The Admiral's Bride (Tall, Dark and Dangerous Series #7)

The Admiral's Bride (Tall, Dark and Dangerous Series #7)

by Suzanne Brockmann

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$4.25
View All Available Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Admiral's Bride (Tall, Dark and Dangerous Series #7) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 70 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great book that proves age doesnt matter... just make sure you read Hawkens Heart first so you get to know the admirals dead wife!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like reading a book where the man is strong but inside unsure because of a past love and the cold world he's come to know, you'll love Jake. He's a man who loves deeply and will only give his heart a second time when he knows it will be accepted and cherished as he plans to do. There is action, suspense and a touch of gentle sweetness you wouldn't expect to find in a military - do or die novel. Trust me, you'll fall in Love with Jake and read his story time and time again. It's one of my favorites.
jjmcgaffey on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I do love Brockmann. I actually hadn't read this one - I think I've read all the other SEAL Team Ten stories. Excellent - no giving up her career or his to make them fit, though considerable problems with his protectiveness and her drive. The rest of the team were pretty much background - but rich background with parts to play. I was trying to figure out when this was - after Hawken's Heart and before Get Lucky. Can't tell about Cowboy.
twylyghtbay on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book was longer and more detailed than most of the prior TDD series. The Admiral is a strong, self-confident determined former Navy Seal. Dr. Zoe Lange is much younger and idolizes the Admiral. She slowly gets to know the man and not the idol. The Admiral slowly realized that he is 50, not 90 and has a great deal of life left. They have to learn to depend on each other and work together. Their lives depend on it. Lots of action.
dianaleez on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
An early Brockmann - a quick easy read.
ZosiaCanberra on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I don¿t love all of the books in Suzanne Brockmann¿s earlier Navy SEALs series, but this one is great. The relationship and the suspense plot develop because of each other, and everything unfolds at the same time, the relationship moving the suspense forward, and the suspense moving the relationship forward. It was just so good. This is an unconventional romance to say the least. Jake, the hero, is fifty-three, while Zoe, the heroine, is twenty-nine. Jake is an admiral in the navy - a former SEAL - and a Vietnam War hero. He saved Zoe¿s father all those years ago, back before Zoe was even born. Brockmann does unconventional romance very well, and this was a wonderful story, and certainly not focused solely on the age difference. Zoe is brought into the SEAL team when canisters of a dangerous substance are stolen and being held by a cult leader. Zoe is one intelligent lady, and she¿s needed to help the navy guys locate and destroy the substance before it is used to attack Americans. In order to get into the cult Jake and Zoe must stage a relationship and then a marriage. Of course they are already attracted to each other so not a lot of acting is needed. Not all of the books in the Tall Dark and Dangerous series work, because the suspense is not always at the forefront of the story. This book deals with the question of how much you are willing to do - how far you are willing to go - in order to stop terrorists. Is it okay to sleep with someone you hate in exchange for information to help others? How far should Jake let Zoe go to get the job done? The decisions of both lead characters tell a lot about their feelings for each other. I did have a problem with one aspect of the story, but that¿s because the book was written in the Nineties, and also because of a personal reason. The hero, Jake, fought in the Vietnam War, and this is mentioned quite often. My father fought in Vietnam in the late Sixties, putting him over there the same time as Jake. It was extremely difficult for me to picture the hero as anything other than one of my father¿s aged war friends! I had to keep reminding myself the book took place more than a decade ago, and also not to picture any of the men I know! Everything worked so well in The Admiral¿s Bride. I loved the plot, the characters, and how heroes of other books in the series were there because they were necessary to the story. I didn¿t expect to like the relationship, but I really, really loved it. The suspense aspect had the potential to be hokey, but turned out to be very well done. A definite five star read for me.
reneebooks on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I don't particularly like older man/younger woman stories especially if the age difference is more than 18+ years. My first thought is that the hero is old enough to be the heroine's father and that's just icky. In TAB the age difference is 20+ years and was probably the worst aspect of the book for me. But Admiral Jake Robinson was a terrific hero. The first chapter was a flashback to one of his many heroic deeds from the Vietnam War and was a grippingly realistic account and a great way for the reader to get to know and love the hero. Now 52, Jake is a widower whose wife died from cancer three year before. He leads a SEAL team in covert operations and is a fully fit hunk (think Harrison Ford). Zoe Lange is a scientist who specializes in biological weapons and also works in covert operations. Jake's repeated angst because of his concern over the age difference was rather tiring. There was a fake wedding between Jake and Zoe that was arranged in order to get her into the compound (and so they can have hot sex of course) where he is working undercover. It was a rather trite plot device that you find frequently in series romance (and which I secretly love). The suspense was pretty good with most of the action taking place at the end. All in all a readable book. I think I would have liked it better if the age gap had been much smaller. (Grade: B-)
sciezka on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Book 7 of the Tall, Dark and Dangerous series. This is about a May-December romance between an admiral and a doctor. It was refreshing to read a romance with an older, more mature man as the hero.
lynnm on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Probably my favorite category romance novel. I absolutely love the romance between Navy Admiral Jake Robinson - a man who, at 50 plus years, feels far too old to fall in love again - and Dr. Zoe Lange.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I guess this really was not my favorite of Suzanne s books but it did have the other wisecracking characters that likened it up. Just too much angst about the age thing and inner dialogue.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
beckymmoe More than 1 year ago
I really liked this one. Though the age difference between Jake and Zoe is disturbing on the outside (24 years, yikes!) it was dealt with in a believeable way, I thought. Jake's problems/issues with being able to move on without Daisy were also portrayed very realistically and well. Loved the theme of infiltrating a compound of crazies--reminded me of my favorite 80s television show. :-) Can't wait to read more in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago