Almost Home: A Novel

Almost Home: A Novel

by Valerie Fraser Luesse

Paperback

$15.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, May 28

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Almost Home: A Novel 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 39 reviews.
Anonymous 10 days ago
Set in my home state of Alabama, I enjoyed this book. It's WWII and people are looking for jobs. The US Government has them at the local ammunition plat. Dolly owns the local boardinghouse that allows these new folks to stay near work. In the boardinghouse, there are a variety of characters: former Yankee professors, a young veteran, and a Mississippi widower. These new people must find a way to live their new lives. However, the house also has a story. But even Dolly isn't immune from trouble. As she faces tragedy, it's the people who live under her roof who become her family. The all need to figure out what happened a century before. It's a compassionate story of loss, hope, and love.
Bookluvr4vr 12 days ago
Almost Home by Valerie Fraser Luesse is a 3 part novel involving the house of Si and Dolly Chandler in Blackberry Springs, Alabama. It’s the 1940s and the World War are actively happening. Si and Dolly are hurting for money and need to find a way to pay off their taxes. In order to pay the taxes, Si and Dolly open their home to a variety of guests that are needing a change of pace and to get back on their feet as the economy rejuvenates itself. The first set of guests we meet are Anna and Jesse Williams from Illinois. Anna and Jesse are a very young married couple in need of time away from their farm. Jesse needs to find work during the hard economic times. Additionally, Anna and Jesse need something to help put the spark back into their marriage. In order to entertain Anna, Dolly introduces Anna to a young widowed woman named Daisy. Daisy is an interesting girl and she loves to draw. Anna also meets the blind neighbor, Lilian, and they soon become fast friends. Lilian tells Anna about the legend of the famous Pirate Andre and his beloved preacher’s daughter, Catherine’s well known hidden treasure. Dolly and Si have looked around for the treasure for years since they live in the pirate’s former home. Soon, a solider, Reed Ingram, comes to stay at the inn. He struggles with PTSD from the war and he has been injured. However, Daisy comes to his rescue and helps him. However, will both Reed and Daisy conquer the battles that are raging inside them? When Anna finds an old journal hidden in a former slaves cellar, the tale becomes true to life. Anna, Daisy, Dolly, and the other women of the inn form a little group. The journals hold mystery information. Soon the men become involved. However, many different happenings distract the group from their precious journals, and some mysterious issues arise at the Chandler’s home. Will these couple’s find happiness and resolve their hurts? Is the story of Andre and Catherine true and is their really a treasure or will trouble take away all the hope they have? You are just going to have to grab a copy of the book for yourself. This is book was a great read. I did not realize that it was a three part novel and it surprised me as I continued reading. I felt that the characters and the problems they had were very true to life. I could relate to many of them. I really enjoy this book. This was my first Valerie Fraser Luesse read and I was not disappointed. I hope to be able to enjoy more of her books. Lastly, I want to thank Revell Publishing and the author for giving me the opportunity to review this complimentary ebook . I was under no obligation to give a positive or negative review.
Theologiczero 27 days ago
Almost Home is what I consider a sweet tea on a porch in the South kind of book. Unfortunately, I very much dislike this type of book. Now, just because it is not my style of book, though, does not mean it’s a bad book. It’s just not my style. Luesse takes the time to build a little suspense in the beginning of the book that hints to conflicts that will come as well as a 100-year-old mystery. However, this is not a quick paced book. It is a book about women who are surviving in a difficult time in America’s history (WWII) and how it impacted those who did not go to the war. Families went through economic hardships and had their lives disrupted by the war in ways that are not normally considered, which is the backstory of the book. The main story is about a wife and husband who run into tough times and end up at Dolly’s boarding house, and how the others help the couple remember what it means to be a couple. However, this is where I have some real issues with the story. The women are constantly crying over things and need the men to comfort them. Sometimes it seems like the women are strong in their own right, but then they go back to crying and needing to be comforted again, but with no real strength in their own actions. Every time I think a character has gotten the strength and wisdom to take action, she falls back into crying and…that’s it. It is a slower paced story and takes a while for the characters to do what they need to to make the story progress. However, if you would like a story that plods along at a consistent pace and is sensitive, then this is definitely the book for you. Thank you to BookishFirst and the publisher for giving me an advanced copy to read. All opinions are my own.
Donna172 3 months ago
Almost Home documents the lives of a group of strangers living through difficult post World War II times who all end of living in Dolly's boarding house. Jesse and Anna, a young married couple; Daisy, a young war widow; and Reed, a wounded veteran; and Evelyn and Harry, all end up living at Dolly and Si's boarding house. There lives become entwined as they live through daily personal and financial struggles in the boarding house as they all go from being strangers to becoming the best of friends. The plot was slightly predictable but as it became a story within a story the plot thickens and keeps the reader wondering. The characters become enthralled with the tale about a man (Andre) who people claimed was a pirate and the local minister's daughter's (Catherine) disappearance many years beforehand. When they discover Catherine's journals, they intend to solve the mystery of her disappearance. This book was like a breath of fresh air! The character's were simple and lovable. None of them had a bad bone in their bodies and I loved them all. This is a book about the goodness inside of people and how that kindness can spread despite the difficulties of a time period. All it takes in one person to be the spark! Thank you to Bookish First for the advanced reading copy!
RobinWillson 3 months ago
"We don’t get to see the whole map. We just have to cover our stretch o’ the road best we can .” Christian Historical set in Alabama during the war. A couple lives near an Army plant in a big old house where they took in boarders to help pay their taxes. Money and jobs were in short supply but there was work at the Army plant. These people, mainly three couples, came together in this big old house, living as best they could. This story is full of wonderful Southern warmth, charm and humor. You'll just love these people who are all struggling in their own way, trying to get by, putting a good face on it and learning from each other in the long run. The bond that they form is very strong. This is a new author for me - I'm a fan now. "We both like tendin’ to our own knittin’ and don’t get on each other’s nerves.” Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher and NetGalley book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.” #AlmostHome #NetGalley #BooksYouCanFeelGoodAbout
sandralb 3 months ago
This was a story that kept me guessing until the end. And left me wanting more. What a wonderful description of how a group of strangers became friends and all survived the depression and the second world war. The story takes place in Blackberry Springs, Alabama. You will genuinely care for Ms. Luesse's characters. We have a wonderful mix of people, who have all suffered lose and find themselves at Dolly's boarding house. It would be hard to pick a favorite. We have an unemployed couple of professors from Chicago, an estranged young couple from the Midwest, a widower from Mississippi, and a shattered young veteran struggling to heal from the war. There are a couple of outstanding neighbors as well, a young widow named Daisy and a special older blind neighbor named Lillian. There is so much to this book. You will learn what it means to help your neighbor. How to be a true friend. And how sharing helps the load grow lighter. This could have been a dark and sad novel, but I loved the way this author was able to draw hope out of the darkness. I enjoyed this story so much and I would definitely recommend it. I received a copy of this book from Revell through NetGalley. The opinions expressed in this review are my own.
valet 3 months ago
Almost Home was jam packed with love stories, a great mystery (hidden treasure), PTSD, grief, some great action, and trust in a loving God who helped them along the way. Listen, there was a lot of heart breaking grief that flowed through these pages but there were also some happy and wonderful moments entwined in their lives. The first feeling that this book might be a little different was a shocker. It had me laughing and it woke me right up. I couldn't wait to read more to see what was in store. There are so many great love stories included in Almost Home. Of course, I wanted details about each one and thankfully was not disappointed. I especially loved to hear about Si and Dolly. As a older couple with they gave gentle tidbits of wisdom and guidance to the younger ones. They remained my favorite characters throughout the book. A wonderful, wonderful read that's a keeper! This book was given to me by Revell and I gave my honest opinion
twhitehead 4 months ago
Full of southern hospitality, a story of love and friendships, along with a little mystery. Times are tough during World War II but a mixture of couples from different places converge onto Dolly's boardinghouse. Dolly turned her family home into a boardinghouse to help make the tax payments. Si, her husband, has added a rink and now a lake, to help get paying customers. A young couple from the Midwest, a war veteran suffering from injuries (both physical and mental), struggle to find their way but the house holds its own secrets. When tragedy comes to the property, the clues could lead Dolly, Si, and their tenants to solve the mystery. I loved this book! So full of southern hospitality and love. Took me back to growing up and sitting on the front porch with my grandparents. Wonderful memories and times. If you love sweetness and comfort in a book, this one is for you!
Moonpie72 5 months ago
I am classifying this as a cozy, warm fuzzy read! The people, the setting, the story filled me with nostalgia. I was transported back to a difficult but simpler time, before technology invaded life. Being a southern girl I totally related to the hospitality, kind spirits and sweetened ice tea!! Add to all this mystery and you have a 5 star read! Dolly and Si live in Alabama in a 100 year old home out in the “boonies”. They have turned it into a boarding house to make ends meet. It is WW2 and people have been wounded by the war in many ways. Families who have lost loved ones, soldiers returning with emotional and physical wounds, those who have lost jobs, homes, and finances. Everyone is hurting in some way. Dolly’s home was the perfect place for the eclectic mix of wounded hearts. They became a family and Dolly and Si like loving parents. Her big southern breakfasts and home cooked meals brought everyone together around the table to share burdens and encourage one another, like in times past. Basking in her love and kindness I was delighted to see each of the characters to heal in their own way and time. Their individual stories were so varied that I found myself immersed in each of their lives. I loved Dolly’s and the elderly neighbor’s homespun wisdom! I have marked the pages and am going to write them down to remember! Dolly’s homey letters to her sister Violet were delightful. It made me feel a bit like I was reading someone else’s mail! (No I don’t do that but I did enjoy it!) One strong thread that ran throughout the book was faith in God and waiting upon Him. I was so sad to have this book end. It was as if my visit was over and I had to leave Dolly and her wonderful home. I cannot wait to read more of Ms. Luesse’s books! I received this book from Revell Publishing in exchange for an honest review. The opinions I have stated are my own.
Britney_Adams 5 months ago
Almost Home is a tender tale that transports readers to Blackberry Springs, Alabama, amid World War II. The time period and setting are vividly portrayed, as is the community that surrounds Dolly Chandler’s family home. The cast of characters is delightfully engaging, and I was moved by their individual stories and struggles. Their heartache and healing bring emotional depth to this sweet, southern story, and its lyrical writing makes it a pleasure to read. I thoroughly enjoyed Almost Home and look forward to reading more from Valerie Fraser Luesse. I received a complimentary copy of this book. No review was required, and all thoughts expressed are my own.
KayleesKindofWrites 5 months ago
Genre: WWII, historical, Christian fiction. My Rating: 4 stars. My Recommendation: 16 up. My Favorite Character/s: Each of the characters is one of a kind, and I love following each of their stories. I can't say I have a favorite though since each one made the other better. They were people bonded into a family by tragedy, friendship and an eternal Love. My Thoughts: This story opened on an easy to follow and mesmerizing description of what life was like during WWII. I loved this story, it was so interesting and a new look at WWII for me. The whole book was so deep and the characters' struggles so real that the book just kept me swiping from one page to the next. Warnings: There are suggestions of . . . not ghosts but I'm not sure really what to say what but like the house was "living". Which made me uncomfortable. I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for my honest review, and I am truly happy to provide it!
Virginiaw 5 months ago
This story will make you laugh and cry. I did not want to put this book down. This is the type of story that shows how people take care of other people during crises. These were people’s that didn’t know each other but who grew to love one another. They grew to be a family even when they were not related. I loved the characters and how they interacted. I received a copy of this book from Revell for a fair and honest opinion that I gave of my own free will.
ARS8 5 months ago
There is just something lyrical in the way author Fraser Luesse writes. I thoroughly enjoyed Missing Isaac and I was not disappointed in Almost Home. The story takes place during World War 2 and many people are out of work, displaced, and finding their lives completely different and turned around. Dolly and her husband Si have turned their home into a boarding house for those folks needing a place to stay to work at the munitions plant. There was quite an array of characters and I enjoyed watching them all become a family under not only Dolly’s and Si’s roof but also under their care. There are ups and downs as everyone is adjusting to a new normal but the love and friendship they develop was certainly a blessing. There are a couple of love stories, my favorite was the young married couple falling back in love again and sharing their troubles instead of shutting one another out. The ladies of the house have become quite interested in an old legend of the previous owners from about a hundred years ago. What happened to the young couple on their wedding day: was it murder or did they run away from the town? Who was the mysterious husband who came into town and married the preacher’s daughter? I was riveted right along with Dolly, Anna, Evelyn, and Daisy as they worked to uncover this story’s beginning and end. This was a fantastic read of people becoming family even in the hard times and even a hundred year old mystery to solve. I received a copy of this novel from the publisher. I was not required to post a positive review and all views and opinions are my own.
JLYoung 5 months ago
I felt relaxed the entire time I read this book. It has a lyrical pace that is great for the setting. If you can picture what it would be like to read something that has the feel of sitting out on a huge porch with a sweet tea on a summer afternoon, that's what this book feels like. Lovely cast and setting. I love how the characters become so intertwined and they form a wonderful community together. Beautiful descriptions and writing style in general. The book has a reflective feel to it. That being said, I did find it a little hard to stay engaged. I would have liked just a little bit more action. I found it confusing that the first half of the story was kind of left by the wayside when the story moved to the 2nd half. I wonder if the story would have progressed better and kept more solid to the end if the stories would have run concurrently instead of back to back. I gave the book 3 stars. It was a nice story to read once... but it's not one I would read a 2nd time. I received a copy of this book from the publisher. I was in no way required to write a positive review. All thoughts are my own.
JuneMJ 5 months ago
I enjoy historical Southern fiction, so when this book came up for review I knew I wanted to read it. I am so glad I did! This author is simply a master storyteller. The words of her narrative and the characters' dialogue is seamless, realistic, and engaging. I spent a many of my childhood summer vacations surrounded by people who were in the various age groups of this ensemble of characters. This story is set in Alabama; my family was raised in Louisiana and Mississippi. Reading the vocabulary and idioms used by the characters in this novel was like attending a family reunion. {A lifetime favorite saying of mine which is included on page 66 of this manuscript is: "It's time to fish or cut bait."} There are two stories going on simultaneously in this book. The present-time story set in 1944 and the legend of Catherine and Andrew set a century earlier in the 1840s. The women of the present-day ensemble--Dolly, Anna, Daisy, and Evelyn--become entranced by Catherine and Andrew's love story as they read Catherine's journals. Another unique and treasured character is an elderly blind woman, Lillian, who is a neighbor on 'the loop' -- the rural neighborhood where the story takes place. Miss Lillian offers her keen insight and advice to the younger characters. She seems to have an intuition about people and love which astonishes those with whom she comes in contact. I don't want to spoil the story, so I won't give any more details about how the plot progresses or which secrets are revealed as the women delve into the journals and discuss the contents. Suffice to say this is a beautifully-written story whose characters and plot I will be pondering for a long time to come . . . I look forward to reading more work by this author, including her previous award-winning novel entitled, 'Finding Isaac'. This book is highly-recommended to fans of historical fiction, WWII fiction, Southern fiction, women's fiction, and inspirational romance. ******************* Disclosure from reviewer: I received a paperback copy of this novel from the publisher in exchange for an honest review to be posted on my blog and on retailer sites and Goodreads. I received no compensation for my review or posts here or on any other site. # # # # #
Cortsreads 5 months ago
Dolly and Si run a boardinghouse down in Alabama. People all over the country have came down south for jobs in Uncle Sam's munitions plants. Opening your house to people to try and make ends meet, but you just never know who will get. Almost Home is a story about loss and healing. You learn how a war can affect everyone and how damaging it can be. You get to meet all the characters who are struggling in their own ways. Friendships are made, marriages start to heal, and people come together when tragedy strikes. I fell in love with Dolly right away, and her need to mother her tenants. This story was written so beautifully. Valerie did such an incredible job of intertwining all these people from different places and backgrounds. This is a book that you will enjoy from start to finish.
Changed-by-Christ 5 months ago

My thoughts:
Sweet is the only word I could find to describe this book as I searched my mind for an accurate description after I had finished it. Actually, I think I may have been more like Ohmygosh, it's just so sweet! Anyway, I loved this book.
This was my first ever book by Ms. Luesse, and I do believe I will be reading more of her writing. I wasn't completely sure how I would like it to be honest. It seemed a slightly cliche story line set during the time of WWII, and yet Ms. Luesse made the reading journey so unforgettable and sweet. As soon as I began reading, I was drawn into the characters, which is no big surprise. If you've read any of my previous reviews, you'll know that characters are a HUGE thing to me. I go into the story looking to see how unique and realistic they are, and Luesse's were definitely that.
While this was not a story so full of suspense and thrill that I did not want to put it down, it had a unique unputdownable quality of its own. As I read, I became unaware of the time and often read quite late into the night, which can actually be quite dangerous for a bookworm with little self-control.
So, overall, this book was quite magnificent and sweet. I loved seeing how the characters learned from their experiences and how everyone grew stronger together, and it was an amazing story of friendship that I will not soon forget.

**I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions and thoughts in this review are my own.**

Changed-by-Christ 5 months ago

My thoughts:
Sweet is the only word I could find to describe this book as I searched my mind for an accurate description after I had finished it. Actually, I think I may have been more like Ohmygosh, it's just so sweet! Anyway, I loved this book.
This was my first ever book by Ms. Luesse, and I do believe I will be reading more of her writing. I wasn't completely sure how I would like it to be honest. It seemed a slightly cliche story line set during the time of WWII, and yet Ms. Luesse made the reading journey so unforgettable and sweet. As soon as I began reading, I was drawn into the characters, which is no big surprise. If you've read any of my previous reviews, you'll know that characters are a HUGE thing to me. I go into the story looking to see how unique and realistic they are, and Luesse's were definitely that.
While this was not a story so full of suspense and thrill that I did not want to put it down, it had a unique unputdownable quality of its own. As I read, I became unaware of the time and often read quite late into the night, which can actually be quite dangerous for a bookworm with little self-control.
So, overall, this book was quite magnificent and sweet. I loved seeing how the characters learned from their experiences and how everyone grew stronger together, and it was an amazing story of friendship that I will not soon forget.

**I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions and thoughts in this review are my own.**

chattynatty 5 months ago
Really enjoyed this read. It takes place during WWII, but it really focused on state side activity during war time. it also brings to light the depression that was occurring in the US during war time. The setting was Dolly and Si's large home, Mama's home (Dolly's mother's house). Dolly and Si to make ends meet open their home to boarders: Evelyn and Harry, Joe, Anna and Jesse, and Reed. These people all bring stories and baggage with them (no pun intended) to their new home. During this story relationships evolve, a mystery involving "treasure" occurs, and the reader gets to feel like he/she is part of the story. I highly recommend this read! Thank you to Revell Reads for sending me this book to review. #AlmostHome, #RevellRead
iamree 5 months ago
An Easy-to-Read, Mostly Sweet Tale: For readers who enjoy the writing of Maeve Binchy, then think of 'Almost Home' as a Binchy-type tale but with a southern USA setting. At first I was afraid that 'Almost Home' might have an overload of good-hearted Southerners spouting 'bless-your-soul' sweet phrases as they served their region's traditional food, but I was proved wrong. There are several characters who experience growth, belief in themselves, and learn a few things about maintaining relationships. In addition, there is a hyppocritical Reverend who loved the power of his position far more than any beliefs in the power of doing good. Then too, any reader will enjoy the self-help reminder that appears in a page 54 conversation when one character tries to help another by saying "what-ifs are big sticks with which we smite ourselves." This book has characters who need to work to make their marriage succeed in light of the depressed American economy, a man who grapples with the guilt of not being drafted when he meets a vet with severe war wounds, and hypocrites who try to cash in on vulnerable war veterans suffering from PTSD (before that label was created.) The characters who struggle to overcome financial debts and heath issues really shine a light on people who see their glass as half empty instead of half full and complain about things such as not being seated at a table with a view for a resort's dinner service. (In the meantime, another guest kills himself.) The book has a touching ending that wraps up the slight hint of mystery in the story. My only criticism is that I wish the character of Si had not helped end the book with his desire to start a circus. That goal did not add anything to the story, and since circuses are a notorious life of torturous training for wild animals, why add even a hint of support for that type of business. While I realize that this book is set in the first half of the 1900's, the circus reference does not strengthen the setting or plot.
Dalai-Momma-Drama 6 months ago
Aaah, that Southern charm. A story of friendship, love, and spirituality. Set in 1944 during World War II we are introduced to Dolly and Si, charming characters running a boarding establishment in their residence in the hopes that they don't have to lose their lovely home to the financial downfalls of the time. Sacrificing space and privacy they take to helping others. This leaves the story the ability to introduce us to a slew of unique and wonderful characters that we meet along the way. There is not much more I can say about the book and still be able to avoid spoilers. It's such a flowing read you find yourself at the end without even realizing. Quaint and beautiful. You'll discover yourself, on several occasion, with a semi-permanent smile on your face that you didn't know you were wearing. Author Valerie Fraser Luesse's writing style is elegant and graceful, uncluttered of words that don't matter. Every single sentence takes you back into a time you might not have ever even experienced in real life but feel like you have. I can see myself revisiting, rereading this book in the near future. Thanks to Bookish and author Valerie Fraser Luesse for win of this book. I received. I read. I reviewed this book honestly and voluntarily.
AngelN1 6 months ago
I really enjoyed this book. Set in Alabama during WWII, Almost Home by Valerie Fraser Luesse has themes of forgiveness and strong characters. I especially enjoyed Anna, Daisy, and Reed, which were well-drawn characters with plenty of depth and growth throughout the novel. The mystery added some fun to the plot, but mostly, this is a story of true friendship. I enjoyed the humor throughout the book, and the variety in the cast of characters. I felt that the varied character stories wove together beautifully. I highly recommend this book. I received a copy of the book from the publisher, Revell, in exchange for writing an honest review, but all opinions are my own.
parmilespages 6 months ago
It’s the spring of 1944 and Dolly Chandler has turned her family home into a boardinghouse. With the beginning of WWII, the town of Blackberry Springs, Alabama has many coming to work in the munitions plants, so Dolly has an eclectic group of people wanting to rent her rooms. As time passes and the boarders share their stories, friendships and new bonds are formed creating a unique and caring family. One of the boarders, Anna, takes a special interest in the history of the house and a story of a young bride from 1844, wondering if the rumors and stories are true or not. As she discovers clues and evidence of it’s past, the truth slowly reveals a special story and treasure. This story was rich with unique characters, many healing from past relationships or the causalities of the war. My favorite aspect was the personalities of each character and how they fit into the whole of the story. Dolly was the glue that held everything together and made everyone feel special. And her husband Si was her cohort in her scheming. I genuinely liked all of the characters, except the villain, of course. And I loved the way the characters interacted and helped each other. There was a sense of the mystical amongst the narrative, as well, with a flutter of the curtains or the slight chime of the chandelier signaling a special or unexpected outcome or happenstance. There was also an appearance of a deceased person in a dream giving a message, which I thought was unnecessary and a little strange; as well as a little girl with prophetic message. The ending was satisfactory for everyone involved, making the reader sigh with contentment. I would highly recommend this historical fiction novel.
Anonymous 6 months ago
A sweet 1940s story that celebrates the charm of the south, hope, healing, and the power of love and friendship. This was my first book by Valerie Luesse, and frankly, I loved it. She has a knack for dialogue that pulls you effortlessly into the story, and has mastered the art of description that made Dolly, Anna, Reed, and the other characters living on The Loop come to life. Stories set solely on the home front during WWII are rare - and ones set in the South, even more so. The incorporation of the munitions plants and the struggles that people faced was interesting and the historical details were authentic. But if you think it's strictly a WWII story, think again. Reading about Catherine and her mysterious groom a hundred years before was intriguing. I enjoyed discovering how their love story fit into the journeys of the strangers-turned-friends who found home in Dolly's boarding house. But I won't say any more, lest I spoil the story. :) And oh, yes, the romance. It was sweet and pure and based on the Biblical definition of sacrificial love. I loved seeing how Anna and Jesse worked through hard times together, and the blossoming of friendship and love between another certain couple (won't give any spoilers) was perfect. Okay, now for my only disclaimer.There were some "friendly ghosts" (implied by a chandelier tinkling or a door slipping ajar, for instance) and an appearance in a dream by a deceased person. Also some rather interesting prophetic encounters. Personally I think the story would have been fine without this subplot, but it really didn't affect the rest of the story. It may sound odd, but somehow Valerie Luesse manages to make all of that seem light and inconsequential. Overall, a fantastic WWII tale that made me smile, with characters that stayed with me after the last page.
Nicnac63 6 months ago
Almost Home is a slower-paced book, allowing the reader to savor the scenes. I love southern fiction, and adding a bit of history makes it even better. This character-driven story takes place in Alabama where a boom of hiring at the munitions plant brings a myriad of guests to Dolly’s boardinghouse. Dolly is a wonderful hostess, and I enjoyed being a guest. I like the veteran-returning-home aspect of this story, adding so much depth. This story showcases love and loss, and although the times are tough, there’s a solid thread of hope and encouragement. Almost Home is a redemption group of stories entwined together by a past mystery. #PrettyCoverArt #Almost Home First Line (Chapter One): Anna Williams leaned out the truck window and let the wind blow her damp auburn hair away from her face. I received an advance copy of this book. Opinions expressed are completely my own.