Altered Destiny

Altered Destiny

by Shawna Thomas

NOOK BookOriginal (eBook - Original)

$1.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Altered Destiny 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is wonderfully structured, never boring, and immediately engaging. Great character development especially. The characters are what make this story, and the world that Ms.Thomas created for them only makes them seem more real. Lots of action, very well-paced, and the few well-chosen romantic scenes are perfect. (Actually I would have liked more romance... the book is very clean) Can't wait to see what she writes next!
CrystalPosey More than 1 year ago
Shawna Thomas eases you into a detailed world of love, allegiance, and destiny. A world where two races, with two different versions of a war, collide in a heart-pounding moment that will either end in blood-shed or new life. With world building so beautifully crafted, readers will feel as though they have taken an adventurous walk in another time and place. The characters are relatable with real and honest flaws, and yet when they fight they do it with such passion that they become larger than life. These characters shine. Perhaps the most admirable thing about this story is how the author weaves in a light romance that warms you inside and out, and yet never takes away from the core of the story. This is a talented writer who knows how to give a story its worth, and still deliver the perfect happy ending that all romance lovers crave.
CYP More than 1 year ago
This is a 'wow' of a book. This novel contains everything that you could ever want: Suspense, action(definitely lots of action), romance, betrayal, deception, friendship. Really just a fantasticle novel that i would never get bored of no matter how many times i'm going to reread it (and i do plan to reread it.Oh yes i do). This novel started off at a not-so-fast pace, but it slowly opens up to the world that the characters lived in, and each of the characters' past. And not long after, it picks up its pace and i find that i couldnt put the book down anymore. I literally clutched my iPad and glued my eyes to the screen. Lol, gruesome visual description. But yeah, it was filled with suspense and jam-packed with non-stop action. Selia is a kickass heroine who tops my all-time-favourite-characters list. Although the environment that she lived in leaves much to be desired(her mom being a whore and everything), she still grew up to be a loyal, mature, compassionate person. Even when she found out that it was a Svistra she was saving, she still cared for him and gave him a place to stay(even tho it's in the barn, it's still a place to stay). I adore her. Jaden. Jaden Jaden Jaden. He is one sexy man. Or Svistra in this case. Wow. Hot-ness! Lol. This man really knows how to fight, and how to love. He was so super sweet to Selia, and a damn good friend to Oren. Add to that, he is a natural-born leader. How much more perfect can a guy get? Anyway, this book was a complex one to write. Not that i would know, but the way Thomas switched POVs all the time and still making it come across clearly, and to actually encompass such a complicated and wholesome plot..That's some real talent here. Really, it alternated between Keldar(commander of the Svistra army - antagonist), Nathan(commander of the Newhaven human army), Jaden(male protagonist!!!), and Selia(female protagonist), but never, not once did i get confused. The entirety of it was well thought out and so very detailed, I applaud the skill Thomas has exhibited. One teeeeensy weensy flaw tho - the initial attraction between our 2 protagonists was a little quick to me. I mean, only after the first few times they talked and already they feel a pull. But it isn't insta-love, that i can assure you. And other than this rather negligible detail, the romance part was slow and sweet, never too rushed. All in all, it was so perfecty romantic that i found myself craving for more scenes with these two in it. I swear, their just so perfect together. All in all, let me repeat myself, this novel has everything you could ever want and leaves you thirsting for more. A definite 5 stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was looking for something good to read and this really fit the bill.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ciuld not stop reading and the end came too soon
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
haraSac More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book immensely! As soon as I finished it, I wanted to read it again. I read it pretty quickly the first time, because I wanted to know what would happen to the characters! This time around I can read more leisurely. Great story and suspense. Believable characters. Full and complete world -- with history and language, it feels effortlessly three-dimensional, an interactive stage for the story to unfold upon. Five stars and two thumbs way up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
iheartyabooks More than 1 year ago
Altered Destiny is one of those beautiful Fantasy novels you just want to curl up with and take your time and enjoy. Shawna Thomas created an incredible world with the humans and Svistra. The characters are just as amazing. In Fantasy Romance novels, I usually love only the two main characters' romance, and I do love Selia and Jaden, they have an amazing romance, but I found myself falling in love with Oren and Commander Nathan. Altered Destiny has a strong, intriguing storyline that pulled me right into this amazing kingdom and fantasy world with beautiful romances, Jaden's brothers jealousy, and the war between the humans and Svistra. Oren is Selia's brother, a gentle giant of young man and, yes, I shed a few tears over him. Nathan is the king's commander in the human army. Nathan gave my heart a bit of a tug of war between him and Jaden for Selia's affections. But Jaden did win me over in the end. Jaden is a gorgeous Svistra. He has left his home and his race because he doesn't believe in the killing of humans. Selia rescues a wounded Jaden and brings him back to her home to heal, but soon finds herself falling for Jaden and doubting everything she's been told about the evil blood drinking Svistra. Selia is a twenty-year-old strong and independent woman who can take care of herself and is definitely kick-butt. Selia is the kind of woman I like. She's strong, but hasn't lost her feminine side, and thanks to Jaden, he brings that out in her. The romance between them made my heart hammer. Jaden and Selia are beautiful in their love and standing together in their fight to bring peace between the Humans and Svistra. Altered Destiny is what I would consider crossover YA, and I really liked this new YA for us older teens. It gives a little more in the romance department, but still keeps it where I like it. There is also plenty of action going on in with different kingdoms and war that's coming. Shawna Thomas has written an amazing fantasy world and beautiful romances that I highly recommend as a must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read the review, it did not hold my interest. Not much of a plot, and certainly will recommend this book. I am not sure if it was edited. This book has fragments, spelling, very poor. Good luck to the writer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read the the book and didn't care for it at all , seems the writer dosen't know how to pen down a good story line or make a semi good plot work very well at all.Might be a good idea if you re write the stinking book , very poor to say the least.Much better books out there than this one .