Alpha Instinct (Moon Shifter Series #1)

Alpha Instinct (Moon Shifter Series #1)

by Katie Reus

NOOK Book(eBook)

$2.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Alpha Instinct 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 57 reviews.
talinaperkins More than 1 year ago
(4.5 Star Top Pick from Night Owl Reviews written by Talina Perkins) Plot: Alpha Instinct is a well plotted, excellently delivered emotional and sensual ride that grabs hold and doesn't let go! Going in I knew this book would be different. The opening was fresh, giving me exactly what I like-the hero from the start. Within the first few pages I got a very good feeling for the heroine, the antagonist, and the hero, all intricately woven into the setting of the story which takes place in Fontana Mountain. This story revolves around a pack of shifters that has recently suffered the loss of all the males and pregnant members due to poisoning with no leads as to how or why. The neighboring pack's alpha is nothing short of insane and is gunning to make the unprotected Cordona Alpha female-our heroine-his mate even if by force. All eyes are on this pack as the likely reason behind the attacks yet after some twists and turns and a few moments inside the offender’s point of view I quickly understood that there is an even deeper mystery to solve in this story. And nothing proves this point better than when yet another shifter body shows up and the poisoning starts again. Through many twists and turns that leads us into one escalating moment after another Ms. Reus delivers mystery, suspense and a romance nothing short of heart pounding! Writing: I believe with a little more polish Katie Reus will easily become highly sought after in the paranormal romance genre. She definitely shows great ability in wringing out every emotion available to readers and making them like it. Ms. Reus also writes with great attention to details that add depth and her characters are just as memorable as the stories behind them. The only point that slowed the pacing of the story was the authors tendency to be repetitive concerning character traits and some world building points. Characters: Ana Cordona is a heroine was a heroine that I enjoyed spending my reading time with. Protective, caring and just head strong and determined enough to know when enough is enough. I didn't always feel that way about her though. I thought her weak and started to get really annoyed with her letting the hero muscle in and demand that he be made alpha and given the right to bond with Ana. Then I discovered the history that they shared. As I continued reading I also learned that patience is a virtue. Not only in reading and giving a story time to grow and flourish to show me all the characters flaws and characteristics but also in that the heroine was not showing weakness but patience instead. When I saw this I also understood something about myself and what I have been told about being overly patient with people. I love learning from the books I enjoy and this is one instance that taught me something indeed. The hero, Connor Armstrong, was the typical alpha male in all the sense, but he was not uncaring or ungentle with the heroine. Demanding and protective to the point of suffocating but he had his reasons and fears which were slowly unveiled as the story continued. It was worth every minute, every twist and turn to see if he and the heroine could reach a happily ever after though every obstacle possible was thrown in their way. The secondary characters were just as interesting and I hope to see more of the warrior shifters in the future installments of this series.
RBtWBC More than 1 year ago
Ana Cordona is the Alpha of the Cordona pack after all the males and pregnant females were mysteriously poisoned, and though her pack respects her leadership, Ana knows that she won’t be able to hold it for long. With no Alpha male to lead, her pack is easy pickings for the more aggressive males of the breed and vulnerable to take over. Ana’s neighboring Alpha, Taggart, has already proven what lengths a wolf will go to to claim her, her pack and her lands. When Connor Armstrong walks back into Ana’s life offering much-need protection Ana would be a fool to turn him away, despite how he walked away from her fifty years ago breaking her heart in the process. But can she accept the terms he has set in exchange? Because Connor wants more from the beautiful she-wolf than just her pack, he wants all of Ana – body, mind and soul. The stakes are high but they soon turn deadly when more shifters turn up dead and humans are thrown into the mix. Who is trying to destroy Ana’s pack and can Connor protect them? Or will he lose in more than the game of love? I absolutely loved Alpha Instinct. So much so, my poor book is looking rather abused from carting it everywhere I went while reading. It felt like a crime to put this down for even a minute! Author Katie Reus is a wickedly talented writer, providing vivid details giving depth to not just the amazing characters but the world that she has created around them as well. Ana was an intriguing leading lady; she is tough but also sensitive, caring and protective towards her family and pack. Her feelings towards Connor are complicated; there is still that spark of attraction between them but she is weary of letting her feelings deepen for him because of their past. The sexual tension between Connor and Ana is palpable from the pages and a rather frustrating journey until they finally give in. But that didn’t mean their problems were solved, Ana and Connor’s ride was full of pot holes and I believe that makes them more relatable to the reader. Connor was a sexy hero with a hint of a Scottish brogue which was super hot. He’s extremely protective and comes off as pushy at first but as you read along you understand his reasoning’s. The story grows right along with the characters. Mystery and suspense is woven into the romance with three nasty villains, one of whom is an unknown until the very end. The story builds and builds, with plenty of twists and turns, until it reaches a heart pounding climax that will keep you turning the pages. There were also some heart breaking moments that caused my allergies to act up (lol) and the secondary characters were all enamoring. I especially enjoyed the sub plot and romance of Connor’s brother, Liam, whose story will continue into the second novel, Primal Possession (September 2012). My only complaint for the novel would be the repetitiveness when it came to describing a few character traits, a minor issue really in such a great story. Alpha Instinct is a promising start to the Moon Shifter series and I am eagerly anticipating the next installment! 4.5/5
AMR0406 More than 1 year ago
This was my first paranormal read by Katie Reus. With werewolf/shifter books you never know how much is going to be in the human form versus the animal form. I tend to like the ones that think/react more with their human side and I was very pleased with the balance in this book. I thought Katie did a very good job with creating the characters and making them believable as the characters maintained a daily life mingling with humans. It made the idea of shifters more real to me. I thought the intimate scenes were very well written and planned out. They were not just animalistic / physical unions between the two characters but were based on feelings and emotional desires. I really, really enjoyed Ana. She is a strong person who really loves and cares for her pack and feels they all look up to her so she has to maintain that strength. It was fun to watch how she had to adjust when Connor and his pack came into the picture and wanted to take care of her and her pack. It was a good back and forth between the two. I liked Liam so much and am looking forward to reading his story (Primal Possession). I thought the telepathic abilities between Connor and Liam were very cool and look forward to more of that in the other books. The cubs Vivian and Lucas were a great addition to the story! I think Vivian steals the show sometimes – especially when she is in her jaguar form. Overall this story was quite a ride with Connor’s and Ana’s packs assimilating, Taggert’s pack wanting Ana’s land and the humans that wanted to eliminate shifters all together. Not a dull moment in the story and the emotions in this book included happiness, sadness, fear, passion and love. I highly recommend this book to anyone that likes reading paranormal romance.
AmyC21 More than 1 year ago
Ana Cordona a lupine shifter has taken place as the alpha in her pack when tragedy struck her family, causing them all to lose so many. She is strong and wise but is left with a choice, stay to herself and expect to see any warrior class lupine shifter to step in and take control away from her, or let the past back in to help her save her family and land. The past being someone she truly liked and had fallen for,until he disappeared never to be heard of again, until now. Connor Armstrong, his brother Liam and his pack of warrior class lupine shifters appear when situations between Ana and her lupine shifting neighbor Taggart were about to get messy. Ana soon ends up with an offer on the table. Connor wants to help, but not without having her as his mate first. Old feelings rise between the two as they are faced with several obstacles,Taggart, a sickness that swept through her pack before and someone roaming their farm killing those within her pack. I enjoyed reading Alpha Instinct because of its paranormal influences, the constant action and romance that was rekindled and made stronger.
The-Book-Diaries More than 1 year ago
Ana Cordona has been a strong leader for the lupine shifters who survived after all the males and most of the females in her pack were mysteriously poisoned. As tough as she is, with no Alpha male, the pack is vulnerable to the devious shifter Taggart, who wants to claim both their ranch and Ana as his own. When Connor Armstrong comes back into her life, promising protection, it's almost enough to make Ana forget how he walked out on her before--and reluctantly accept his offer to mate. The minute Connor sees Ana again, it reawakens a raw hunger. He must have her for his bondmate--his wolf cries out for it. But his human side knows he must proceed with caution because of their complicated past. If he is to truly have her body and soul, he must go beyond his burning desire and win back her heart. Whatever it takes, he is determined not to leave her side again. But Taggart and his rival pack are not their only enemies. A human element in town is targeting shifters. Their plan not only threatens Ana and Connor's future, but the lives of the entire pack... If you are a fan of Rachel Vincent's Shifter Series, then this is right up your alley. Ana is a strong female shifter who has been through extreme loss, not only losing her family and pack but also losing the love of her life. When Conner comes back, you think that everything is going to be alright. Nope, you're wrong. Ana will have to not only fight to keep her pack but also find out who is still trying to kill them. This book is a great read and I will contiue with the series. Comment Comment | Permalink
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story was great! A good story about a strong woman and an alpha male
Aiisylynn More than 1 year ago
Great werewolf story.
rustyray1 More than 1 year ago
I like this first book. Is the author going to do others, and if so when. The ending leads one to think the author might be writing a sequel. Need more like this book.
STACYatUFI on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
After all the men and pregnant woman of her pack dies Ana stepped up as the Alpha Female. The only problem with that is that in her world the men have all the power and woman are not given the support to lead their own pack. A neighboring Alpha is set on having Ana and her pack for himself and will stop at nothing to have it. All this leads Ana to accepts the protection and help of her childhood love Connor even though she vows not to let him back in her heart because she doesn't want to get hurt again.I enjoyed watching Ana and Connor shift around their feelings for each other. From the start you could feel their bond and protectiveness as well as their attraction for each other. Connor stated off way to pushy which lead Ana to believe he wasn't really wanting her but the pack she had behind her and because of Ana's reaction to him Connor pushed that much more to get her to want him as a mate. The sexual tension was there from the start and it was quite a frustrating ride until they finally gave into each other. There was a great amount of conflict, action and emotion behind ALPHA INSTINCT. I had many guesses at who was responsible for poisoning the pack but I didn't see the real killer until they were about to be revealed. There were a few slow parts but Katie did a good job of keeping me interested in the story. I enjoyed getting to know all the secondary characters. I was kinda sad to see that future books would be following different characters as they find their mates but Ana and Connor were a great start to the series.Liam, Connor's brother starts his journey with his mate in the background of ALPHA INSTINCT I liked getting to know him and his match a little before their book starts next. I really enjoyed the first installment of Katie Reus' Moon Shifter series and am most defiantly planning on continuing with Liam's mating journey in book 2.
LindaTownsend More than 1 year ago
Thrilling suspense and racy paranormal romance! Alpha Instinct by Katie Reus marks the exciting debut of her Moon Shifter series. The wolfishly sexy series features passionate, protective lupine shifters and the stories are teeming with thrilling suspense and racy romance! I’m unintentionally reading this series out-of-order and am seriously thrilled to have finally found the time to jump into the series’ introduction and thus fill in the back stories of some of the characters who have appeared in succeeding books. That said, each later installment I’ve read has stood perfectly well on its own. So, if you are thinking of starting the series, feel free to jump in anywhere you please as doing so has not affected my enjoyment of the series in the least. Alpha Instinct is a second chance at romance for this couple as they have a prior history. Connor has now returned – just in the nick of time – and his sight is set on Ana. He’s waited a half century for her and he won’t wait any longer to make her his. I’m not going to waste any time rehashing their story because Katie tells it so well. Just know that if you love paranormal romance, you need to read it! The hero and heroine are both alphas and pack leaders. As such they are strong, protective and don’t follow orders well. The chemistry and sexual tension between them is tangible from the get-go. Connor has a slight Scottish brogue which makes him even sexier. Ana is frustratingly stubborn and Connor needs to hurry up laying out how he feels! The villains are all despicable… Be forewarned: This book will deprive you of sleep until you’ve finished it. Following please find a few my favorite lines from Alpha Instinct: “I can do slow and soft.” He lowered his voice as he leaned closer. “And fast and hard, or a mix of the two. Whatever you want, Ana.” --- “Uh, I wondered if you were a boxers or briefs kind of guy.” “You want to find out right now?” he asked playfully. --- “If you really want to mate with me, then you should know I don’t take orders very well.” “Then I’ll just have to come up with unique ways to punish you.” --- “If you keep looking at me like that, I’m not going to take my time,” he growled. Seriously, you cannot go wrong with ANY Katie Reus book. She’s wickedly talented and one of my favorite authors. She writes a diverse array of genres from paranormal romance to contemporary romance to romantic suspense to sci-fi romance and more! AND every one is addictively awesome! Alpha Instinct is a prime example. It features a great pack structure, truly HOT, HOT, HOT alpha males, kickass females, plenty of fast-paced action, surprising twists and turns, danger galore and loads of sexy times. The bottomline is that this book is howling awesome and I highly recommend it! By the way, Alpha Instinct introduces Connor’s brother, Liam, and his human mate, December McIntyre, the sheriff’s sister in a subplot. Now, I can’t wait to read the continuation of their brewing story in the next Moon Shifter novel, Primal Possession! Bring it on!
PRreader More than 1 year ago
Katie Reus is a new author for me. I loved this first book in her Moon Shifter Series and have acquired the rest of them (to date).
booknooknuts More than 1 year ago
I have read a few of the books in this series and I enjoyed them so much that I wanted to go back and start   with book #1 and I am so glad I did.  In this book we have shifters who are now mating outside their race. Some are not happy about it.  They are also dealing with biased shifters and one is crazy as all get out.  Taggart wants Ana’s land to build what is going to destroy the town.  Connor Armstrong has come back to the woman he has loved his entire life. Her family has no one left but the women and although Ana is an alpha by some regards however she is no man or match for the evil that is upon her family.  Will Connor win Ana after all their years apart? Can he protect the pack and her family? I enjoyed this book and I can not wait to start book #2 in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a very good book. Can't wait to read the next in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book. Very well planned plot with lots of twists and turns. Well developed characters that will be very nice to get to know in the following books in the series. A great love story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book!!!!!!!!!!!! On to book #2!! Cant wait
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very exciting and loved the romance!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago