A Serial Killer's Daughter: My Story of Faith, Love, and Overcoming

A Serial Killer's Daughter: My Story of Faith, Love, and Overcoming

by Kerri Rawson

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Serial Killer's Daughter: My Story of Faith, Love, and Overcoming 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Anonymous 12 months ago
I bought this because I saw it on the Today show (I think I bought out of curiosity) but really didn't expect to like it. I was wrong. No unnesessary gore or violence....very sad but quite well written, I thought. He might have been your next door neighbor or mine! Yikes! ..Well written by his daughter....Do you know who lives in your house?
Anonymous 11 months ago
I think Kerri did a great job in this book. It showed her many years of struggles from this enormous wrong. It is wonderful that she turned to God all the way through so she could come to a place of forgiveness and help her to enjoy her beautiful life with her family.
Anonymous 11 months ago
I live in Wichita, my husband is from Park City, so hit even closer to home. My heart broke for this family watching these events unfold in real time. The book fills in the wondering we all had how his family coped. Thank you Kerri, you are one of the bravest people I know. I know that sting of death she described as her whole life as she knew died in an instant, as I lost my father suddenly to a heart attack. I also was daddy's girl, his little buddy...and even though circumstances were quite different in the manner of loss, it still separates a life in two. Thank you again Kerri for sharing your faith, it softened my heart a little towards the Lord.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Helps you see and understand a perspective that is really hard to grasp...her side of things. The pain she felt after finding out her father is BTK is real...no disrespect towards victims intended. He is her father who happens to be a monster. Good read.
Anonymous 10 months ago
Well written
Anonymous 11 months ago
Not+what+I+expected.++Okay+read.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Great read !
Jeannie3doxie 8 months ago
This book is wonderful~ Kerri put a lot of time and thought into writing this story of HER life! This book is not the place to find gory details etc. It's just not here! Their camping trip was enjoyable for me. So much so, I actually got online and searched for photos of all the stops they made inside the Grand Canyon trail. I was on the edge of my seat, holding my breath as she was walking in the extreme heat up next to the walls to keep from falling off. Also, the anticipation waiting for her brother to get to them. This book is so much better than I thought it would be. I feel like Kerri is a friend of mine now. I know her, now. I feel some of what she felt. She is a victim too, her entire family is. I just cannot wrap my head around living with this day after day. I do think this book is Therapeutic for her.
AnnieMcDonnell 11 months ago
This is such a sad story. This was a truly inconceivable story. When we watch the stories of Serial Killers, we forget that they not only have parents, but some may even have children. This is the story Kerri Rawson tells of her life with her father Dennis Lynn Rader, the BTK Killer (Bind, Torture, Kill) He killed ten innocent people, two of them being children over three decades. During this time, he is the head of a family. Loving to his wife, Paula; to bring his daughter Kerri “to ease” when she needed to be soothed, and caring to his son, Brian. Kerri was never uncertain of her father’s love for her. While she struggles with her faith throughout her life because their family suffers so much loss and their grief is huge, she tells us the story about how she dealt with her life and how her father seemingly dealt with the same circumstances. You learn that the BTK Killer left behind more then ten victims. His entire family suffered the consequences of his actions. The question is; will they recover?
Anonymous 4 hours ago
The stories Kerri shares from her childhood and how much she adored her Dad provides a perspective for readers that no other author has provided thus far.
Anonymous 22 days ago
Interesting book, started great but dragged around the middle when camping trips were described. It ended well and I especially liked the photos at the end of the story
MeganLeprich 22 days ago
Thank you so much to Nelson Books and NetGalley for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. This story hits pretty close to home for me as I live only about 4 hours away from Wichita, KS. I remember watching the news as it happened and watching the movies based on the heinous crimes, it was stomach-churning. I don’t know how I would have managed if it was my dad that had committed these crimes. A few parts of this book were confusing to me as the author touched on things that had happened in the past or memories but didn’t really go into details about them. You couldn’t help but feel terrible for Kerri Rawson as she had to go through this. Her dad was such a well-respected guy in their town, church president, and a Boy Scout leader and he lead this total double life that no one knew about until he was caught. His daughter had to carry the burden and get looked at funny all because of what her father did and that’s what made me the saddest of all, that she was getting repercussions from his crimes that she had nothing to do with. Her writing style and how she explained growing up with her family in Kansas was so well written and I found myself really liking her. She was so real in her writing and really held nothing back. This was a very personal book and I commend Kerri for completely opening up her life for everyone to read. It was an enjoyable read and I really enjoyed it.
mississippimomreads 27 days ago
The first half of this book details her childhood, seemingly normal, with details about church and family and camping trips. Her childhood seemed fairly normal like an average daughter in middle America. The difference, however, is that while she was growing up enjoying this typical childhood, her father was committing gruesome murders along the way. The second half of the novel lends itself to be more like the title. It deals with the news that her father has been arrested as the BTK serial killer, and the fall out from that shocking discovery. Even though Carrie was born and raised in Kansas, she really did not know very much about BTK until after her father’s arrest. Her life dramatically changed on the day he was arrested. And the fact that her DNA was used to determine his guilt was an even bigger layer of guilt thrown upon her. I honestly did not know much about the details of the BTK crimes until I read this book. My quick google search provided terrifying information so I stopped after just a couple of stories. The horrific extent of these crimes would be impossible to reconcile with a loved one as the killer. Not sure how Kerri was able to eventually move on with her life as she described in the book. Kudos to her for her therapy and her ability to process and eventually move on with her life. If you are a true crime reader, this book is for you.
JBronder 6 months ago
When I think of the various serial killers in America, BTK, Dennis Rader, comes up as the one that almost got away. His crimes were horrible and it’s a good thing that he was caught and that is where the story usually ends. But the damage you don’t see is the family. I can’t even beginning to imaging what his family went through when they learned that their husband/father was serial killer that had terrorized the town of Witchita, Kansas. This book is his daughter, Kerri’s story of what she went through. Kerri’s day started out with a strange man hanging around her house. Then she learned that her father was the BTK killer. What a blow! My heart goes out to her just for handling that information. What follows is her account of what happened and the things she went through. It’s hard to read some parts of the book because it is pure raw emotion and she struggled a lot. This is an inspirational story and that I recommend reading. Kerri is such a strong woman and has an amazing journey to get to be the person she is today. I recommend checking out this book. It’s a great read and very enlightening. I received a complimentary copy of this book. I voluntarily chose to read and post an honest review.
Kristy_K 6 months ago
2.5 Stars I commend Kerri Rawson for having the strength to write this and carry on after finding out who her father was. I think this would have done better as an essay. The first third to half of the book was basically a normal girl with normal problems lives a normal life. I know it was there to show how we never know what may be hiding in the shadows, but it really dragged. Once Rawson got to the part where her dad was arrested, things picked up. It was sad to see how affected she was by what her father did and I think it’s important to remember that the family of these killers are also victims. If you are a true crime fan I wouldn’t recommend this. But if you like memoirs about how faith can save you then definitely pick up this book. I received an advanced copy through Netgalley in return for an honest review.
Anonymous 8 months ago
your+story+was+so+moving+so+easy+to+see+how+hard+it+would+be+to+go+on+with+the+two+different+father%27s+the+one+you+loved+and+the+one+you+didn%27t+know.++I+cannot+imagine+how+you+were+able+to+move+through+the+times+in+your+life+and+I+can+literally+feel+the+pain+you+felt+the+hurt%2C+so+sad+and+yet+so+darn+hard+to+watch+you+live+that+day+in+and+day+out.+God+be+with+you.
Anonymous 9 months ago
I recently watched the 20/20 episode on BTK and saw the tv movie years back which prompted me to read Kerri's book. This woman has amazing courage and strength. My heart and prayers go out to her and her family.
Anonymous 9 months ago
A thought provoking read.
Anonymous 10 months ago
eadieburke 10 months ago
This review was written for NetGalley and Nelson Book. I received a free copy for an honest review. What is it like to learn that your ordinary, loving father is a serial killer? Kerri Rawson writes an insightful and honest perspective of another side of her father, the BTK killer. She relates her growing up years with her father and shows a couple of traits that could have been clues but also shows a man of master deception. I was happy to see how supportive her husband was and how he helped her to overcome her PTSD and gave her the courage to go on with her life. I found the book hard to put down and I would recommend it to those who love true crime stories.
Boohimdanno 10 months ago
As a reader readers I think this title is misleading. Yes Kerri is the daughter of a serial killer but this story lacks the true crime story line was promoted to readers. The story lacks focus and long winded stories. The story is more about Kerri Childhood and when she found out about her father being a serial killer but moves quickly though parts of the history quickly when true crimes would be more focus on the crimes instead of her memories. If this story was promoted more as a religious memoir I think the author would be able to find a different audience. Thank you Netgalley and publisher Thomas Nelson for Kerri Rawson A Serial Killers Daughter.
ody 11 months ago
A Serial Killer’s Daughter: My Story of Faith, Love, and Overcoming I approached this book with my mind and feelings completely open and was really surprised how much I came away with from it. Kerri Rawson is fresh and likable as she tells her story of growing up in her family in Kansas. She describes it as just a totally normal, semi-dysfunctional family who works, goes to school, has vacations. Pretty typical family, it seems. She comes across very real as she shares her story and I find it like reading something a friend could be relating about what a really awful period in their life was like. The situation is just so unimaginable, and I just felt horrible for Kerri and her family, and all of the families. It gets a little bit repetitive on a few things, the spiritual theme, and other items that come up repeatedly perhaps after a while, but if that helped her get through all of what she describes well, more power to her. What I didn’t expect were some of the stories of situations she ended up in growing up with her dad that turned harrowing that she shares. In hindsight, she, of course, sees them differently after she learns of his killing past. I found this book better than I expected and well laid out. I’m glad I purchased this very heartfelt book, as it told so much more than just the BTK aspect of the family. They became real people to me by the midst of the book, not just headlines, due to her writing.
Anonymous 9 months ago
one+of+the+best+books+I%27ve+ever+read.+very+well+written.+breaks+my+heart+and+makes+me+angry+how+the+FBI+got+her+DNA+from+her+college+medical+records%2C+that+was+low+class+and+wrong++the+FBI+agent+should+be+punished+for+that+as+their+were+other+ways+to+obtain+her+or+his+DNA+without+violating+her+personal+medical+records.+her+struggles+and+honesty+touched+me.+she+was+and+is+a+victim%2C+but+she%27ll+make+it+through+with+her+family+and+her+faith.+I+recommend+this+book+to+everyone%21%0Athank+you+for+sharing+your+story.