The Apostle (Scot Harvath Series #8)

The Apostle (Scot Harvath Series #8)

by Brad Thor

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$9.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 19

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Apostle 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 234 reviews.
Billinthewild More than 1 year ago
Brad Thor's worst book yet. I have, and have read, all of his work. In The Apostle it is as if he did not have enough material for a full length novel, so he combined two short stories. The Harvath plot was good, but the injection of a secondary far fetched plot involving a secret service agent was distracting from the main story. After a few chapters of the sub plot I found the book a better read by skipping those chapters. The worst was that after I posted a critical comment on his forum, I was banned!!!!! I would not waste my money on it. His previous books were all first class.
Fighterjock More than 1 year ago
My wife is home sick, so I had time to read this cover to cover in about a day. This was the worst of his Scot Harvath books...reading like two weak story lines woven together to take up more space. Perhaps his next effort will be back on track.
Praetor More than 1 year ago
This is the first Brad Thor book I've read. It is a well-researched thriller with the right amount of detail to make it believable without boring the reader with information overload. Exciting action scenes woven into the personal relationships between Harvath and team make this a fun read. The sub-plot didn't really add to the book and I found myself speeding through those chapters to get back to the Harvath storyline. All in all, a good, fast-paced story that was entirely entertaining. Good work by Brad Thor.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have read all of his books, and this book follows admirably in the line of excellent reading. You know that it is relevant to our current day.
RmalloryRC More than 1 year ago
This is the 4th novel I've read of Brad Thor's and I've enjoyed every one. I'm sure our shared leanings and patriotic belief's have much to do with this, but because "The Apostle" presses so painfully on the open wound of todays unacceptable political environment and defensive posture, I found I had to respond with review. As a U.S. Air Force veteran of the Vietnam era, I know only too well how unselfishly devoted and determined the men and women of our military and their associated agencies are to protect this great country of ours and it's people. Unfortunately, these protectors of our freedom need intelligent and strong leadership from our commander-in-chief on down. Sadly, this is non-existant under our current administration. We need Ronald Reagan, we have Neville Chamberlain with a personal agenda! I will admit that I would loose the plot at times to play fill in the name blanks for the characters in Washington, but it didn't make the book any less enjoyable. I just would have liked a little more of it. I recommend this book to everyone and I think it should be mandatory in our public schools.
KenCady More than 1 year ago
What made this very predictable novel worthwhile was the picture of life in Afghanistan and the customs still in effect. The corruption was well laid out, as was the conflict between the villagers and their would-be occupiers, the Taliban. The subplot involving the zealous young Secret Service agent was just a distraction from the main story and added nothing to the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book didnt grab me nearly as much as some of the other Brad Thor books. Very straight forward without any twists and turns or really any mystery. Unless youre a big Brad Thor fan I would pass on this one.
Silas_Dogood More than 1 year ago
This entire series is just great. Brad Thor does such a great job of incorporating current events from national and international politics and weaving a story that keeps you interested from beginning to end. If you are a political buff or just enjoy an interesting story with lots of military insight, you will really enjoy this series.
kbwest More than 1 year ago
Fabulous novel! This 8th novel in the Scot Harvath series might not 'kick your teeth in' like The Last Patriot did but it does offer an amazing adventure and realism. The Apostle depicts the complexity of the Afghan culture and urgency to ensure success in Afghanistan. The challenges are real and success is imperative. The other message this novel explores is the despicable corruption of our politicians. Neither party is immune and the American people are sick of it. It was nice to have a character like Elise Campbell see through her adoration to ferret out the truth and hold people accountable. If we want this country to truly change that is what we all must demand. It is time for Americans to give themselves a 'gut check'. Thank you, Mr. Thor for another terrific novel!! PS: I loved all the wit and salty language too.
danm68 More than 1 year ago
Great reads. I have read the first 7 books in the series and so far am not disappointed in the 8th book. They are sorta predictable but still the plots have enough excitement and differences to keep my interest. However with all the books with Scott Harvath you really know hes not going to get killed off anytime soon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am only in middle school, but i personally believe that this is an amazing novel. Maybe not as exciting and thrilling as we all know his books can achieve, but very well written! It had me turning the pages!!!! In conclusion, this is an amazing thriller and i believe people will love it!!!!!!
David Jelley More than 1 year ago
Quite a disconnect btwn the two plots. Dont understand the need for both. By far, the Afghanistan action was better. Nonetheless, worth your time and money.
Pennmate More than 1 year ago
Brad Thor's writing style imparts a unique sense of heart pounding action to the reader. Like no other author, Thor has the ability to set and maintain a pace within his story lines that literally increase the reader's heartbeat with anxious anticipation of the next event to unfold. Ths Apostle is one of Thor's finest books, packed with action and plot twists where the characters all use the most recent weaponry, equipment and technology that is being introduced to the modern day battlefield. Thor's main character, Scot Harvath, is a true American Hero and a very interesting character to follow from novel to novel.
PamelaBarrett on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A woman doctor is kidnapped in Afghanistan. Scot Harvath, a covert conterterrorism operative is called by the President to find her and free her, but without the backing of the US government. His assignment is to trade her for al-Qaeda master mind Mustafa Khan who is imprisoned in Afghanistan. This is an intense, fast moving read with stories within stories. I enjoyed the way Brad Thor interjected humor into a serious situation, which is the way soldiers banter with each other inbetween combat situations. He also gave me more insight into this war then any news program.
lemuel on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is just an OK book. It was interesting enough for me to finish, but without great enthusiasm. The main story is about the kidnapping of a doctor in Afghanistan who turns out to be the daughter of the prime backer of the new president. The new president is a liberal do-gooder who damages national security with politically correct and idealistic actions. With the book being written in 2009, I assume this is his expectation of an Obama presidency.Scott Harvath is persuaded to go to Afghanistan to rescue the doctor, and most of the book is about what he does, and it is reasonably interesting. The other main story is about a Secret Service agent who learns of the president doing something wrong and has to decide what to do about it. This is a much weaker story that involves wishful thinking on the part of the author who clearly dislikes Obama.If you are inclined to read the book, then you will probably like it well enough, but if not you won't be missing much.
mikedraper on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Dr. Julia Gallo is kidnapped in Afghanistan where she was volunteering her services.The president, Robert Alden, is grateful to Stephanie Gallo who helped orchestrate his campaign but now she's asking for a favor about her daughter. The ransom for her daughter's release is the freedom of a terrorist, Mustafa Kahn.When the president hesitates to help, Stephanie reminds him that she has info on the president's accessory in the death of four innocent people and the conspiracy to cover it up.They summon Scot Horvath who is a counterterrorist that the president caused to be out of a job because the president felt he had a new way of dealing with the terrorists. When Scot meets with the president and Mrs. Gallo they tell him that they want him to deliver Kahn to the terrorists as payment for them letting Dr. Gallo go.Scot arrives in Kabul and looks up an old friend, former recon Marine Greg Gallagher. They also see Greg's partner, Tom Hoyt and the compound's majordomo, Flower, a thirty year old Afghan. By bribing the police they find where Kabul is being held.Meanwhile, the head of the Taliban, Mullah Massoud, is holding Julia. An Afghan, boy gets in trouble for touching Jane inappropriately. Mullah's brother breaks the boy's jaw. When the boy's father complains, Mullah has Serge Simonov kill the man and make it look accidental. He does but there are witnesses and that makes the man's village want revenge against the Taliban.Scott, Gallagher and their team free Kahn and plan their next move in freeing Julia.In Washington, Secret Service Agent, Elsie Campbell has overheard the talk between Mrs. Gallo and the president. Elsie researches the facts around Nikki Hale's death and the president's involvement.This is an excellent thriller. The author knows how to pack a wallop in his story. The suspense was nicely directed and I couldn't put the book down.Recommended.
labwriter on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I originally gave it 3 stars; maybe this deserves only 2 stars, I don't really know--so I compromised. I enjoyed this book for the first 50-odd pages or so (hard to say how many exactly, since I was reading it on my Kindle). In fact, I was actually recommending it to friends. However, the longer I read, the more I wondered why I was bothering to finish the thing. The ending of the Afghanistan encounter was totally predictable and ho-hum. That would have been OK, though, except for the secondary plot which included a Secret Service functionary who took down the president ("I expect you to hand in your resignation," she tells him--and he does). I found the ending of that plot line to be absurd. It's pretty amazing what second and third-rate stuff manages to get published these days."Brad Thor"? Really?
shannonkearns on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
i didn't like this one as much as his other books, but it was still a decent read.
caseylondon on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I admit to being a huge fan of Brad Thor and the character he has made famous Scot Harvath. So it is no wonder I enjoyed The Apostle.Set in Afghanistan it focuses on a kidnapped American physician who happens to be the daughter of a high profile and monied contributer to the new US president.The fictional change in administration's moves Harveth to the private sector and also keeps the reader guessing how much is fact real-life behind the scenes White House staffing, policy and presidential authority. Can Harveth break an AlQueda prisoner out of prison to exchange for the American doctor? Can he let a terrorist go free? Weaving Harveth's latest adventure through the underworld of the Taliban and AlQueda, presidential politics, plus assorted murder and mayhem, Thor writes one of his best novels yet and my favorite political thriller of the summer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stalks through the undergrowrh.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like thrillers with lots of action and plot variety, you should love the Scott Harvath series by Brad Thor. I am currently reading Thor's #9. The Apostle, #8, doesn't disappoint. You can read this without starting out with series #1, but I would highly recommend you start at the beginning of the series which starts with Harvath's early history and goes from there. Series #1 will get you hooked. It was extremely fast-moving with lots of twists and turns. I discovered Brad Thor soon after my 'then favorite series' writer Vince Flynn. I had just finished Flynn's series featuring Mitch Rapp and was eagerly awaiting another book when I learned that Flynn had died. Then came along Brad Thor to continue Flynn's legacy, so-to-speak. He's proven to be just as good a writer as Vince Flynn...so, start reading!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago