All the President's Men

All the President's Men

by Carl Bernstein, Bob Woodward

Paperback(Reissue)

$16.20 $18.00 Save 10% Current price is $16.2, Original price is $18. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

All the President's Men 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 68 reviews.
JimRGill2012 More than 1 year ago
Of an engaging nonfiction narrative, it’s often said—as a form of praise—that it “reads like a novel.” Presumably because the characters are well developed, the plot is interesting, the themes are relevant or perceptive, and the prose style is compelling or original or captivating in some way. While this book certainly tells the tale of what is perhaps still the most consequential feat of 20th-century journalism, it is not a nonfiction book that reads like a novel. It is, however, worth the read, if only to provide hope given the current chaotic mess that is the US Executive branch of government. The factors that prevent All the President’s Men from achieving the lauded “reads like a novel” status are perhaps beyond the control of Bernstein and Woodward, who prove themselves to be intrepid, reflective reporters who are not above admitting their own shortcomings or lapses in judgment. The story they uncover is such a byzantine quagmire of conflicting loyalties, stealthy connections, cloak-and-dagger schemes, and downright preposterous (yet true) accusations against the most esteemed government office in the US that one forgives them for failing to weave an intelligible plot out of the Gordian knot of intrigue that they discover. Furthermore, Bernstein and Woodward are not necessarily storytellers—they are journalists telling the story of their story. Over 40 years after the Watergate scandal, the paranoia, hypocrisy, and dishonesty that emanated from the office of the President of the United States feel all too palpable in the current era, when we are forced to endure what will undoubtedly be regarded as the most ignorant, embarrassing, arrogant, appalling, and absolutely batsh*t crazy administration of all time. I simply hope that somewhere, working for a newspaper or website like the Washington Post, there are journalists in the mold of Bernstein and Woodward who will someday tell the story of 45’s corruption and reveal him for the criminal that he is.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is wonderful. Although at first it may seem confusing since there are many names thrown around of the people involved with Watergate, this book was truly a thriller. Very good reporting, descriptions of people (such as Sloane, Bradlee, Deep Throat),and anecdotes. I loved the tone - at times hilarious. This was a fast read I couldn't put it down. Very informative too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Intriguing! So interesting, it kept me on the edge of my seat. The story line is incredible, starting with just a minor break-in, that later lead to scandal Nixon started against the Democratic party. I also loved the way it was written, with intimate detail and description. The reason why I'm only rating it four stars though, is because new people were constantly being introduced, and often they'd only appear once. Minus one star for the confusion, but in the end it all comes together. I find it amazing how this duo of reporters kept on this story for so long until piece by piece they solved the puzzle. I also would often hear about Watergate and never knew what it was, and I'm glad I now know! It is also played a big role in my decision to try out journalism and see what it's like. Also saw the movie, and it certainly lived up to its standards - and cleared things up a bit! I would recommend this to anyone who likes a good mystery or likes journalism!
Guest More than 1 year ago
i also chose to read all the president's men because of a school book report. i found it very hard to stay with, especially since i was reading it little bits at a time. it took some time to understand, but in the end, i had it figured out. if you enjoy the background of historical events, this book is for you. it reviews two writer's views on the Watergate trials, and their first-hand look into what the journalism world thought of the Watergate trials.i strongly reccomend this book if you enjoy suspense and truth.
mramos on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In this book Bob Woodard and Carl Bernstein, two Pulitzer Prize-winning Washington Post reporters, chronicle their investigation of the Watergate scandal, which began as a burglary of the Democratic National Committee Headquarters on June 17, 1972. They explain the events that precipitated their first suspicions and led them to ascertain the truth. There is some strong language. A must read for all interested in seeing Watergate from a reporters view.
brianinbuffalo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Few books shaped my interest in journalism as much as Woodward and Bernstein's classic work. I first read it as a teen-ager, in an era when post-Watergate developments were still nudging their way into headlines. When I read the book decades later, I realized that this was timeless story about how tenacious reporting can change the course of history.
figre on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It is somewhat amazing to me that I have not read this book before. I¿ve read The Brethren at least three times, as well as Final Days. I¿ve seen the movie numerous times and always been enraptured by it. But I only recently purchased the book. Maybe it comes from my Republican upbringing ¿ the one that only in the last ten years allowed me to finally recognize that Nixon was a crook. Or maybe it was that overpowering desire I have had in that same ten years to try and be the hippie revolutionary I didn¿t allow myself to be (don¿t worry ¿ it isn¿t working). Ultimately, it¿s a matter of really wanting to read it ¿ and just finally getting to it.And, reading this book will remind you (or, if you are young enough, will let you know for the first time) how pivotal Watergate was to history and the presidency. No one really suspected how far it went. Yet it all came out. This is not as engrossing as good fiction. Nor should it be. If it were, it would be unbelievable. Instead, the straightforward approach, the avoidance of hyperbole, allows the reader to recognize that this is the real world, and this was a real event. And it is done in a balanced way ¿ one that shows the role of each reporter, and the role of other journalists. The handling of this reporting helps you understand why, even today, Woodward gets information that no one else does.Beyond the history, there are a lot of lessons to be learned. First, this is the foundation for someone¿s book on leadership. For all his faults, it is evident here that Nixon was great leader (as in, one who was great a leading, not as in one who was great in the way they led.) It is evident that people went beyond where they might, just because of him. Second, this should be required reading for anyone who does fraud investigation (not just investigative journalism.) This provides perfect examples of the investigation approaches ¿ planning the interviews, not ignoring the little things, never go beyond what you know is right (which Woodward and Bernstein did ¿ and paid a price). And, for a better experience, read this with some of the other volumes that came out at that time ¿ for example, The Brethren by Woodward (about the Supreme Court when all this was going on), Final Days by Woodward and Bernstein, and Breach of Faith by T H White.
Morena on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I read my mom's old copy at eleven, and fell completely in love with it. One of my all-time favorite stories. That it actually happened only made it better.
Angelic55blonde on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is an amazing book. It is about the Watergate scandal and the two reporters who had to wade through it all to get to the truth, which brought down a President. It's amazing and the movie is just as good.
Jaquesdemolay on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent account of the Nixon years. It is very well-written and reveals how two dedicated people made a difference in American history. Do we still make journalists like these? I would like to think so.
nicky_too on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Insightful up to a certain point, but very badly written.I had quite some trouble with this book, because of the style. It's terrible, especially since these men are (were?) reporters!I also find it's practically impossible to read if you do not already know something about Watergate. Thankfully I had read a biography about Nixon before I picked up this book.Now I've finished it I have to say I still am not much wiser. There a truckload of names, a lot of leads (most have to do with a money trail), but real conclusive information? There's not much of that, unfortunately.I find this book a waste of time.
dr_zirk on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Still a classic read after more than thirty years, All the President's Men succeeds so wonderfully because it is not afraid to dwell on the small details that make a journalistic investigation successful. As a dramatic story, the book itself is nowhere near as enthralling as the movie that it spawned. And yet the book is every bit as essential as the film, since the full scope of Woodward and Bernstein's Watergate investigation is revealed as the slow, deliberate, and nerve-wracking process that it really was. This is a story of perseverance and determination in pursuit of the truth, and from that angle alone this book constitutes essential reading for any thinking American.
readingfiend on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A fascinating look at what led up to Nixon's resignation. I was in my early teens when this all took place and so it really helped me to understand what went on.
thorswitch on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Probably one of the best investigative books I've ever read. This book really pulls back the curtains and shows us the ugly side of politics. This book is clear, well-sourced and entertaining to read - and it shows how a presidential administration that considers itself above the law can result in massive abuses of power - not to mention engaging in clearly unconstitutional activities. It also shows just how much the news media has changed over the last 30 years or so, and sadly, not for the better.
jrcchicago on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Gripping more than 30 years later, and as relevant as ever.
ennie on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I saw and enjoyed the movie, but had never read the book.It was slow going, reading about painstaking shoe-leather reporting of this now-historic time. I wonder if ferreting out the story would have been easier in the Internet age. Maybe not, since the players would not have broadcast their activities on the Web.I lived through the Watergate era. My mother yelled "Bitch! Bastard! Schmuck!" every night at the TV at the sight of Nixon's face. I was busy being a student and didn't pay close attention to what was going on.I don't know if I'm jaded by subsequent events or just clueless, but what these guys did doesn't seem all that bad. Political espionage, dirty tricks, secret taping, and then covering it up? Don't all politicians do that?What went on does seem worse than lying about sex with an intern.
JBD1 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The classic. Still Woodward's best.
5hrdrive on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Watergate break-in occurred forty years ago this week... I remember the break-in, trial, Senate hearings, and Nixon's resignation like they were yesterday. Sadly, I haven't trusted the executive branch much since. This first-hand account of the groundbreaking Washington Post investigation is a must read if you wish to understand the American political climate since the 1970's.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ague on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The history is fascinating. After a while the writing is intolerable. Became too boring to finish.
heidilove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This tale of two young journalists making their way through the maze of the Washington Post political beat is as gripping a tale as it is an expose on the political corruption they discovered. Well-written, it joins the likes of In Cold Blood.
Smiley on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The original investigative report that brought a president down. Bush makes Nixon look like a third rate burglar. Thrilling nonfiction read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's a very interesting story and it's nice to read about real journalists
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am old enough to remember the Nixon years. This book is an excellent history, but written at the time the matters took place. As far as I know nothing in the book was subsequently proven wrong.