Amazonia

Amazonia

by James Rollins

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$9.58 $9.99 Save 4% Current price is $9.58, Original price is $9.99. You Save 4%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Amazonia 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 293 reviews.
Eat_The_Kids_First More than 1 year ago
I have never written a review before so I decided to pick one of my favorite books and Amazonia definitely qualifies. I loved reading this book and did not want to put it down. It really grabs you and doesn't let you go. This is definitley a re-read for me. Nathan Rand is an exceptional main character who isn't in a race to be the next Rambo. He's a hero when needs to be but he isn't stupid or foolish. One can very easily relate to his character. I highly recomend this book to anyone that is in search of a good thriller.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome book! I could hardly put it down! If you like action, adventure, and learning about new cultures and places (or at least getting inspired to go do some research) then this is the book for you-as well as any other book written by James Rollins!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Since the first book I picked up of his, I've never been dissapointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book at 9:00 PM and couldn't put it down till I finished it at 5: AM.
Steamwitch More than 1 year ago
Once you get started reading you need keep turning the pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome book Very interesting animals that scare you but also grab your attention.dont read if you get scared easily.
Rocka More than 1 year ago
Amazonia is now one of my favorites! It is such an amazing book, and has you not wanting to put the book down!
rjr66 More than 1 year ago
Reads like and old black and white "B" movie.
ThrillerFanMS More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. It was nice combination of a Thriller and Science Fiction. Good character development.
Electrician71 More than 1 year ago
James Rollins fans must read this book. It is every bit as good as the Sigma series. James Rollins uses both historic fact and well researched fiction to craft a suspenseful story in the Amazon jungle.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the first novel I have read by James Rollins and I am hungry for more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazonia, for me, was a mega adventure. Full of danger, excitement, discoveries.With Rollins writing style and descriptions of events (excellent as always), the story was so vivid and had a terrific ending. James Rollins never fails to transport me into a place far more exciting than even my extremely vivid imagination can take me. I love all his books!
Mistie3k More than 1 year ago
Definitely will check out some more books by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely love this book. It is so fast paced there is always something happening. Never a dull page! This is the book that introduced me to James Rollins and I have been reading everything he has written since. I am a Dan Brown fan and one of my friends said if you like him try James Rollins. So glad I did. If you are looking for a great book to read that will pull you in this is the book for you! I can not say enough wonderful things about this book and all of his books! A must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my second time reading it and i love it even more. Thrill, action and suspense on every page. Definitely would recommend.
JoClare on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really love James Rollin's books. I love how he takes a historical tidbit of information and connects it to a slice of science, mixes it all together with a lot of adventure and a dash of romance and voilà!; I'm ready for an enjoyable read~I also love how he points out the facts and the fiction at the end of his stories; more than once I have gotten lost on the internet satisfying my curiosity regarding the history/science he calls to attention there.I think he does a great job with his protagonists, I find most to be really interesting and fleshed out. Sigma Force is a recurring theme in many of his stories and it adds another layer of interest for me, taking the adventure to the next level.Rollin's novels are every bit as enjoyable to me as a big screen summer blockbuster; think I'll go get some popcorn~
DeltaQueen50 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When the mood strikes for a good adventure thriller, a James Rollins book always does the trick. Amazonia was able to carry me away to the jungles of South America, and involve me in an expedition searching for a lost party of scientists. Of course nothing is as it seems and the story includes a rival team, an unknown illness, medical research, native Indians and ¿ something else that¿s out there in the jungle.Of course the story is far-fetched and quite unbelievable, but that is exactly why I read these types of books, for pure escapism, if I actually learn a fact or two about South American jungles, well that is an unexpected bonus.This is adventure with a capital A. A non-stop thriller that takes off like a roller coaster and gives you quite the ride. If you are in the mood for danger, intrigue and thrills, without leaving the comfort of your armchair, I definitely recommend Amazonia.
Sink222 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Great Action Adventure, could not put down.
Dinyo on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
So far im about a quarter way through and this book is one of the greatest books ive ever read it has action adventure science and a lovable jaguar named tor tor.
laurie_library on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Not my style, but read it for a book club. Overall, too, too detailed when decribing scenes.
Tara714 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
James Rollins writting seems to gett better and better with every book. I loved this book. It's about a group of people who go into the Amazon looking for answers and a cure that is ravaging the planet. It's a very compelling read and I recomend it to anyone who loves mystery and adventure.
Talbin on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Amazonia is another fast-paced thriller from James Rollins. As per usual, he takes some pretty fantastic ideas and brings them together in an exciting, just-maybe plausible book. Nathan Rand's father and his scientific research team disappeared in the Amazon rainforest while researching potential botanical cures for disease. But, several years later a US Army Ranger who was part of the mission appears out of the Amazon rainforest - and formerly amputated arm has seemingly regrown. A party is put together to discover what happened to the expedition and recruits ethno-botanist Nathan Rand to join the mission. As the group goes deeper into the rainforest, they begin to discover strange creatures and even stranger myths about a dangerous Indian tribe. Somewhere out there is someone - or something - that can regenerate a human arm . . . and more.As usual, Rollins does a good job of making the unimaginable almost real. The reader most definitely needs to suspend disbelief when reading a Rollins book, but once the reader has decided to go with the flow, s/he can count on an exciting journey. Definitely not "serious" literature, but Amazonia makes a perfect beach read.
ladydymondz on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
My first read by James Rollins. Reading Amazonia was like running for my life. The excitement, the animals, the people, death all seemed so real, it was terrifying. definitely a page turner. I was scared yet i couldn't put it down.
Nuit on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It¿s wonderful action packed, mystery thriller with many twists and turns, that¿s hard to put down. It¿s creatively thought out and well written with many scientific facts thrown in and it flows as part of the story. This story is fast paced filled with action, mutated creatures, explosives, giant jaguars, violence, betrayal, insects that will eat you alive, a lost tribe, a plague threatening the world, etc. This book held me from the very first page, even the second time when I read it. I'd recommend this book to anyone!
thewere8472 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A fun book high lighting the mysteries of the Amazon but not in the normal boring way of some lost tribe, but a tribe with a ancient tree that can heal, even restore limbs - a fun read.