A Redesigned Life: Uncovering God's Purpose When Life Doesn't Go as Planned

A Redesigned Life: Uncovering God's Purpose When Life Doesn't Go as Planned

by Tracy Steel

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.49 $14.99 Save 30% Current price is $10.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 30%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Redesigned Life: Uncovering God's Purpose When Life Doesn't Go as Planned 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
CareyLScott 9 months ago
I love Tracy's voice and how she strings together a sentence. She digs deep into meaty topics, something I always look for in an author, and really gives you content to chew on. She knows her Bible, and shares in such a way that makes it easy to follow and understand His Word. Tracy made me giggle in places and made me want to send a virtual hug in others. She inspired me... challenged me... and made a strong case for inviting God into my messy life and redesigning something beautiful.
Lludt 9 months ago
Have you ever felt that you have your life plans right on track, when suddenly you are derailed? We all have designed in our minds what we want out of life; what our ideal life looks like. We have laid out the plans for what we think will bring us happiness and make our dreams come true…and then things do not go as planned. Life throws up detours and roadblocks of varying intensities that challenge us, and leave us disappointed, discouraged, and wondering “why?”. Tracy Steel uses real life stories, paralleled with design tips you can really use for your home, and solid scriptural encouragement for your heart. Helping us to see that just as we may work to redesign a space in our home to better fit our lives, so does God, the Master Designer, work to do so in the space that matters most…our hearts. A Redesigned Life helps us to see God’s work of molding (redesigning) us; always toward what He knows is best for us. As Steel reminds us, “It is either my way or God’s way. My name in lights or His name written on my heart”. We are either going to be resistant, or learn how to let the Master Designer mold us when things do not go as we planned. Through this molding, though sometimes painful, our purpose becomes more clearly revealed; and when we give our hearts to God, we will be able to stay more steadily on the right track. We can learn to have peace and contentment right where we are, even if it is not where we thought we would be. This is a must read for anyone struggling with “this is not what I had planned”; and a great book for a study group!
gfox79 9 months ago
Tracy does an excellent job weaving in how God has specifically designed each of us throughout the whole book. She does this using topics that both encourage and challenge the reader. I recommend this book to any woman who is seeking and searching for ways that she connect more of her life into God’s plan for her life.
Meg Bucher 6 months ago
“A Redesigned Life,” by Tracy Steel, claims to “uncover God’s purpose when life doesn’t go as planned.” A topic many Christians struggle with, Steel does a great job encouraging readers to recognize who and Whose they are. “God uses patterns of different types in our lives,” Steel writes, “His patterns are meant to catch our attention, teach us, and help us remember who he is and what he desires for our lives. This is by design.” “A Redesigned Life,” consists of twelve chapters packed with unique elements to engage readers. Blanketed under six main sections, “Movement,” “Emphasis,” “Pattern,” “Contrast,” “Balance,” and “Space,” that are aesthetically written in script across two pages to signal the change in tone. Each main section ends with “Muse Minutes,” a chance for readers to engage and connect with the material. A “Design Tip” follows each “Muse Minutes,” with an peek into Steels expertise as a former interior designer. “Our jobs, our possessions, our friends and families are all on loan from God and are parts of our redesigned life.” Tracy Steel, “A Redesigned Life.” I recommend this book to readers looking for little something more connected in appearance of their home and life in tandem to the inner workings of their soul. I love authors who strive to help readers attain a healthy balance in life, and this book does that beautifully. (I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.)
PrincessGlor 7 months ago
First of all, I love the premise of this book! Using design principles applied to our spiritual walk is a new and fresh way to look at our walk with the Lord. Considering the way my life isn't what I had planned it to be back when, this book was a must read for me. It did not disappoint! Chock full of practical and Godly wisdom, this book is one I will read again because there is a lot of meat to this read. I especially identified with the sections on contrast and balance. I am already planning a slower reread of this book in the future because I know there is more to glean from only reading it one time. This is headed straight to my keeper shelf! I received this book from the publisher and was not required to post a positive review. All thoughts are my own.
Julie12 7 months ago
This book is for those of us whose life has turned out completely different than we thought it would. I know this spoke to me as my life is totally different than I thought it would be. Tracy shares how she thought her life would be - living in New York as a designer and wearing beautiful clothes and carrying designer purses. That's not what her life has turned out to be like - she lives in Phoenix. However, she has embraced her life and she shows us how we can embrace ours in whatever circumstances we find our self. Through Scripture, she shows us that, indeed, God truly has a design for our life and that we can fully trust Him on this journey of ours. I especially enjoyed the "Muse Minutes" and the "Design Tip" section she had after each chapter. These helped me to put things clearly together in my mind and give me a new "design" perspective about my life. This is a wonderful book and I highly recommend it - especially to those who are struggling with how different their life looks compared to what they wanted. I give this book 5 stars. *This book was provided to me by Revell. I received a copy of this book to review but I was not financially compensated in any way. The opinions expressed are my own and are based on my observations while reading this book.
Librarycataloger 7 months ago
Many women enjoy learning about the new trends in home design and decoration but how often do they think about redesigning their lives? Tracy Steel is a former interior decorator who has written a book with design tips for both our homes and our lives. Step by step, she shows how the concepts of interior design are comparable to the design that God has used for each of us. Steel reminds us that even though we may have had helped design our homes, it is God, the original designer, who has planned our lives. Steel uses Bible scripture, inspirational thoughts, and key design principles to guide us and encourage us as we work to make the changes needed. I have learned so much from reading this book and I am inspired to apply these design principles to my own life. A Redesigned Life reminded me that just as my home requires upkeep and renovation, my life is also in need of repair and renewal! We all fail. But God is holy. We lie or exaggerate. God is honest. We wound. God heals. We hold a grudge. God extends Grace. (p. 85) A Redesigned Life is a book that needs to be marked in, writtten in, and referred to often and it is a book that I highly recommend. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Revell and was under no obligation to post a positive review. These are my honest thoughts.
FayJac 7 months ago
This book is written by an interior designer. She uses elements of design throughout her book to explain how God works and repurposes our lives. She also gives tips for interior design that you can use in your own home. The book is divided into sections entitled Movement, Emphasis, Pattern, Contrast, Balance and Space. God uses pops of color, contrasts, patterns, balance and negative things to work in our lives and show us where we need to improve or where He is working. Each section ends with questions to help you reflect on and apply the principles in that section. Tracy Steel uses lots of examples from her own life and lots of Scripture to show us how God works. This is an interesting take on a redesigned life. She also uses lots of stories and quotes from other women who struggled with things the book talks about. If you want an encouraging book to read or struggle with what God is doing in your life, especially when things don't go as planned, this is an excellent book to read. (Please note: Although a copy of this book was sent to me to review by Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group, the opinions expressed are my own.)
Belovedbrat 7 months ago
Title: A Redesigned Life: Uncovering God’s Purpose with Life Doesn’t Go as Planned Author: Tracy Davis Steel Chapters: 12 Pages: 224 Genre: Christian Nonfiction Rating: 4.5 Stars When I got A Redesigned life by Tracy Davis Steel I didn't realize that it was a book I needed to read. I just thought it was a book I would read to review; boy was I wrong. In the course of reading this book, it felt like this book was written for me. I feel like I am the target audience for this book. Because for the last three years’ life hasn't gone as I had planned. I knew that I still had a purpose and God had a plan for me my life but I didn't really feel it, till I read this book. And to me, the last two chapters stood out the most. They were the two that I really needed to read (hear). As those were the two that really hit home and dealt with what I am still dealing with. I would recommend this book to anyone who is dealing with life not going to the way that they planned. The Chapters that helped me might not help you but I do think that there is at least one chapter in this book for everyone. I received a copy of this book from the publisher as part of a blog tour. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are mine alone. I received a copy of this book from the publisher through netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are mine alone.
Bec_Scribbles 7 months ago
When I decided to review this book, I was intrigued by the cover. The author is able to take real life situations and compare this to scripture. Oh, how I put myself in the author's shoes many, many times in this book. I could see myself in those situations, especially when she talked about being in school, and it helped me to reflect on what has happened in my own life. Our lives may not be what we thought it should be, and yet the author is able to help us look at the brighter side of it all. She is able to help us get through that rough time while keeping God at the forefront of it all. I do recommend this book for those who want to get through a rough patch in their life. The author puts ideas in the book that will help you reflect and see why God has designed your life this way. Please note: I was given a copy of this book for review by the Revell Reads Book Review Program. All thoughts in this review are my own.
summer_no9 7 months ago
This book had an unique writing and compelling to read with that also encouraging and inspiring to discovery a new way that will helping to understand more of God had be a master of design from creating like us. This book will be taking you to see the colors, the beauty and the joy of the true of happiness of our life with decorating our heart as the same way that doing and creating you our house. I highly recommend to everyone must to read this book. “I received complimentary a copy of this book from Revell Reads for this review”.
AmyElaineMartinez 8 months ago
Get ready to see your world through God’s eyes! There’s so much beauty when we see things with this new perspective Tracy helps us discover! One of my favorite things in the book was the pops of color! What a delightful book filled with deep truths for redesigning our lives when they don’t go as planned. I needed this message and I’m grateful to the author for sharing this message in such a beautifully tangible way. I know nothing about design and loved her tips and insight! Tracy’s book really helped me better understand God’s heart and the way he sees things, how we can see him all around us, and in our circumstances too. Loved this book! Great gift book too!
JViola79 8 months ago
We hear time and time again that God has a plan, a design, for our lives. But when we find ourselves living a life we did not design, discouragement can often overcome us. In her book, A Redesigned Life, Tracy Steel brings the assurance that God is the Designer of our lives, and always remains true to His plans for us. As a former interior designer, she uses design principles which not only benefit our outer living spaces but more so, help us balance the inner spaces of our souls. Using six principles of design – movement, emphasis, pattern, contrast, balance, and space, she uncovers the purposes of God as He works in our lives. Each section includes “Muse Minutes”, a space to ponder, pray, and journal. The book speaks wonderfully and deeply to our lives which go in ways we did not plan. ** I was provided a copy of this book by Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group. The opinions expressed in this review are my own. A life we did not design, but God redesigned uniquely for us and for His glory.
Anonymous 8 months ago
I absolutely enjoyed everything about this book. Tracy uses design patterns to help you see God’s design for your life. She helps us realize that even if life is not as we thought it would be Gods design is ultimately the best thing!
JodiGrubbs 8 months ago
What a beautiful book this is. I really appreciate personal stories and you can tell the author has a real relationship with her heavenly Designer. Tracy Steel comes alongside her reader, showing six principles of design, namely how God uses movement, emphasis, pattern, contrast, balance and space to create a couture life for each one of us. Things don't always go the way we plan for them to. Tracy shows us how to let the ultimate Designer decorate our heart through these unplanned challenges, uncovering God's purpose. She also includes fabulous home decor tips which are really useful. As the author says: "Welcome home to your redesigned life. I think you are going to be quite taken by its beauty."
BridgitSmith 8 months ago
I am only halfway through the book, yet I appreciate that A Redesigned Life by Tracy Steel is not another self help book. It’s a book that points us to the Master Designer. It’s brilliantly written with design principles which Tracy uses to help the reader identify timeless truths about God. I laughed out loud when I read, “I no longer need to be center stage. Center stage is a location and not my salvation.” Girl, can I relate. Just took me a lot more years of my life to realize I didn’t have to chase that dream of being on center stage. Tracy uses her own stories about life disappointments and heartaches to encourage us to press on. If you are journeying through a rough season in life, one in which you question what’s going on or where you are headed. This a book you will want to read. I’m excited to complete reading this book and will update this review when it’s completed.
M_McClendon 8 months ago
I just finished reading A Redesigned Life and it has been a blessing to me. Through this book the author, Tracy Steel, sincerely pours out her heartfelt love for God and for other women as she encourages her readers to focus on our loving God and allow him to redesign our lives. She has filled this book with encouragement, scripture, and humor, as well as opportunities for reflection and helpful design tips for our homes. She candidly tells of her own trials from not dancing the part of the Sugar Plum Fairy to the death of her mother from cancer and how God has worked in her life through these and other situations.
Anonymous 8 months ago
I love Jesus and home decor so this book was right up my alley.
APutnam 8 months ago
As you read this witty and taken from real life book you are gently guided through introspection and self-evaluation. Tracy uses anecdotes that are relevant and relatable as well as stories from her’s as well as other writer’s real world experiences to point us towards biblical truth. She reminds us about the story God is writing with our lives as well as the methods He uses to show us where He is when things aren’t making sense. For all the moms trying to get through the day, the women figuring out what goals are worth striving towards, and the ladies who thought their plan was just right only to see it crumble around them-this book provides encouragement, insight, and truthful reminders about God’s plan for your life.
IMTINA 8 months ago
"The truth is, I'm living a life I didn't design but that God designed for me. I am me." Whoa. How did she know? Because Tracy Steel is one of us, y'all. Her transparency will touch your heart as she shares...through six really cool principles of design...how she uncovered God's purpose for her life. As a chick in the midst of my own redesign journey, her encouraging words wrap around me like the best hug. I love this book!
Michelle Altergott Gaffney 8 months ago
This book is so insightful. I have been lucky enough to hear Tracy speak at an event and she was captivating. When I heard she was writing a book I knew I had to read it. It did not disappoint. She uses design principals to explain how god works in our life and how we can use this information to react differently when things don’t go as we have planned in our heads. This book was like reading a hug from a friend and knowing that things will work out as they are “designed” to. I can’t wait to see what lies ahead for Tracy and hopefully it will include another book.
FancyMigadola 8 months ago
Tracy’s voice is authentic and heart warming. Her passion for serving is evident in her writing. She clearly desires to support others in achieving their own God given plan of success. Earlier in the book one of the quotes that stood out to me was that, “God chooses specific parts for all of us to play.” I believe anyone who is feeling that they are in a period of transition should read this book. Truly appreciate her parallels to design and the divine.
benhli38 9 months ago
"Well, darling, it's that time of year again," she says to me as I slowly wake up. "Shake a leg, handsome, Spring cleaning time!" Ugh, those words, they mean moving furniture, clutter, and a possibility of having to, dare I say, throw out trash? I shudder pulling covers back over my head, daring to go back to sleep, and then she comes back in: "Benjamin Herrell!" "Okay, I'm up!" and I stomp out of bed. In reality my wife and I, while we do at times get after one another, we've never had a conversation like that; at least not that I'm aware of. But we have, at times, picked up, cleaned up, de-cluttered and made our living space more bearable for ourselves. God is the same toward us. In the same process of examining our lives, getting us to see the good, and to remove the bad, so that we have better space and live a right life with Him it means we go through those moments of "redesigning" with Him. Tracy Steel has done this with her book A Redesigned Life. Throughout the book she is saying, "for a more productive, Christ-centered walk, we sometimes have to get into the thick of things and help Him in cleaning our messes up." Yes, He indwells us with His Holy Spirit as we abide and remain in Him. But it means we also have to show up on cleaning day and help Him out by saying, "Yes, Lord, You're right this has to go, this too, and, um, maybe not that just yet." We argue with Him, we plead, and after long soul searching hours we give Him the right to do with us as He wills: "Yet not as I will, but as You will," He says to the Father (Luke 22:42). To further my claim that this is a book worth reading that Tracy has written well, she gives a dose of her honesty in telling us what she's been through, how she lives her life, and what we can do to better ourselves in our Christian walk. I've come away feeling refreshed by reading this book. Also, it makes a great gift for anyone who's struggling at the moment with whatever is going on. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Revell for a fair and honest review.
LisaAppelo 9 months ago
Tracy Steel takes her roots in design to flesh out some of the principles of life with Christ. A Redesigned Life is a unique look at our walk with God through the lenses of movement, emphasis, pattern, contrast, balance and space. Tracy weaves her own experience and those of many other women into the pages of this book to reveal the Master Designer and how He works in shaping us and our lives. Not being much of a designer myself, I found this application fascinating and also found it helped me look at God and His ways in from a different perspective. I especially appreciated Tracy's tender focus on grief, her personal application and how allowing space for grief can help us move through it and learn from it. Two thumbs up for A Redesigned Life!
JulesQuilts 9 months ago
I really just loved this book! I need the redesign in some hurt areas of my soul. I was surprised and really appreciated the home design tips! The book includes reflection questions at the end of the sections. It would be a fun book club book!! Highly recommend!!