owens blames herself for the deaths of her husband and children in a flood. Now she is called to help some friends in Texas. Will she finally find love again? I tried another book by this author, but couldn't get into it. A book club might like to discuss this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SpeedSD More than 1 year ago
LOVED, LOVED, LOVED IT!!!!! Amazing start to this spin-off series. Love how Ellison took an excellent secondary character from the Taylor Jackson series and has truly made her a star! I did notice that on another review, someone wanted to go back and read the Jackson series to get a better idea of what happened to Sam's family. I will let you know that that tragedy occurred after the last Taylor Jackson book. It was new to anyone familiar with that series also. On that note, if you do go back and read that series, it is an absolutely fantastic series and will give you a better understanding of who Sam was before this tragedy occurred in her life. Ellison has a way with murder mysteries/thrillers like no other. She can get a little graphic, so if that kind of thing bothers you, please take it into consideration. Ellison keeps you on your toes with twists and turns to the story line that really keeps you guessing till the end. Just when you think you have it figured out, WHAMMY, she hits you with another bombshell! Love that about this author. I miss Taylor and Baldwin and that whole set of characters, but Ellison has hit it out of the park with this one and I am completely hooked. Thanx for a spectacular read, Ms. Ellison, please keep them coming! -- SPeeD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago