Al Capone Shines My Shoes (Tales from Alcatraz Series #2)

Al Capone Shines My Shoes (Tales from Alcatraz Series #2)

by Gennifer Choldenko

Paperback

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Al Capone Shines My Shoes 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 161 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you thought Al Capone does my shirts was good then you then you will abosolutly love Al Capone shines my shoes. I am only in the first few chapters of the book but I can tell you that the author made me keep me turning the pages even if it is 10:30 at night. Please buy this amazingly fantastic book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you liked al capone does my shirts you will definetly like this.i am in 5th grade and i loved this book.It kept me turning the pages.Great book.
Noel Jimenez More than 1 year ago
One word...................................AWESOME
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ever! Very exciting at the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book and so does my class.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My mom introduced me to Al Capone does my shirts first and told me about this one. When i finished reading al capone does my shirts i immediately bought it. I just finished it last night and i wish there were more for me to read! ; )
Stephanie67 More than 1 year ago
My 12 year old daughter and I love this sequel to Al Capone Does My Shirts. It takes from history and adds the fictional element to make the story engaging. The children in this book are very funny and bright. Please make sure to read the authors notes at the end of the book where she explains the 'facts' vs. the 'fiction'. A great read that inspired us to learn more about Alcatraz.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Had to read two books for 6th grade and then do a book report on them. Al capone shines my shoes was a Really good choice.
Mother-Daughter-Book-Club More than 1 year ago
It's 1935 on Alcatraz Island. Al Capone is The Rock's most famous prisoner among a number of notorious criminals. He's also a constant fascination for the families of the guards, who live in houses on the island next door to the cellblock. Moose Flanagan is the son of one of those guards. He's adjusting to life without his autistic sister Natalie, who has just been accepted into the Esther P. Marinoff School, a place her parents believe will help her learn how to function better in society. Moose is sure Al Capone pulled strings to get Natalie in after Moose wrote a letter asking for his help. When Moose gets a note in his laundry, he knows Capone is asking for a favor back. But how can he fulfill the request without getting his dad fired and the whole family exiled off the island? Al Capone Shines My Shoes by Gennifer Choldenko is a charming follow-up to her Newbery Honor winner, Al Capone Does My Shirts. You'll fall right back into Moose's story and life on Alcatraz, with its strict regulations for prisoners, guards and civilians alike. This time Moose is trying to navigate his conflicted feelings for Piper, the warden's daughter, and keep all his friends happy. He also has to determine where to draw the line with the cons who perform maintenance jobs in the homes: can he trust these men who for the most part seem like regular people, or should he keep their past crimes in mind when he interacts with them? I highly recommend this book for mother-daughter book clubs with girls aged 9 to 12.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cool
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it! Amazing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Oh my gosh can u people please write an actual review? Not something saying GREAT!!!!! Say how it was great. Come on. Dont be stupid. WRITE A REVIEW!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sweetness
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My 10 year old loved this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well writen
kimberly schultea More than 1 year ago
I had to read Al Capone does my shirts for one of my Summer reading books and I fell in love with it. It was sooo good. So, when I returned back to school ( from the Summer) I turned in my report for Al Capone and my teacher announced, " Class, we might read Al Capone shines my shoes since ya'll enjoyed Al Capone does my shirts soooo much". I was sooo exited. Only like, two people didn't enjoy Al Capone but, maybe they just weren't into it, unlike me. I would reccomed this book to anyone of any age.
Zarahi Dairy More than 1 year ago
Moose and his friends will show you a window to what was like to live in Alcatraz displaying the love of baseball, the strength in the bonds of friendship and family, and the power of forgiveness. I would recommend this book to Middle Schoolers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was interesting and also exciting.
ECHSLibrary on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A good sequel. Not quite as good as the first, but how many sequels are? When Al Capone requests a favor in return, the adventures begin. Fun!
sweetiegherkin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The sequel to Al Capone Does My Shirts continues the adventures of 12-year-old Matthew ¿Moose¿ Flanagan and his friends, fellow children of Alcatraz Island guards. After Al Capone did a favor for Moose at the end of the first book, Moose gets a note in Capone¿s hand that says ¿your turn.¿ After fretting for some time about the implications of this note, Moose eventually finds out Capone¿s request and thinks it¿s pretty innocuous. Little does he know all manner of chaos will soon break loose and Moose and his friends will have the adventure of a lifetime! As with the first book, Choldenko writes in simple, easily accessible language but by no means dumbs down her work. In many respects, this is high literature for young readers, although they probably won¿t notice that between the fast-paced plot and Moose¿s humorous and engaging narration. This is a definite winner ¿ for children and even adults!
phh333 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Sequel to Al Capone Does My Shirts, but not quite as good. Still an enjoyable read about the kids who live on Alcatraz and what they do when they think Al Capone need a favor.
lisagibson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved this book because it was re-visiting old friends. It was nice to see how far they had come, the character development was deeper and there was quite a bit of excitement to the story. Moose is a great main character who is struggling with being on the brink of adolescence but still truly being a kid.
lindamamak on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If you liked Al Capone does my shirts, you will love this sequel as the kids of prison guards learn about life on Alcatraz Island.
shelf-employed on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The year is 1935 and 12-year old Moose Flanagan and his sister, Natalie, are still living with their parents on Alcatraz Island where Moose's dad is a prison guard. The famous mobster, Al Capone is still in residence as well. In Al Capone Does My Shirts, Al Capone helped Moose by engineering Natalie's acceptance into a special-needs school in San Francisco. The action in Al Capone Shines My Shoes begins when Moose receives a note in his prison-laundered clothing, "your turn."Moose narrates the events that follow this missive from the powerful Al Capone, and there is plenty of action and suspense to satisfy readers. However, this book has far more to offer. As historical fiction, its location and period is certainly unique to the genre. What child wouldn't be interested in life on Alcatraz Island when Al Capone resided there? It's also a glimpse into a bygone era where 12-year-old kids can chaperone younger children on day-long trips in San Francisco and spend most of their time unsupervised, no modern "helicopter parents" appear in this book. For better or worse, life was just different back then. But what truly makes this a great book, is the relationship and depth of the younger characters. Rarely is there a children's book that offers insight into so many characters. By the end of Al Capone Shines My Shoes, the reader will identify with all of the island's young inhabitants - Jimmy, Moose's best friend who struggles to keep up with Moose's athletic prowess and easy likability; Jimmy's little sister, Theresa, who is much smarter than her seven years belie; the beautiful and spoiled Piper, the warden's daughter who acts out to cover her own grief; Janet Trixle, the tagalong daughter of one of the island's officers, Annie, Moose's good-natured and athletic girl friend, the story's narrator, Moose, who is learning much about love and life, and of course, Natalie, his autistic sister. Natalie's role in this story is not the role of the disabled sister, however. She is just another of the children. Yes, her disability causes complications and tension, but every child causes complications and tension, and Natalie is just another child. In the eyes of the Flanagans, and indeed, all of the local children, Natalie is simply Natalie - no better, no worse than anyone else. And although the Esther P. Marinoff School may try to "cure" Natalie, the Flanagan's are the only ones with the proper prescription - love. Al Capone, guard towers, prison escapes, baseball, mysterious notes, lies, cover-ups, adventure, love, honesty, friendship, responsibility - Gennifer Choldenko puts them all together brilliantly.
skstiles612 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is the sequel to Al Capone Does My Shirts. Moose still lives on Alcatraz island where his father is a guard. Thanks to Al Capone his autistic sister has found a place into the Esther P. Marinoff School. Moose is grateful until he receives a note in his shirt that says ¿your turn¿. Another note tells him that Mae Capone is coming for a visit and she loves yellow roses. Now he has to find a way to give her yellow roses without getting his father fired. This was a great book. It was filled with more adventure than the first one. Moose gets to see both sides of Al Capone, the decent and the conniving side. The story is full of prejudices, overcoming prejudices, learning to be a friend to someone with out setting boundaries and learning to forgive. Moose¿s sister Natalie plays a larger role in this book as well. I know they didn¿t have a word for Natalie¿s condition back then but the author draws upon her own experiences of having an autistic sister. I have worked with many autistic children in school and was able to make that subtle connection. It personalized the book in so many ways. I saw the kids the same way I see my students at school with some of the same problems such as, boyfriend, girlfriend problems, parent problems, friend problems and in some cases reacting inappropriately or making bad choices because of people who abuse authority. This will go on my shelves next to the first book.