Alive (Generations Trilogy Series #1)

Alive (Generations Trilogy Series #1)

by Scott Sigler

Paperback

$11.12 $12.00 Save 7% Current price is $11.12, Original price is $12. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, July 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Alive 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful page turner! Cannot wait to read the next one in the series. ~*~LEB~*~
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not a pleasure to read, and really boring after a while. Huge cliffhanger at the end. I don't know how this is getting good reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good young adult sci-fi.
toReadistoEscape More than 1 year ago
They had me at Hunger Games. It was also similar to Maze Runner. As I read my mind was conjuring up creatures from Avatar. The story line is amazingly creative. It was so engaging I could not put it down. The main character’s self-talk was somewhat cheesy at times. But I realized the necessity to convey the emotions and thoughts. Excellent story. I highly recommend this trilogy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is great couldn't be better
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wendy_Strain More than 1 year ago
There’s more than 300 pages in this book, but you wouldn’t know it. The action continues throughout, always offering hope as well as further complications. When the children finally discover their actual reality, it may not be enough for them to survive. The writing is so compelling that this isn’t a problem for the reader. You’ll want to just keep turning the pages to find out the answers and no, I’m not going to give any of them away here. What I can tell you is that the author has done an excellent job conveying the thoughts, internal emotions, and social behavior of a young girl and a group of kids who have no idea who they are, where they are, or what they need to do to keep alive and sane while also telling their story in a way that keeps the reader engaged at all time. While the children do eventually find some answers and a momentary solution to their most pressing needs, the book does not provide any easy answers as it questions the very nature of identity itself.
thepetitebookblogger More than 1 year ago
The author and publisher of Alive requested that the bloggers chosen to review the book not reveal too much information about the story line. I am in complete agreement with this request because I feel that you appreciate the book so much more if you don’t know too much about it. This review was very difficult for me to write as I could not highlight my favorite parts of the story nor talk about the characters or character development in-depth without spoiling some major plot twists. That being said, this review will be short and to the point as well as rather vague. Let me begin by saying that I have mixed emotions about Alive. While I was intrigued by the plot and captivated by the premise of the book, I could have just as easily put it down and walked away from it as well. I’m not sure if it is because I don’t normally read Sci-Fi or because it is not my preferred genre, but this book just didn’t work for me. When I read a book and I’m really entertained by the story, I can’t stop thinking about it. I love when a book has the ability to completely draw you in but unfortunately this one didn’t, and that really disappointed me. Because I could not connect with the characters emotionally, I felt as if I never really got to know them. Alive was very similar to the Maze Runner in the sense that there were many different characters involved in the storyline. The author did a great job in the presentation of the characters because having so many never became confusing or overwhelming. That being said, I was still unable to relate to the protagonist and I guess that is what made it difficult to enjoy. I admire that the story was very entertaining however, I wish that at least one of the characters was like able. I feel that Scott Sigler’s ability to tell a story and weave together an interesting and intricate plot was this book’s strong point. The book is split up into three parts. After the first part I was ready to DNF because I was not connecting with the story. Thank goodness that I didn’t put it down because parts two and three totally made up for the slow pace of part one. I became very involved in the plot and it held my interest. The revelation at the end of the story was a completely unexpected twist that I really enjoyed . In conclusion I just felt that the story was lacking in like able characters. I would however definitely recommend it to a sci-fi lover because I’m sure that they would really enjoy reading Alive.
kel_babyy More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The mystery of it was fantastic. My full review can be found here --> https://bookaddictkels.wordpress.com/2015/08/03/alive-by-scott-sigler/
BuckeyeAngel More than 1 year ago
**I received an ARC of this story in exchange for an honest review** Em wakes up in a coffin, strapped and barred in. She breaks free and finds 11 other coffins in the room. She hears a girl scream in one of the coffins and helps her get out. They find four more living people among the other 10 coffins. They realized they were all hungry. With no food in the room, they leave and go down a hall. They decided Em would lead since she got herself out and helped the others. Em was scared but still decided to lead. She knew inside herself it was the right thing to do. She was a person of action, when tough decisions had to be made she made them, even if it angered the others. She was mentally strong and determined. She did what she had to do to make her people survive. I was surprised how much I liked this story. It's not really something I'd usually read but I couldn't put it down. The characters were great as was the plot and overall story. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys sci fi.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ctwood09 More than 1 year ago
Solid start to a new series. It might not be your new favorite, but it is worth the read and action filled. And I can't wait until book 2!!! Check out my full video review at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HKvIfsDI-VA.
Jay_Otaku More than 1 year ago
Alive is not what I expected from Scott Sigler, his SciFi roots are there and he flourishes. Yet the elements of his horror also rear their head as he sprinkles them throughout the story. The real gem however is the main character M. Savage, the way she addresses, faces, and questions what she perceives versus the actuality which is a delight to watch unfold. There is a gradual build up and over time you find yourself rooting for Savage You begin to gain appreciation as you understand the world she is in, and become as desperate for her and company to survive. The rest of the cast of characters are stereotypes you know and love from this type of story, but they aren’t cardboard cutouts just filling the pages. That being said they do feel a bit underwhelming, as the story is from M.Savages point of view and the internal dialog that fills her out we can only guess at from the others, this I feel is why they are character stereotypes as to help us understand them a bit better. Some are fun, some you hate, some you start to hate a little less, and some well don’t make it. Just like any Sigler story everyone is on the chopping block until the final words of the final page. This is Sigler’s first step into the world of Survival Scifi, and its pretty well done. There are unanswered questions that make you want to read the next, and it doesn’t detract from the story or feel like a clumsy money grab. I just hope in the next story we get some chapters from some of the other characters, because even as awesome as Ripley was in Alien we still needed and got time with the rest of the ships crew to make this world and the story better across the board. With all this being said, I recommend Alive by Scott Sigler wholeheartedly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tpolen More than 1 year ago
This is a difficult review to write - not because I disliked the book, but because I don't want to give away any spoilers, so this will be short and sweet. When Em first awakes in the enclosed space, I felt like I was with her and for someone who is slightly claustrophobic, my heart was pounding as fast as hers. As the plot progresses, several other characters are introduced in various ways, each of them trying to figure out who and what they are. Alive made me feel like I was dropped in the middle of a chocolate factory, but without the keys to the tasting room - and I'm a ravenous chocoholic. Several hints are dropped about an intriguing backstory, so I look forward to learning more about it in the next book. With such a great opening scene that reaches out and yanks you in, I expected this to be a fast-paced story - the book isn't very long, but there seemed to be an extended lull soon after. I think the plot could have been a little tighter if so much time wasn't spent walking through hallways. Alive will appeal to sci-fi and dystopian fans. This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher through NetGalley.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You know, ive been wondering if it is okay to hate satan. God says love thine enemy or something close to that, but its near impossible to love satan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am Catholic and I love God!!!!!!!!!!! (I'm also the writer of LMS and MAP);)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jim Carrey
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im here to chat
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really need an answer to this qiestion. Does daniel radcliffe smoke? Please answer asap.~gnd3.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think ill quit. Too young....dont belong.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi guys, im new and i just saw your post on hunger games res. 1. Are we actully going to talk about God or not? Just wonderig.... -Britt Nicole
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey guys reneber me? I havent been on in like a year
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey! :) spread the word!!!!!! :D