And I Shall Have Some Peace There: Trading in the Fast Lane for My Own Dirt Road

And I Shall Have Some Peace There: Trading in the Fast Lane for My Own Dirt Road

by Margaret Roach

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

And I Shall Have Some Peace There: Trading in the Fast Lane for My Own Dirt Road 3.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Aradanryl More than 1 year ago
Interesting opportunity to follow the thoughts of the author as she leaves her corporate life behind. As someone who also enjoys solitude (which isn't the same as loneliness), it was easy to relate. An excellent memoir, well written and without excessive navel gazing. I enjoyed the small surprises. *Note: This book was provided through the Barnes and Noble First Look program with the expectation of an honest review. My opinions are my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I must admit that I have only reached the midway point of the text and have had to take a break from it. The narrative is rather disjointed, and while I am a great fan of post-modern writing with all of its interjections and wordplay, it does not seem to work with non-fiction. The pages are rife with snippets of songs that appear from nowhere, and they create a jarring effect. I understand that the early pages may focus a great deal on the accumulation of designer items as a means of setting up a contrast to a post-career eschewing of material wealth, but I haven't reached that shift yet. As a result, the frequent demonstration of great material wealth just seems to run counter to the ideals that the book's title calls to mind.
readerx More than 1 year ago
Margaret Roach leaves her job with high power Martha Stewart to find peace. Somewhere along the way she had to find who Margaret Roach is. There is nothing like a house in the boonies to help you do both things. This is an engaging book on why everyone should have a house in the country----------you will find peace and yourself.
jrbeach on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I thought I would like this book - in general I love memoirs that involve moving to the country. My obession with this type of book goes back to the first time I read Louise Dickinson Rich's "We Took To The Woods". Anyway, this book is nothing like what I expected. After two weeks of forcing myself to read some each night I was only on page 129. The book is for the most part the authors interior conversation, focusing on two main items. The first is her fear - fear of snakes (legitimate!) fear of falling on the ice, or in the woods, or anywhere, and not being found or helped in time, because she is alone. The second item is her need not to be alone - she hires (at great cost, she tells us) a matchmaker to find her suitable partners. She mentions a few times that her gardens are opened for tours, but there was no discussion, at least thru the first half of the book, of what her property was like, and why anyone would be interested in viewing it.Just not what I was expected, or hoped to read.
BONS on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
First, the cover is beautiful and peaceful in appearance. I do enjoy memoirs and I am from the dirt road, my husband is as well. We both long to hang up the fast lane here in Atlanta and return to some dirt road far away with plenty of birds, frogs, snakes and at least one cat.BUT, I am sorry, I had a difficult time following the thoughts of Margaret Roach. I was hoping perhaps this would be just in the first few chapters. I love random but this was not random this felt rather disjointed. Margaret works in New York City as part of the Martha Stewart team. Twenty years or so ago she purchased a fixer-upper, there she retreats on many week-ends of her life with always this longing to give up Manhattan. Margaret has talked about her dream so long none of her friends or co-workers really believe she would do just that. In a gutsy move, she retires and retreats. The memoir tells of her adjustment and her thoughts along the way. This is both quaint and quirky but I just did not follow along well I'm sorry to say.
debnance on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If trying to read A Widow's Story: A Memoir over spring break was bad timing, the arrival of this book on the last weekend of spring break was good timing. Exactly what I needed. Just as Roach was seeking peace on her own dirt road after years of living in the fast lane, I was seeking the quiet peace of this book after reading the turbulance of A Widow's Story. Perfect.I love memoirs of people who find a deeper life in quiet places. This is one. And, as a person who left my version of the fast lane (if teachers can be thought to have a fast lane) long ago, I loved reading of Roach's slow development of a love for her garden and country life. (Aside: I found it strangely interesting to see that both Oates and Roach were helped along their paths to peace in their lives by gardening. And writing. Interesting.)*Thank you to the publisher for sending me a copy of this book.
LivelyLady on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A wordy memoir of Roach's exodus from the corporate world of Martha Stewart to "the road less traveled." I found her rambling on about her ramblings so very boring. I wondered if it was even proof read as there was a 7 line sentence!!! If her writing style from the beginning to end reflects her change in her lifestyle and values - then there was no change.I think, written differently, this could have been very readable. But in its current state.....extremely introspective beyond the point of interest to anyone....it is more of a penance to read it. Sorry.
Yells on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This one is only getting 2-stars from me. I generally like memoirs but this one really disappointed. At times, you could see through the flowery, cloying language and there was genuiine raw emotion there but for the most part, it was just a big ol' hot mess. I felt like I somehow climbed into Roach's head and was treated to a non-stop narrative of whatever she was thinking about at the time. It rambled and jumped all over the place leaving me quite frustrated by the end.
ccayne on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved this book - no pun intended, but it grew on me as I read and when I came to the end, I didn't want it to end. It is not a gardening memoir - it is a tale of a woman finding her place in the world on her own terms. Her embrace of being alone and learning that she liked that state was very refreshing. I loved her reverence for and quest for knowledge of the natural world. I loved the growing relationship with Jack the cat, particular fitting since I read this to Agatha, the wild cat beast who lives in the library and is getting tamer by the book.
phlegmmy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. While I was never in the fast lane and don't live on a dirt road, I find the peace in my gardening ventures much the same as Margaret Roach. I also share her rather quirky feelings about doing (or not doing) certain things when you are alone. My husband knows enough now that he is never to get on the roof to blow off leaves and twigs unless I am here to call 911 should he fall. I laughed right out loud when she voiced these fears in the book, as I thought I was the only one paranoid enough to feel this way. I guess down deep, us gardeners share a lot more than just a love of playing in the dirt. Thank you Margaret Roach for writing such an eloquent book about finding your own peace.
Bcteagirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
And I Shall Have some Peace Here is a comfortable read about one woman¿s transition from living in the corporate world for others and living in her cottage. It is neither a `back to the land¿ memoir nor a philosophical memoir. It is not a back to the land memoir, as aside from brief discussions of the flowers in her garden and the idea that she does freeze some food there is little discussion of being self sufficient/giving up any technology. It is not a philosophical memoir aside from some teenagereese existential angst. What I did enjoy about the book was the fairly cozy writing style, and her honesty.The main struggle taking place is this book is letting go of an overly materialistic and hectic lifestyle. They are set out as the struggles of the affluent as almost a year in she she `starts¿ to have to dip into her savings. This is not a book that will show anyone without a lot of money how to make a transition. While I did enjoy the informal tone with which she writes, other aspects of the writing did grate on me. Largely I think it was the teenagery existential angst/idea that their life is somehow profoundly important in comparison to others. At a very expensive spa a guru paid her a specific compliment (She has a meditative mind, I don¿t remember the exact term). These people are paid to compliment the affluent. Oblivious to this she then repeats the phrase several times in each chapter as though profound until you really want to find this Guru and tell him to stop telling people things like that! The idea that everything in her environs is also now a sign directed at her was also extremely grating. Every passing animal (and in some cases animal dung) is analyzed as a sign to her path. The storms were sent for her, as were the frogs, foxes, snakes etc. The navel gazing continues as she tries to make up a grand myth to represent her life. In the end she still appears unsatisfied (Has not yet discovered how profoundly important she is) and rushed. While there are some fun parts to this book, overall it is not a book I would recommend unless you find yourself in very similar circumstances.
Myckyee on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was somewhat disappointed in this book, but that may be because what I imagined the book would be like and what it turned out to be was separated by miles! I expected more of a recounting of her time at Martha Stewart and what led her to change her lifestyle. Instead I read something just a bit too cerebral - maybe new-age-y. I can't quite put my finger on it but this was not the book for me. There were no to-the-point moments that I could pick out and identify with. Perhaps my fault though for expecting something completely different.
erinclark on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The beginning of this book was like being in the mind of a severely A.D.D. afflicted woman, it rambled and wobbled all over the place like a drunken sailor. However Margaret Roach, the author, did manage to pull some semblance and cohesiveness to her story after the first couple of chapters and I began to really enjoy it. Margaret has done what so many of us would love to do. She quit her high paying, highly prestigious job in New York and moved to the country. Being a former weekender she doesn't know many people and with her rather introverted nature it takes her awhile to make friendships. She adopts a cat even though she is not a cat person and is lucky enough to be able to spend as much time as she wants observing nature, her garden and all the creatures that live there with her. She even named the frogs in her ponds and could recognize them individually! I enjoyed her observations and the naturalist descriptions of what she saw around her, the birds, the frogs, the seasonality of her garden. I do feel that she still hasn't quite found what she is looking for despite having spent years in therapy and reading every self-help book that's out there. Perhaps she is still a work in progress. I think she has told her story with honesty, humor, and a lyrical if somewhat rambling voice. I liked the fact that despite being alone she was never lonely and Iiked Margaret Roach despite her many insecurities. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in memoirs.
katiekrug on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I received through the LT ER program after joining. I love the idea of getting books for free, and this one sounded interesting ¿ I like memoirs and I like stories of people making major changes in their lives, probably because I am such a settled homebody and creature of habit. And I Shall Have Some Peace There is Roach¿s story of leaving a high-pressure corporate job as an executive at Martha Stewart¿s company to live in her weekend home in upstate New York. It is a chronicle of her decision to make this change, the challenges involved and how the experience affected her. There is so much potential here, and in almost every way, this book fell short.There is little in the book to enlighten or inspire. Roach describes the difficulties of living full-time in a rural setting; I snorted as she detailed her list to prepare for the winter, including special boot attachments to navigate the ice and snow and several camp lanterns in case she loses power. I snorted because the town she moved to is about 5 miles from where I grew up where our preparation for the winter amounted to buying some kitty litter to provide traction on ice. So maybe I¿m a little biased¿?All that aside, though, I could have made it through Roach¿s book had it been well-written and at all coherent. As it was, her circuitous, stream of consciousness style was almost impossible to follow. Eventually, I no longer wanted to try. I skimmed to the end and finally came to the conclusion of the story of a woman who made a choice, had enough money to finance that choice, and felt the need to write an entire book about how brave she was to make that choice. I need to read a paean to someone¿s own self-indulgence like I need a hole in the head.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
pippy More than 1 year ago
I recently finished this book and was glad that the author spent the last couple of chapters writing in praise of her move without all the jumpy anxiety that she wrote with through the start and middle of the book. I'm not sure if she was lifting parts of her journal entries for the body of her book because it seemed like notes to herself about her feelings and jumbled thoughts about anything and everything. It could have been better written but she wrapped up her peeks and slumps into a thankful praise of her new life. I wish her well and would be interested in book two now that some time has passed since the first book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found the book to be just too many words to say little. I read about 1/2 the book and got frustrated and quit reading it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago