As Sure as the Dawn (Mark of the Lion Series #3)

As Sure as the Dawn (Mark of the Lion Series #3)

by Francine Rivers

Paperback(Anniversary)

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

As Sure as the Dawn (Mark of the Lion Series #3) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 135 reviews.
Jaeeld51 More than 1 year ago
Book # 3 of this series, Sure As the Dawn, can be read on its own merit without first reading the other two if you wish. However, all three books are gripping tales that I could not put down once beginning them, reading all three books (1490 pages) in 4 1/2 days. I am finding myself still thinking about the characters (who all had real human flaws that I could personally relate to) long after finishing the books of how they worked through their personal crises and jourrneys of faith. The historicity of the series was also intriguing, being evident of the author's thorough work of research into ancient Rome and their conquered territories at around 70 AD. The reader feels, smells and sees the time period that comes alive through the characters' experiences. The author is not at all afraid to tackle difficult issues. I found myself comparing current US culture with Rome, finding many parallels and similarities, including the loss of the value of human life through repeated numbing through witnessed violence. For us it on TV and in the movies; for Rome it was the arena. That was only one of many similarities between the cultures. The characters' crises resolution enabled me to learn from their experiences, which is one benefit of reading good literature. Enabling vicarious learning about other's points of view and experiences through reading is like trying on someone else's clothes and 'walking a mile in someone else's shoes'. One can travel to ancient Rome and Germany without leaving your home. As Christian literature, it is among the finest, presenting mature and maturing Saints working through their issues, giving one the concrete examples one needs to grow through one's own life issues, needing good role models. I found myself relating to nearly all the main characters and feel that the benefits and rewards of the reading are ongoing in my life.
Raquel-ipadnook More than 1 year ago
I loved this series!! I'm usually not a big reader, I tend to start & not finish but I read all three of these books & wanted more!!! Makes you cry, makes you angry, and of course makes you smile at God's love!!! Read it-- you won't be disappointed!!!
Alyson Shepherd More than 1 year ago
This series is one that i can read over and over but still be on tenderhooks rivers does an amazing job drawing the reader in to her world no matter the subject matter this series is definetly one to read, new aspects of Gods love and nature will jump off every page and be revealed each and every time you read!
Alli Paul More than 1 year ago
This series is by far the best one ever. i dont care how busy you are you have to read it.
kanastos More than 1 year ago
Here we pick up with the story of Atretes, the German ex-slave and gladiator. I like the insight into a different ancient culture. Great story line and finish to the Mark of he Lion series. Maybe Francine Rivers could continue with Caleb's story, Atretes' son.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ever heard of "i d buy the world a coke?" I d like every one i know to read this! I wanted to cry, laugh witht the story. I got frustrated, angry, hopeful, scared, sometimes, with the characters. Sometimes i wish i could ve not read this series just so i could read them all over again. Ms. Rivers is a truely gifted writer. K.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I devoured the Mark of the Lion books in a matter of days. This one is a bit different from the first two. ASatD incorporates humor and the main characters are a riot. Widowed Rizpah is vastly different from the timid Hadassah from the other books. Rizpah is spunky, tough and stubborn. She's matched with the equally stubborn former gladiator Atretes from the first book. There are several laugh out loud moments in this last installment.
tchrreader More than 1 year ago
I love Francine Rivers, she is a genius. I love this series! This third book is about Rizpah the mother of Caleb who works with Atretes. Atretes is the gladiator who has been set free. It is a great book. This is the best series I ever read. I will look for more books by this author and you should too. The only small complaint I have is the series of book covers, the book covers make the books look like cheap romance novels but they are not! I guess that is why they say: "You can't judge a book by its cover".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Francine Rivers never disappoints. I will look at her book/s first and usually buy it and share the book with other lovers of historical fiction. Her books can be so diverse and are always well written and captivating. This is one of her best.
pluto6490 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. Atretes was the superhero of everyone's dream. Buff and strong yet the soft side. I have to say that I did have a harder time getting into this book then the past two but once I was hooked there was no stopping. I have not read a Francine Rivers book that I haven't like yet.
parus55 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Book #3 in the Mark of the Lion series. My mom gave me the three books in this series, and I was pleasantly surprised. I don't generally read Christian fiction, but Rivers pulled me into the story...takes place shortly after Jesus' crucifixion when a young Christian girl is sold to a rich Roman family as a slave. Her Christianity eventually touches the entire family...in a variety of ways. A good read.
reeread on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A gripping story of Atretes, a gladiator who has won his freedom and been granted Roman citizenship. Atretes discovers his baby son is alive after being led to believe he was left to die on the rocks. He is also being coerced into returning to fight as a gladiator. His refusal angers those in positions of power and influence. This, and the desire to return to his homeland in Germania, prompts him to leave Ephesus with his baby son, Caleb, and Rizpah, a widow who lost her own baby and was given Caleb to care for by the Apostle John. They travel some of the way in the company of Christians who also leave Ephesus because of persecution. From Rome, Atretes, Caleb and Rizpah travel in the company of Theophilus, a former Roman centurion and Christian.Their journey is eventful and the battle of spiritual forces in Atretes' village makes compelling reading.
Lynngood on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Following A Voice in the Wind and An Echo in the Darkness, As Sure as the Dawn continues the chronilcles of Hadassah, a Christian slave woman living during the height of the Roman Empire.
Sabrina_Davidson on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Fantastic conclusion to a great trilogy.
silva_44 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If it were possible, I would rate this series a six! Absolutely, positively excellent!!!!!! My faith has been strengthened so much, and I thank God that He still speaks through people like Francine Rivers. I highly recommend this series!!
HELLOKITTYISPRETTY on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I heart this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is another great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have read this series many times, very well written and most inspiring fiction book I've ever read.
inlovewithstories More than 1 year ago
As a lover of stories, I did enjoy reading of Atretes and Rizpah. I enjoyed staying in the era of first century Israel (as with the other Mark of the Lion books). The book shows the power of prayer and the power of the Holy Spirit at work in the lives of believers. Several of the miracles seemed slightly unbelievable or too convenient. That is the only part of the story that I did not fully enjoy. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The sea battle was well written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rivers writing is page turning. Had trouble laying it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago