Amber Beach (Donovans Series #1)

Amber Beach (Donovans Series #1)

by Elizabeth Lowell

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, June 20

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Amber Beach 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 61 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! I especially loved the part when Jake told Archer off...not many people would! I really wish Ms Lowell would finish the Donovan series by writing about Justin and Lawe and 'let us catch up on the other faimily members and thier kids'.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lowell stands out in this book with a lot of snappy dialogue. In this as well as the other Donovan books (Jade Island, Pearl Cove and Midnight at Ruby Bayou) detailed research on precious gems and materials adds a lot of interest for me. She also has research fun with Tell Me No Lies (gold and art forgery) and Death is Forever - I think that is the name of her diamond book, but she tends to rename them like Whirlpool was some other title before; Faberge eggs and forgery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this first and for many times after in paperback and could NEVER get the family of characters out of my mind. I read the above review by a professional and thought it was unfair. I bought the entire series in paperback, and as they where lost I'm adding them to my Nook library. Love love love Jake and all the characters good and bad in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The storyline includes historical facts about Lithuania, the gemstone "Amber", and, surprisingly, a great deal about the complexities of boating. I found it fascinating, even the tidbits about the "Xmas tree" lights on a tug boat's mast and their meaning. The vivid descriptions of the ocean waters (pleasure vs. danger), the USCG boardings, currents & tides, and even the how-and-why-steps to starting the boat engines were unexpectedly exciting, providing a easily imagined hands-on experience. Some of the Russian characters and background information from Czars to communism to decline was easily associated with current events. The explanation of the many varieties of Amber and the determining tests for value and authenticity were conversational yet explicit and never dry or dull. The male/female activity is somewhat typical but the two main characters are similar to Bogart/Bacall, therefore multi-faceted, never shallow or boring. I recommend this book as a thoroughly enjoyable and enlightening read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The characters were likeable.This thriller was a real potboiler with plenty of sexual tension and intrigue.
punxsygal on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Stolen by the Germans in WWII, the fate of the Czar¿s famous Amber Room remains a mystery to this day. Honor Donovan has come to Anacortes, WA to search for her brother, Kyle, who is believed to have stolen, once again, a piece of the amber that came from that room. To help her, Honor has hired Jake Mallory to teach her to drive her brother¿s boat so that she can search the San Juan Islands for answers. As is typical for this type of novel, Jake has his own agenda in the matter, some of which directly involves the sparks of attraction between Honor and himself. Despite the usual cast of characters and predictable plot line, this is a fun, fast read for the simple pleasure of immersing one¿s self in another time and place.
miyurose on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I thought this was just all right. I went into it expecting just a romance, so I wasn't expecting much out of the plot. However, I was *so* glad when they finally had sex, because I was getting a little tired of the constant mention of the sexual tension. I really didn't feel like reading about how tight his pants were every time he looked at her. What an easy guy! Really, this was very thin on plot, and the conclusion was too neat and tidy for my tastes.
VirginiaGill on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book and the rest of the Donovan series are among the books I return to time and again. I know they are considered "romance" novels but I love the mystery/suspense part best. The author puts a lot of information about the stones being dealt with in each book. Makes for an interesting way to learn something new. This series began my dream of one day collecting gemstones ... and now I DO.
justicefortibet on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fast paced mystery with a little romance thrown in to keep things juicy. The Donovan family has trouble finding one brother and a fortune in amber. I'm looking forward to the next book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
((Its ok)) i smile at u hello i snort softly in your ear glad to see u awake
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
((Hi back and me to i like night better than mornings)) i bend down and nip your throat lightly
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
U must've went to bed so ttyt gn)) groan and start to pump slowly gding my hooves agisnst your azz
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Penguinlady1 More than 1 year ago
I am not a reader of romance novels in general and I love these books!! They have adventure and danger along with the romance, which breaks it up nicely.   Also, I love gemstones and I think it's fabulous how much research is in each book about that particular gemstone. I, too, would love to read more about the Donovan clan in future books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like this author
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Highly Recommended
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CLMCD More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book and look forward to reading the whole series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first of the Donovan stories, this one picks up with Kyle's mysterious disappearance along with a million dollars in missing Russian amber. It offers a mix of colorful characters, including "CIA" type government special agents, ex-KGB, Russian mafia, and Lithuanian separatists. Set in Seattle, it focuses on Honor, the younger sister who hires Jay/Jake Mallory, to operate Kyle's boat and aid in her search, despite her other brothers' objections. Jake has his own reasons for wanting to find Kyle. The right mix of witty dialogue, developing romance, misunderstandings, trust relationship issues, and encyclopedic details about amber and hazards of boating in the San Juan Islands, it makes a great rainy day afternoon read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago